Fiber Ramble - May 9

in #curation6 years ago (edited)

Hi everybody!

I've been struggling with the timing of the Fiber Ramble because the #needleworkmonday gang posts on ...Yes...Monday. BUT when I post on Friday most of their posts don't have much time left to promote and show some love. For the next several weeks you will probably notice that I'm posting on different days and possibly twice a week until I figure out my groove.

Last week I told you about my idea to use that precious ball of Malabrigo for a baby dress. Well Jackie called me one morning and said, "I'm picking you up and we are going to London Yarns. I am buying you an early birthday present and NO argument." Trust me...you don't argue with Jackie when she's made up her mind. We picked out two baby patterns and some soft acrylic blend yarn. YAY! Wash and wear!

I've decided to knit this pattern in 0-3 months. The baby is due in August so I wanted something light but with a sweater to match for those cooler evenings. The baby's room is grey and light pink chevrons so I chose the same colours. Honestly, I know grey is an "in" colour right now but it really seemed strange to buy this for a baby.

I have to say I do like the grey and pink. The yarn is so soft and light that I love working with it.

This pretty blue, which the camera doesn't do justice, is very close to periwinkle. I think it will be pretty for the sweater on the lower right. This one I will knit in the 6 month size.

I also grabbed a couple of balls of the trusty Super Saver yarn for a blanket. Just a simple chevron pattern that can be spread out on the ground for the baby to lay on. I find I'm a "two project kinda person". When I don't feel like paying close attention to a pattern, and we all have those days, I like to work on a "mindless" knitting project. So that's what I've been knitting.


I spend may hours searching for and reading posts. I have to say I'm a little frustrated. Many times I'll try reading a post that showcases some beautiful skills but the formatting of the post just doesn't cut it. The most common problem is the length of paragraphs. Long paragraphs are very hard on the eyes so I move on. Formatting is everything.

I understand that some posts are written by people who speak different languages and KUDOS to them for posting in English. I overlook many grammatical errors and misused words simply because of this fact BUT if the formatting is hard to read I move on.

I'd like to point you to a post that @shadowspub wrote called, "Crafting Paragraphs on Your Posts. It's well written and shows you how to easily change the way you are formatting your paragraphs. I hope this helps.

Also, while I'm on the topic, I find some posts where a person has shared just a photo of very nice work! So nice that it frustrates me to see this work with little or no description. I don't expect a tutorial every time but more people will enjoy your post if you answer some questions. Just tell us something about your work..... or share more pictures of your process.

If you are struggling and need some help I'd be more than happy to answer questions and point you in the direction of resources that will help. We are a growing community and I want to see us all succeed in our endeavours.

Onward to today’s rambling


ULTIMATE CROCHET CONTEST! EVERYONE WINS! Announcement

@foxyspirit & @anjkara have decided to have a crochet contest every two weeks! This is exciting! These two ladies showed up on the "crochet scene" and started bringing crocheters out of the woodwork with their first contest. I'm looking forward to seeing our community grow. Nicely done Ladies!

A Fabricated Yarn; About a Crafty but Fictional Steemian's Troubles with a Whale

This is not the typical type of post I feature here but @therealpaul has written something that will run you through a gambit of questions and range of emotions as you read. I'm very curious to see what your reactions will be. Thanks @therealpaul!

Needlework Monday - Crochet With CroSheille Episode #1

We all know @crosheille of the #needleworkmonday tag. Well, she has started a series of videos for beginning crocheters and it looks like it's going to be excellent! Go enjoy her first video and show her some love.

A bit of artisan glass blowing - making paperweights, vases and baubles.

@markangeltrueman takes us along with him for a full day of learning to work with glass! This well written post immediately immerses you in the experience and explains how the glass transforms from a blob to an amazing piece of art. Great job @markangeltrueman.

Make your own gnome - tutorial(ish)

@zen-art's posts just keep getting better! This time she is showing us how to make cute gnomes with a straight forward, easy to follow "tutorial". I love how she gives us examples of various looks that we can achieve. I love these! Thanks @zen-art.

Life | Things to Write in a Birthday Card

How many of you spend a lot of time creating a handmade greeting card only to realise you have no idea what to write in it? I do! @jpmkikoy has written a cute guide to help us figure this out! Thanks for the giggles @jpmkikoy.

Needlework Monday. The stitching continues!

@girlbeforemirror worked as a psychiatric nurse who learned to crochet from some amazing people who were inpatients. Little did she know this skill would be part of her recovery from a serious illness. Thanks for sharing your story @girlbeforemirror and I wish you all the best. Please show this amazing Lady some love.

Chrysocolla Pendant : How to wire wrap a cabochon - How to: Weekly Contest by @robali123

I have always been curious about the process of wire wrapping a cabochon. @robali123's post is a photo rich walk through designing and creating a beautiful piece of jewlery. Beautiful job @robali123.

Homesteading DIY : Making Resin Based Crafts

@myscrible has posted a mini curation of tutorials that show us how to work with resin. This is yet another art that I've been curious about but haven't pursued. I always see beautiful resin jewellery with delicate flowers or streaks of colour in boutiques and think, "Wow I'd love to make that." Thanks for the tutorials @myscrible.

Felt Flower Art

@shahzadakram's post is the perfect example of a photo tutorial. Without writing a single word we are clearly shown how to create these beautiful projects. Well done @shahzadakram.

Until next time friends...


Join the Fiberartists Curation Trail

If you’d like to be part of supporting the posts that I curate, you can join my curation trail. What that means is if you are part of the trail, when I vote on a quality post, your votes will automatically follow me. The trail name is Fiberartists.

You’ll need to sign up at SteemAutoand I’d recommend you use SteemConnect when asked to give voting rights. That makes sure your keys are safe.

Once registered, the link to the curation trail is right here. You can set the percentage of vote you wish to use in the settings once you join the trail.

Nominate Your Favourite Post

With all the posts that I sift through each time I sit down to do the Fiber Ramble, I think it is time to give you, the Fiber Artists, an opportunity to nominate your favourite reads.

Just visit the Fiber Ramble Discord and post the link in the Nominate-A-Post Channel.

fiber ramble

Creatives Coffee Hour

Join in on the fun! Come to the Creatives Coffee Hour, Mondays @1pm edt on the Steemit Ramble Discord or view it live on the Steem Star Network.

Pimp Your Post Thursday

Don’t forget, Pimp Your Post Thursday takes place every Thursday at 11am and 7:00pm EST. Come and join the fun.

Pimp Your Post Thursday

Coffee Hour

Now streamed live on the Steem Star Network

.

.

.

.

.

.

Sort:  

You seriously put together one of the most impressive curation efforts on Steem, every time. I love that you include some of your own crafting, and words of advice (dare I say wisdom!) as well as a really well curated collection of posting every time. A tip of the tentacle to you :) Much love - Carl

Thank you so much!! Your kind words do mean a lot to me. Thanks for your encouragement.

Great selection of posts, thank you, and the babywear is gorgeous. I love the little cardigans! I must try some childrenswear - good for trying out new patterns and techniques. I like to have half a dozen two projects on the go.

Thank you so much! I hear you about the "two" projects. I have a box.....not quite full. LOL!

This is another wonderful curation post! The glassblowing was cool, yes, and I really enjoyed the "Fabricated Yarn" fiction story and the lovely Chrysocolla pendant! Still need to get to the others, but thank you for sharing these gems in PYPT! 💙

Thank @thekittygirl! I have to admit I was hopeful that I'd missed another crafting community....then I read to the end and LOL'd! Thanks for stopping by!

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue #132 (5/12/18)

The STEEM Engine is an initiative dedicated to promoting meaningful engagement across Steemit. Find out more about us and join us today.

Either you or someone who valued your post shared this post on Pimp Your Post Thursday in the Steemit Ramble discord. Looking forward to you visiting us again.

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 24 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 24 SBD worth and should receive 86 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

That baby jacket is looking lovely @fiberartists ! I never got the chance to knit a baby jacket (only socks and hats) when I had my babies, so this is inspiring to me :)
The design of that baby blanket is very striking - how big will it be ?
Thank you for the links to those posts I hadn't seen many of them.

Thanks @cryptocariad! The blanket is about 36 inches wide and I haven't decided how long to make it. It's been kinda exciting making baby things.

That baby jacket will be amazing when it is finished, it looks cute now, imagine how good will it look when it is done. Thank you for the honor of featuring my post 💚

You're welcome and thank you! I can't wait to smell that fresh baby smell and snuggle that yarn...I mean baby. LOL!

I love the baby patterns you picked. Your knitting work is already looking superb! I have always loved grey and pink together. That chevron blanket is looking great too!

Thank you for featuring my post and helping me to spread the word about my crochet tutorials. It is greatly appreciated :)

Thank you @crosheille and your welcome!

thanks for featuring me, very kind! One thing though, im not actually running the contest, just part of it. Worth tagging them @howtoweekly as all you have to do to enter is create a how to post. I'm sure you or people following you will be doing something relevent sooner or later. being creative types!

I know exactly what you mean about the formatting, i do the same thing, if paragraphs are too long i skip it. i've found line breaks


very useful for making posts a bit more spread out and easy to read.

LOL!! I was re-reading it a little late at night and I thought I had missed the fact that you were. Thanks for clearning that up! And thanks for explaining....I have to admit I was more interested in what you were making. GRIN

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64383.21
ETH 3098.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89