DTube | Salon uses your CPU to mine Monero


Salon.com now has an option to suppress ads by allowing the site to hijack your CPU to mine Monero while you are visiting. Are they forging a new way forward for media companies struggling from reduced advertising income? Let me know what you think in the comments.

Thank you for following, upvoting and resteeming!


"Russian Bot" t-shirt

TruthClothing.io

Sign up to trade cryptocurrency on Binance

Lift the Veil on YouTube

Lift the Veil on Twitter

Lift the Veil Podcast

[email protected]


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Good idea for them, it's pretty taxing to run your CPU to mine I think. I would be concerned you couldn't watch video or you have trouble loading screen like in the video. If they could find a way that it wouldn't interfere with computer function. I wouldn't want whatever they need to mine downloaded on my computer I think. Still, I love to see anybody thinking in the crypto frame of mind. Great vid!

That’s why I wish I could have tried it out but it seemed like the mining option wasn’t working with my browser. I might prefer it to looking at ads but it depends how much it would slow down my computer. Thanks for the comment.

The coinhive Miner allows you to dynamically throttle the CPU usage. It shouldn't slow down your computer as long as they implement it correctly. But it can definitely drain your laptop battery , increase power utilization, etc while mining.

Cool, that makes sense, then I guess the software would know what device the person viewing the ads was on and would set it at a level not to disrupt normal operation. Does the software stay on your cpu after you leave the site? That could be a problem.

Its definitely the first of its kind either way, your post was the first time I heard of it, and I think could be widely used eventually. good stuff

Nathan give me an upvote and a resteem on my latest Q anon blog. I want people to read it. You're a giant on Steemit. I need some more followers. God bless

Just another reason to never visit those sites. If I really want to read the article I'l try to use web archive links to avoid giving them the traffic.

Very informative post.
thanks for sharing.

Yeah, Salon needs the shekels to finance their pro-pedophilia venture.

Touching kids and being naughty costs money, you know!

the irony of allowing a company like Salon to control the CPU on my phone in order to mine one of the least regulator-friendly cryptocurrencies was not lost on me.

i think that like url miner ??? like we put some code iframe in website with 0 header .. invisible code/mining ........ btw nice info bro ... thanks

What's Salon? XD

In my lifetime I've seen the quality of media decline. I think we have to accept that our current model of free consumption of media online has lead to that.

Quality of media is vital to a functioning society so I am in favour of them earning some income from visitors via mining. As long as it is disclosed to visitors so they can make an informed choice.

If the mining is hidden that is deceptive.

I hear what @answerblack is saying, but think I would have to pass on allowing anyone remote access to my machine. Who's insurance covers fan / hardrive meltdown? From the comments they sound like a pretty dodgy outfit too. Malware scan Nathan ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61227.60
ETH 3022.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88