You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Which Coins/Tokens look good?

in #cryptocurrency6 years ago

XRP Is it still worth buying now? Nope.

Ha ha, definitely agree with that at the moment. I was watching the spoke that day, but I was too chicken to take more than a little bit of profit near the top and then buy back in on the way down. These were tokens that I have held for a long time now, and they weren't for messing around on exchange!

Sort:  

I'll be honest, I hate XRP, and more specifically, everything that it stands for. It should be banned from the crypto world! But I would be stupid to deny the massive gains some people have made with it, and that opportunity does continue to exist. But right now, as I said, it's not looking good for a short-term buy. In fact I would say that it's looking very poor for at least the next few months, perhaps longer.

Yes, I'm not that idealistic! I still think that there is room and perhaps necessity for more centralised blockchains especially if that is what the established system is more comfortable with. Eos and Steem and all the doos systems aren't so far off that model either....

That is true. I think a semi-centralised system is not necessarily bad. It's like a monarchy: when you have a good king or queen, it works splendidly, but when someone bad takes charge, then everyone suffers. As long as the more centralised systems have good "rulers" they should be fine. I don't think XRP has that, but at the same time I really love NEO which is (for now at least), still highly centralised.

But in the long-term I believe that the only guarantee of success is through decentralisation, at least for major currency and platform coins, and perhaps a few other sectors too (where trust is an issue).

I don't know so much about the financial side of things, I suspect that fiat backed (government, bank or corporation) stable coins might end up winning, unless btc or something else gains an huge dominance in use, and I would argue that the lead that it has isn't enough yet...

From the side technology use, I see a much greater chance for decentralisation, things like autonomous vehicles and stuff like that would definitely benefit from the increase in resilience and security.

Ooh no, I've got to disagree with that! Problems with fiat are the primary reason that crypto will succeed! I reference the comments I left on the "0.28 BTC to become part of the New 1%'-ers" post a few days back, specifically those old posts I linked to.

We'll see... I hope you are right!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62980.19
ETH 3123.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87