You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: HardFork 21 | Curation Update

in #curation5 years ago

I am humbled by your decision to increase your support for my work @costanza. I have never been nor very unlikely to ever be a prolific content creator. But ... What I do create, I give it 100% of what I have to offer. For me, a "post2mine" mentality is just "not me," so I can't imagine that ever being an issue.

"Keep on keeping on" my Belgian friend and we'll both hope together that our Steem blockchain has brighter days ahead! 👍


P.S. While I have had limited engagement with @plantstoplanks, I agree she is a great content creator. In honor of you featuring us together, I'll "go over" to her account now and see what I can do to show some more support.

Sort:  

Well, thank the new rule changes :-) They allow me to upvote more those that I appreciate who I know will likely get enough upvotes not to screw over any curation rewards I'm getting for it :)

I still think there is a long way to go in order to make steem work though and I'm far from sure that we will ever get there. One thing is for sure, people are bound to do what is most profitable for them. HF21 at least is a step in the right direction even though it took a huge step backward in making it I would say nearly impossible for new guys to get anything going while making everything even more complicated than it already was. Still, this platform does something right as I really missed it the days it was down. I'm looking forward what the next couple of years will bring us.

Nice to see you give some support to Katie, if anything it really speaks for her that she's thriving now on HF21.

Yes @costanza ...

"I still think there is a long way to go in order to make steem work though and I'm far from sure that we will ever get there."

... and you are not afraid to make this statement. This is a part of why I appreciate what you are doing and happily support it.

"One thing is for sure, people are bound to do what is most profitable for them."

Yep, the ancient WIIFM principle has been around since the beginning of time and the utopian vision of what a decentralized blockchain might be able to accomplish will never be free of it IMHO. And I agree with your impressions these latest changes have some benefit to them. But ... In so doing, made the slope of that "steep mountain" we all must learn to climb even greater ...

One sad development from my perspective (back to WIIFM ...) is the significant reduction of any upvoting on comments written. The best ROI for our SP under these new rules doesn't enccourage it ...

Well, on into my day. Happy to give some support to Katie as one of the "good people" on our Steem blockchain.

Thanks again for all you are doing!

"One sad development from my perspective is the significant reduction of any upvoting on comments written."

Indeed, a combination of the low Steem price with the new HF21 rules make it nearly impossible to upvote comments. The good thing is that it's a great counter for abuse and empty upvote phishing comments (that used to be a plague). It if was up to me I would just remove the comment upvotes and replace them with a tipping function. Similar to how you click on the upvote button now, it would upvote directly from your own SBD funds also making the comments go higher up based on amounts.

I'm sure it's not that hard for the devs to implement something like that and many (including myself) would be using that function.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63330.76
ETH 3090.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.80