You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: DTube | Salon uses your CPU to mine Monero

in #cryptocurrency6 years ago (edited)

Good idea for them, it's pretty taxing to run your CPU to mine I think. I would be concerned you couldn't watch video or you have trouble loading screen like in the video. If they could find a way that it wouldn't interfere with computer function. I wouldn't want whatever they need to mine downloaded on my computer I think. Still, I love to see anybody thinking in the crypto frame of mind. Great vid!

Sort:  

That’s why I wish I could have tried it out but it seemed like the mining option wasn’t working with my browser. I might prefer it to looking at ads but it depends how much it would slow down my computer. Thanks for the comment.

The coinhive Miner allows you to dynamically throttle the CPU usage. It shouldn't slow down your computer as long as they implement it correctly. But it can definitely drain your laptop battery , increase power utilization, etc while mining.

Cool, that makes sense, then I guess the software would know what device the person viewing the ads was on and would set it at a level not to disrupt normal operation. Does the software stay on your cpu after you leave the site? That could be a problem.

Its definitely the first of its kind either way, your post was the first time I heard of it, and I think could be widely used eventually. good stuff

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69386.82
ETH 3714.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85