Curie Author Showcase (May 15th, 2018)

in #curation6 years ago

  • In spirit of Curie's mission to promote undiscovered but exceptional content, we wish to use this twice weekly section to provide an author showcase for some of the outstanding authors who received Curie upvotes in past week. Curie curators and reviewers nominate authors for inclusion in this showcase and author approval is sought and attained.

  • For those new to Curie, please follow @curie, and join us on Discord: https://discord.gg/jQtWbfj

  • Follow @curie's votes to support the authors. Please consider following our trail and voting for curated authors. If you are a SteemAuto user, @curie is an available trail to follow.

  • Vote for the @curie witness to support Curie operations (all witness payouts are used to fund Curie operations).

Featured Author: @funkmedia
Steemit OpenMic Week 84 - Funk Media Ft. CoCo&NaNo
Cover - Special Affair (The Internet)


Image used with the permissions of @funkmedia

I have seen many say that this is the best Open Mic they have ever seen. It really is a full music video with a complete production team. The production level is extremely high, the performance is amazing, and of course Coco's vocals are awesome.

I just checked this week's Open Mic results and I am happy to announce that Funkmedia with Coco and Nano was indeed one of this week's winners! They took home fourth prize this week. Please join me in congratulating them!

All five Open Mic winners this week actually did get an upvote from Curie!

Coco Ramos. Solo artist from el Caribe (Venezuela), she has been working the last three years on her album with the producer @alonsonanomoreno creating a new proposal of electronic music, latin sounds, pop music and other genres. Lately they been doing showcases around the country thinking about expand their music around the world.

They connect with Steemit through her close friend @gabs.uni.verso wich is the bass player of the band @funkmedia , Gabs and Coco used to play together few years back in a full band performance with Coco's father, Alonso Moreno and another member from Funkmedia Oswaldo Dominguez (@oswave).

Coco and Nano still working hard on her first debut album wich is going to be realased at the end of this year. You can find Coco and Nano on instagram @lecocosoul @nano.moreno and also find her on Youtube: Stephanie Ramos Online.

Featured Author: @lymepoet
MAKING OF A DRAGON WITH A 4-YEAR-OLD ARTIST


Image used with the permissions of @lymepoet

@lymepoet brings us the result of a project that her son did on a day when school was canceled. Most parents of a 4-year-old might have had their child do some finger painting with some water colors, or perhaps tracing one of those turkeys by using their hand. Not @lymepoet and her son, they went all out and created quite the masterpiece instead.

Usually her son is the assistant and background painter, but when she saw how interested he was in what he was doing she let him do his own thing. He promptly made her the assistant of the day.

The resulting artwork is incredible for a 4-year-old, and would be pretty impressive even if it were done by a 30 or 40 year old. He managed to have different textures just from the methods of applying paint, but took it to another level when he had mom add in the mesh netting from a tangerine box. This led to a sort of scaled skin look and thus a dragon was born.

For me the moral of this story is, next time you need to keep your child busy on a day off, don't just sit them in front of the television, or give them an ordinary project that has been done a thousand times. Instead perhaps have a blank canvas and some paints waiting for them and let their imagination and creativity go wild.

Hi, I’m @lymepoet, and I am a self taught artist who uses art as pain management therapy! My favourite medium to work with is acrylic paint. For me, art is cathartic, it's a a way to translate my emotions into a visual form. Whenever I paint I like to get my son involved in the process because art has no age limit .

My work is at the intersection of creativity and advocacy. After being diagnosed with Lyme disease, I decided to ignite awareness about my condition and pursue my life dreams: travel the world, paint, write and publish my work.

Currently I am part-time traveller. I used to be a full-time nomad but my Lyme disease made me take a small detour.

Last year I started my Lyme disease awareness campaign and I continued it here on Steemit.

I am thrilled to have found such a great and inspiring community on this platform, allowing me to share my poetry, artworks and travels while encouraging me to grow both as an artist and a writer.

Featured Author: @daywoo0311
One Foot in The Black


Image used with the permissions of @daywoo0311

We see stories of wildfires burning all over everyday. Fire is one of the most destructive forces in nature and it is impossible to control just how it will react, especially out in the wild. A simple wind shift can be devastating to property and more importantly to humans and animals.

Just a couple of weeks ago there were wildfires burning in the western portions of my home state of Oklahoma. Tens of thousands of acres were destroyed by the fires. They were eventually 100% contained by people just like @daywoo0311 . He is a Wild Land Firefighter who puts his life on the line again and again to help keep millions of people safe when wildfires breakout and tear through wilderness and communities.

In an excerpt from his post he shared -

If you ever get the chance to have a conversation with a Wild Land firefighter just ask them if they like their job... Then watch them as they smile from ear to ear and tell you that they couldn’t imagine doing anything else. 99% of the time, that’s the reaction you will get.

He also describes many of his fellow firefighters (and himself) as "batshit crazy", "lunatics", and as "having a screw loose." Thankfully there are crazy people like him out there in the world to help keep us all as safe as possible.

Featured Author: @lillywilton
Steemit OpenMic Week 84
"The Burn I've Learned to Love" (original)


Image used with the permissions of @lillywilton

Next up we have another Open Mic winner, this one took second place this week. After our last post we have an appropriately titled song for the follow-up - "The Burn I Learned to Love" from artist @lillywilton .

Lilly's voice is just so amazing. I have literally listened to this song more than a dozen times this week. While I absolutely loved the song itself, I was drawn into it even more after hearing what Lilly had to say about it.

This song has been sitting in my living room and small cabarets for the longest time so seeing the amazing response it's garnered has given me an awesome kind of whiplash this week.

I'd say the main inspiration of this song stems from what it's like to step into the fringes and choosing a path that's challenging, weird, or painful. But on the other side of the fear and sacrifice is a deep sense of bliss, intimacy, and connection.

While you wait for Lilly to release her next song here on the Steem Blockchain why not go back and checkout her very first post, a cover of the Cranberries song "Zombie". She uses a loop pedal to do a very unique version of the song. It will give you chills.

If you want to learn more about Lilly go read her introduction post titled Introduce Yourself - Sensitive Potty-Mouth Seeks Friends and Validation. A stark contrast from the sweet little "Thank You" she adds at the end of her videos. After reading it I now know that I MUST meet her in person someday! You will learn more about her music, her time in the theater, and her love of cosplay.


Featured Author: @deckershado
Alien Covenant Review


Image used with the permissions of @deckershado

We now move onto a movie review. You might ask why some ordinary movie review deserves to be featured in the Curie Author Showcase. Well, this is no ordinary movie review! This is an epic, entertaining, informative, and at times hilarious movie review. Allow me to introduce to you @deckershado . Even his name is epic - Decker Shado. That sounds more like a movie character than someone that is a movie reviewer.

Decker's YouTube channel is closing in on 100,000 subscribers, and this Alien Covenant video movie review has been viewed more than 34,000 times already in just five days. I honestly do not know how we at Curie managed to miss his presence here on the Steem Blockchain for nearly two full months. He is a great addition to our community and I am sure he will continue to impress, after all, he IS the internet personality with the best hair.

Featured Author: @dbzfan4awhile
Maggy


Image used with the permissions of @dbzfan4awhile

Excerpt:

Floating in space was just the beginning of my trouble. Sharp edges and hook-shaped metal scraps closing in on me was just another. What actually killed me, though, was something I hadn't even considered. Maybe death would be a step up.

We wrap up today's Author Showcase with a short story also in deep space. The characters - Maggy and Dr. Fielding. The story - much deeper than you'd imagine. The ending - a twist not many will see coming.

I did try to capture the scene without too much distraction so it could remain just those 2 voices in the story while allowing the reader to fill in any gaps. - @dbzfan4awhile

The story's author @dbzfan4awhile does a wonderful job at doing just that. It all came together for a great Sci-Fi Space short story. Be sure to stay tuned to their blog page for more great stories to come.

We have decided to add one #mycuriestory post to each Author Showcase.

Featured #mycuriestory Author: @geekgirl
My Curie Story - My Steem Journey

Today's #mycuriestory comes to us from longtime Curie Curator @geekgirl. She shares the story from her Curie roots nearly a year ago, through to today.

This Curie Author Showcase was written by Curie Curator @randomwanderings (Gene) with input from other Curie curators and reviewers. Author permission was sought and obtained from all authors featured in this showcase. All works are the copyright of their respective authors and used with permission.

Sort:  

wow this publication is excellent, Thank you for your attention, we do the productions at that level because we have a team that acts more like a brotherhood to produce quality material, and steemit gives us the push that we were meant to work out for productive spark, in this week @lecocoramos will make its presentation for the whole community, we just hope that it is welcome with a lot of love and affection since it is a high caliber artist who struggles with the difficulties of our country, this will be a fruitful space for her and the community

BANNER

It is great to see Coco has joined Steem! Thanks for helping bring in new talented people to the community. Definitely looking forward to more from both of you. Congrats on taking fourth place in the Open Mic.

hey man, thanks we were very surprised by the decision of the openmic we are very happy and grateful to you for your support. something else, here she came to stay @lecocoramos https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@lecocoramos/j753xjbo

Thank you so much for that incredibly kind feature <3 I'm always down to make new friends and meet up in person, though I should warn you that I solemnly swear I am up to no good. One of us might go home with a terrible tattoo.

That's okay, I could use a Rick & Morty "tramp stamp". Perhaps we will meet up at a Comic Con somewhere. We will be at Little Rock Comic Con this weekend. (I have written two horror movie trivia books, plus we make handcrafted bags, and pins/buttons.)

Love the new song you just posted, The Devil's Bride. Can't wait to hear it after you get the male voice mixed in.

I love all of those things!!!

Have a blast at LRCC! I might be at SDCC but I'll for sure be at NYCC in October. I also live 10 blocks from the Javitz center and my bathroom is way nicer and more convenient.

Thanks again for the love @randomwanderings and @curie. Your support will help me keep writing and get more bad tats.

A big big thank you to @curie and to @randomwanderings for featuring me among these talented Steemians. I feel honored to be on the same page with them. Since I joined Steemit, I have got a lot of support from Curie which I am very grateful for. Thank you for making my journey on the Steemit ocean so delightful!

All of the support for you is definitely well deserved. Not only do you continually produce high quality content, but you also keep it fresh by mixing it up with the topics you post about. I have personally been following your for a while now and it is great to see you getting the added attention from time to time.

Please tell your son the world (or at least many parts of it) loves his art!

Nice to see a reviewer featured. Interesting to see a comment about "an ordinary reviewer" when reviewing itself is an incredibly artform when undertaken properly. The amount of effort and experience required to craft a loving review is a little undersold on here, seemingly undervalued in comparison to other creative endeavours.

I actually do agree with you that it is an undervalued skill/talent not only on Steem, but outside of here. The reason I worded it that way was to refer to some of the extremely lackluster reviews one can also find on the site. Sadly for everyone one like this you will find half a dozen that contain just two or three paragraphs that either tear a film apart or totally oversell it without really adding anything. Those ones that can't even convince you to make it through the review let alone help you decide if you want to go see the film.

I agree there. I've not seen a great many posters in terms of offering too much in written reviews. And I'm really looking too! Not even seeing much on Discogs groups on this front either.

Fingers crossed, they become more prevalent. I would hope that communities would help in this instance. I would have applied to submit posts in the Curie discord ages ago if I knew I could find a wealth of talent in my little niche.

they need our help to study
guru-desa.jpg

If Steemit can help generate fund for these kids then that would be awesome!

Congratulations @funkmedia and @lillywilton for getting featured on the Curie Author Showcase and winning the Steemit Open Mic Week 84.

You guys rock!

Dude, everything is thanks to the effort you put in this beautiful contest, the whole team of @funkmedia and @lecocoramos we feel loved by all the support given by the whole community, so much so that it is overwhelming hahaha and @lillywilton with such a beautiful voice is So well deserved her second place, she has us captivated with her music

Congrats to the Authors and to @randomwanderings for writing this. Keep it up. :-)

A delayed thank you for your incredibly valuable support, it's always a great surprise when I find that one of my posts was deemed valuable by @curie and other great curators.

Keep on making Steemit a different, better place for good people.

Thank you so much it was a honor and a great surprise when i saw that one of my posts was deemed valuable by @curie and other great curators it gives me more encouragement to do even better. Thank you once again :)

I loved the black and white photos. I did find myself imagining what they'd look like in their magnificent colors though. As they say though, "always leave them wanting more", so it worked perfectly.

Thank you yes you are right always leaving them wondering more and maybe at a later stage i may put some of the more colorful ones up in another post :)

hello friend, follow me on my page and I follow you

WOW! thanks for the comments! I had the best welcome from the community! I'm very excited to be part of this! Your publication is amazing! thanks for sharing and supporting!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60725.43
ETH 2900.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59