You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Curating Video And Written Gaming Content

in #curation6 years ago (edited)

Upvote + resteem. I know you hardly speak for every curation collective member across the board, but knowing stuff like this is GOLD and when used properly it's a key to unlocking a potential new kingdom of success on here.

I don't belong to a curation group, but one of the things I look for before hitting that upvote button is passion from the writer. Don't just tell me about the game, tell me about your relationship with the game. I can watch a no-commentary Let's Play video for twenty minutes and get a sense for the pacing, style, genre, graphics, sound, and all the other minutia. Don't tell me it's awesome, tell me how the game helped you feel awesome when you did something specific.

If you're playing the game again for the first time after twenty-some intervening years, you aren't the same person you were when you first picked up that controller. Back then you were a kid, now you're an adult viewing it with a whole new set of eyes (possibly through glasses or contact lenses), a more developed moral code, and potentially worse reflexes. Maybe it doesn't compare to the memories you had, or maybe it still holds up. Either way, that, right there, is your story. It's the one experience nobody else can have with that game, because it belongs to you even if another player did the exact same things in the exact same order.

Show me that story, engage me with that passion, and my piddly little upvote for all its worth will be yours! :D

I love reading @carlossoublette's stuff even though English isn't his first language. He gets so excited about the games he likes. Take his review of Evil Zone. This game is universally reviled by the gaming press, both at the time of its release and retro reviewers today, and he doesn't care--he played it during his formative gaming years and had the time of his life. I don't have to agree with his numerical assessment, and I left a comment explaining where I disagreed and why, but his excitement over sharing his experiences and memories with this game is infectious. Plus the guy sources every last one of his images and videos, and anybody who does that deserves a pat on the back at this point. :)

I've not put Evil Zone in my PlayStation in twenty years, but damn if reading his write-up didn't have me wanting to dust off the jewel case and run through Midori's storyline again ("This week, on 'Passionate Midori'...!). That is AWESOME! He also ends every post with a huge shout-out to other gaming bloggers he follows, so he's doing his part for community building. Give me one Carlos over two dozen dispassionate and bored vlog reviewers any day of the month.

OK, that's enough passion for one comment. Thanks for this awesome run-down of what you're looking for, and not looking for, in your curation efforts, @enjar!

Sort:  

One of the nice things about Archdruid Gaming is we have a channel called post-promotion. It is a channel for sharing gaming posts that are not your own. It also confuses the daylights out of people who just come to spam their own posts without caring much about community.

Curation Collective is an amazing community. It is one of the places I use weekly as well. While I’m not as active as I use to be over there. They really are amazing people. It is great to see them in action. They are able to reward so much content. I was we where as effective in time managed as they have become.

I love reading @carlossoublette's stuff even though English isn't his first language.

As far as the post in question. His Spanish version already received a sub community vote from another community when I looked into it the other day. That is not to say his English version won’t either. There are a few factors I won’t go into and I’m still learning my way on some stuff as well. One of his more recent posts was shown some support last night. He creates some really amazing and wonderful content. I can only hope overtime more people see it as well.

I feel a bit spoiled when it comes to passionate people I find or interact with. I have a few of them around me that make me want to try harder and do more.

Thank you for the amazing comment and resteem.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62862.51
ETH 3180.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81