The New York Times Talks About Puerto Rico Becoming a Crypto Utopia

in #cryptocurrency6 years ago

https://www.nytimes.com/2018/02/02/technology/cryptocurrency-puerto-rico.html?smprod=nytcore-ipad&smid=nytcore-ipad-share

“Dozens of entrepreneurs, made newly wealthy by virtual currencies, have moved to the island to avoid taxes on their fortunes — and to build a society that runs on blockchain.”

F1282424-CECA-4CBA-9DED-53ABC51B9933.jpeg

Photo by me. Condado, Puerto Rico.

Sort:  

That's good news
When I see this photo I remember Hoceima city

alhouceima.jpg

You should come to morocco i'm sure that you will like it

Yes! It’s on our “to do” list for sure.

@askmee I will be in Morocco in March, I will visit Fez and some cities around! Is Hoceima city close?

Since you are based out of PR, are you attending Puerto Crypto?

I'm going to be going to that conference in March, traveling from Hawaii. Going to see if it maybe worth it for me to move to PR for crypto reasons. The (fake) State of Hawaii has one of the worst cryptocurrency regulations out of all of the US states, and I think if I have to make the move, then it might be worth it for me to go to Puerto Rico.

Let me know if you are going to Puerto Crypto. It'd be nice to meet another SteemIt user out there :)

Apologies for my delayed response, but yes, I’ll be at Puerto Crypto, as will @lukestokes. Hope to see you their!

Sounds great! Look forward to meeting you at the conference as well! Cheers man.

I live on Guam, but would love to move to Puerto Rico...

This is interesting to read - dream crypto utopia (with its own airport). Is it possible, yes it is. With the amount of money that they are holding? I bet they can move mountains with it.

To evade tax? For now yes - but it could change, i just dont know how will they secure that by the time the project has progress or completed. They are still expats so i dont think they hold any grounds to stand against taxes in the coming future claims.
Whatever implications it might face in the future ~ i still want to see it being accomplished, this is gonna be the first! Looking forward to it.

Great news for Puerto Rico, should this happen, I see my friends @steemed-open and @sean-king being the leading operators of crypto in that City because they have put in so much, they deserve it.

We will also escape taxes one day
this is drawing for you mr. @sean-king i hope you like it

https://steemit.com/art/@beforandafter/portrait-for-sean-king-5-min

Dozens of entrepreneurs, made newly wealthy by virtual currencies, have moved to the island to avoid taxes on their fortunes — and to build a society that runs on blockchain.”

Seriously ? In poerto Rico? That's cool, but how does moving to the island help them even taxes on their properties . Does it mean properties on the island don't get taxed?

Building a society that runs on bloclchain, I don't quite get that...

Correct. If they obtain a decree under Act 22, then they pay no tax on capital gains from the sale of investment assets, which generally includes real estate. However gains that accrued before they move to Puerto Rico are still generally taxed.

Wow, I guess this is a law peculiar to Puerto Rico alone...or do you know of any other city where this is practiced?

Sean sees this extraordinary landscape. Look at the colors of this sky. like a story

Actually when think bigger it is the logical option to move an island and get rid off taxes... But fake speculations is most dangerous and I think this fake speculations state the cyrptos destiny.... I mean if an investment does not assure to its investor... He or she take back his money back... So it is a kind of end.. I think so at least...Meanwhile taxes are taxes everywhere... In an island or in new York... It is bullshit...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62622.67
ETH 2944.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61