The Paddling Nature Ramble - April 23, 2018

in #curation6 years ago (edited)

Earth Day is upon us. My grandson and I want out with garbage bags today, like many other families, and picked up trash along the river. We talked about our Mother Earth and I was impressed to hear about what he's been doing in school and at home to help the environment.

When you think about the state of our environment it can be overwhelming. I don't need to go on with a never ending list of all our problems. I'd just like to say that every little thing we do to help Mother Earth counts! Just something to think about.

Happy Earth Day!

Onward to today’s rambling

Earth Day 2018 | Google Doodle Honours Primatologist Dr Jane Goodall

I've read a LOT of Earth Day posts and have to admit @sohan890's is my favorite. It's well written, short, sweet and to the point. Discover what Google's Earth Day Doodle is about this year. I know it made me think.

SteemBasicIncome Contest - Baby Names!!! - Daily Birding 📷 109

Fellow Birder @katysavage and her husband, @josephsavage (the man behind @steembasicincome) are having a baby! They invite us to share the excitement by entering their fun contest. Congratulations @katysavage and @josephsavage!

Super Cool Science S#!t #20 - Public Inquiries #1 - Should I Pee on a Jellyfish Sting?

@thatsweeneyguy opens our eyes about how to treat jellyfish stings...and it's not by peeing on them. Go read this well written post to learn how to treat them. Thanks for the giggle @thatsweeneyguy.

$2 Million Dollar Treasure Chest! Still Yet to be FOUND!

Who's up for a treasure hunt? @jeff747 shares this incredible story and give us all the tools we'll need to find $2,000,000. Be warned....it's not easy.

Life Hacks: Citrus Peel Vinegar Cleaning Product with 2 Ingredients

You're probably asking yourself how this post fits into the theme. @lily-da-vine has shared a How-to make an excellent, natural cleaner that I've used on my outdoor equipment. This is a powerful cleaner and has even worked on tree sap. It's inexpensive too! Thanks @lily-da-vine.

Waterways and the Lives That Encompass it

@jgullinese, using his macro lens, has captured some great shots along a stream. This eye candy makes me want to get out on the water and start snapping some of my own. Thanks @jgullinese

Steemhomework for the Week!/ Celebrating Earth Day

I enjoyed sharing this post with my 11 year old grandson today.@carmenl has written an excellent post that gives you thoughtful Earth Day or all year long, topics to talk about with the kids in your life, big or small. Thanks @carmenl!

Johnnie C's Favorite National Parks - Introduction

It's no secret that I'm always looking for new places to kayak. @johnniec has fed my addiction by sharing his Five favourite US National Parks with us. It's well written and full of eye candy. Enjoy!

Visit to Interlaken Resort Town in Switzerland

@mydays has written about a small town in Switzerland called Interlaken that will make you dream of visiting. Talk about eye candy! Go see for yourself. You won't be disappointed.

Reminiscing on Life Without Power

@intuitvwandrlust tells us about returning to his beloved Saint Croix, Virgin Islands home before the power was restored. We're always aware of storms such as Irma and Maria but I don't think we realise what it's like after the storm. @intuitvwandrlust gives us a peek into the days after. Thanks for making me think @intuitvwandrlust.

Until next time friends...


Pimp Your Post Thursday

Don’t forget, Pimp Your Post Thursday takes place every Thursday at 11am and 7:00pm EST. Come and join the fun.

Pimp Your Post Thursday

Coffee Hour

Now streamed live on the Steem Star Network

.

.

.

.

.

Sort:  

@paddlingbynature.... how am I going to be a good wife today and get all my errands done when you gave me so many posts to check out???? lol

can i blame my wife rebellion on you please???? ;)

You can blame me....LOL. I'm too far away to be in too much danger. Have fun!

opps.......see....split personality.

Ohhhhhh all great posts to read!!! You have been very busy!!

What a beautiful way to celebrate Earth day. :)
Thank you for including The baby name contest!

You're very welcome. I always enjoy your posts! If I can't get out to bird I always have you. GRIN

Keep up the creative and excellent work. You are one of my favorite "follows."

You're very welcome. You're another person I love to follow! Thanks for your Birding Reports!

So great to read about doing something proactive on Earth Day!

Litter is the bane of my life, I volunteer litter pick and it drives me mad what people leave/.

Thanks so much! I hear you about the litter. Here in Canada it's not as bad as some places but it's still there, blowing all over. YUCK! Have a great day.

I commend the two of you for doing your part for Earth Day. Here in the USA we have so many things that some days have more than just one cause dedicated to that day, it was both Earth Day and National Jelly Bean Day.
I was torn between the two but in the end the jelly beans won. My daily dose from 4/23/18 covered it in detail if you care to take a look.

National Jelly Bean Day? I'm in on that one.....sounds fun! I hope you didn't throw the package on the ground? LOL! Been busy but I'm going to go see what you'be been up to....

No the empty bag went in the trash, just like it is suppose too.

Upvoted. Good work. Thanks for picking up. I do that sometimes. I eat from my gardens.

Thank you for being on the Talk Of The Line, it was a pleasure to have you and hear about your post. See you next time
image.png

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue #115 (4/25/18)

The STEEM Engine is an initiative dedicated to promoting meaningful engagement across Steemit. Find out more about us and join us today.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62777.17
ETH 2951.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59