You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Crypto Takeover From The Third World

in #cryptocurrencies5 years ago

I'm semi-retired now and the "hustle" is gone from me. I spent the 90's doing this for my software business and eventually by 2006 I finally became established enough so that I was doing it full time. It's strange for me watching this on the sidelines and remembering the way it used to be and feeling like no time has passed at all.

One of my best friends who I used to train with passed in Dec 2017 from a stroke. He was one of the strongest men in the world (and trained drug free)...

Screen Shot 2019-02-13 at 5.57.46 PM.png
Felix Dix (1958 - 2017)

Picture of me around the same period in time (2003)...

Screen Shot 2019-02-13 at 6.01.16 PM.png

I have no doubt that crypto is going to change the world, but am concerned that 2017 may have damaged bitcoin by a quasi sybil attack. What I'm referring to is not technical, but rather, many times the opposition will fracture into dilution causing the focus of the message to blur. If bitcoin is the Yahoo! of internet finance, we don't necessarily know what will become the Google of it.

@tonevays says that bitcoin must decouple from the alts in order for it to succeed. If it doesn't, the message of decentralization could get clouded and people will forget why they are in crypto. Greed multiplies the alts but brings increased centralization with it.

Sort:  

Crypto moves fast for sure.
I have never been a Tone Vays fan. A lot of times he doesn't research into other projects but then tries to have a debate like he knows what he is talking about and he doesn't. Bitcoin and Ethereum simply haven't scaled fast enough. I don't think anything will change with that but I have a feeling it won't really matter once again in regards to price. It is all 95% speculation.

Posted using Partiko Android

I use @tonevays for TA, but I think he will be deeply disappointed in the future. He seems to cling to the idea that the USD should always be king and crypto will not overthrow it (unless it's bitcoin alone used to fix the banking system). He seems to agree with the regulators a lot and calling other cryptos scams. I think he will go through this internal conflict in the same way I did before I finally recognized that voluntarism needs to be at the base of all human interaction (if we want peace).

Nature vacillates between centralization and decentralization, so the question for me is where to be in the pendulum swing. For now, the question should be is the crypto you're using "decentralized enough".

I think the is it decentralized enough question is a good one for sure. If I had to be really harsh on all cryptos I would say Bitcoin isn't because of the large mining pools controlled by companies like Bitmain, Ripple Pssshhhhh, we go on down the list and can pretty much say similar things for all of them until we get down to Monero and that is a little better off in that regard.

I honestly am sort of surprised that Tone Vays really gained a big following but people really want to believe in Technical Analysis. It actually really aggravates me. The way to get the biggest following is by using pseudoscience and draw lines and act like some wizard and then as soon as you are wrong the next day you draw new lines.

Oh yeah, I forgot to mention that you guys looks like beasts and I'm sure move a lot more weight than I ever have.

I sort of stradle a couple worlds. I try to be jacked and maintain a certain strength but also want to be able to elevate on the basketball court. Today I weight in at 222 which is too heavy for me. My optimal body weight is 205 where my power and athletic ability converge.

me-dunking.jpg

Oh yeah, I forgot to mention that you guys looks like beasts and I'm sure move a lot more weight than I ever have.

I can't lift heavy any more, suffer from afib, diabetes and crushed disks (spine) along with other injuries. Felix (we called him Lo for short - Lorenzo was his middle name) benched over 600 lbs and squatted and dead lifted around 700. His total was about 2000 lbs. I never benched over 405 even though I weighed about 328 lbs back then (6' 4") which wasn't really competitive for my gym (Hercules in Syracuse), but we sent a couple to West Side gym in Ohio. I've always had bad rotator cuffs and was better at pulls. Lo was built like a spark plug (about 5' 6"1/2) and weighed typically close to 300 lbs. My total was 1649 (639 in dead lift, the rest in squat).

Ranch Davis was the strongest bencher in our gym at 710 lbs and Mike Reggerio was the best squatter at over 1000 lbs. He went from Hercules Gym to West Side. This is a picture of him doing 1015 lbs...

Screen Shot 2019-02-13 at 10.14.41 PM.png

Word is Mike is diabetic now too. Keep your weight down if you want to avoid this.

Pretty insane weights for sure! My max on bench is only 300 lb but I never focused on it to really get it up high. My cleans always seemed to get up to 122 Kg or 270lb but I couldn't get past that even though I tried a lot. My front squat got up to 345lb ass to the grass which was probably in some ways my most impressive lift but nothing amazing for my body weight which was 220lb right at that point.

I'm 35 now and 6' and I'm still dunking on the young bloods so that is a big thing for me at this point. I was my strongest all around at 29 years old just based on my training enviornment and my most athletic moments have varied depending on my training. I have actually done some of my most impressive things in basketball in the last year or so because of the amount I was playing but I feel like the highest I ever jumped on a dunk was when I was 23 but at that time I wasn't playing a lot of basketball.

The good thing about raw power is you can really be super strong into your 40s as long as the injuries don't mount up.

I peaked around the age of 42 and had to give it up by age 55 and was stuck for a long time in my 30's between 315-365 for bench. It wasn't until I started doing legs seriously that I moved past that in the bench. I probably never should have pushed it though. If it wasn't for the fact that my friends weren't power lifters, I probably would never have gone down that road. It was the luck of association.

The one thing my body has a harder time taking is doing legs and also trying to play basketball a lot. My right knee has a decent amount of trama in it so a hard day of basketball and then trying to even do light leg stuff can be a challenge. The little stuff can sort of stack up overtime and suddenly it is tough to really have a solid leg day.

I have a torn A/C ligament in my right knee since 1989 motorcycle accident, but I found I could just wrap it up good for squats. What ultimately stopped me was sciatica (L5 S1 nerve ablated disk and a couple higher up). They eventually went back in, but no more compression on my spine.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59524.20
ETH 2999.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77