You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The meeting of ontology and existentialism in Buddhism, Vairocana Buddha

in #culture7 years ago

This is a very interesting post, @slowwalker - I was waiting for it as you alluded to it in your previous posting, but unfortunately steemit.com was under a DDS attack and it has been spotty all day for me.

So, even though I'm late to comment, I still would like to respond to your excellent post.

I see a lot of commonality between the Vairocana Buddha and the Aristotelian Prime Mover (ie. Deus=God)

I know your mother is Catholic and it may interest you to know that Aristotle had a great influence on Catholic theology, particularly seen in the writings of Saint Thomas Aquinas.

Many of Aquinas' proofs for the existence of god center around the idea of an uncaused first cause, which is one of the definitions of God.

But God isn't just transcendent - like Buddha, he has a physical manifestation. For Buddha it was the historical Buddha (Siddhartha Gautama).

For Catholics and other Christians it was the Incarnation of God in the person of Jesus Christ who lived and dwelt among us before ascending back into heaven.

Interestingly, when the Catholic missionary Francis Xavier went on a mission trip to Japan he encountered the Vairocana Buddha and likened him to the Christian God, even adopting the Japanese term.

I just thought you might like to make use of this information, my friend.

I loved your post and photos

Sort:  

thank you so much.
I did't know about Xavier and Vairocana Buddha.
It is very interesting for me what Xavier did thought about Vairocana Buddha.

You wrote an excellent post, @slowwalker

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59236.59
ETH 2995.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73