You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Qualifying for High Value Votes: How to Provide Evidence YOU ARE YOU and YOUR MUSIC is YOURS

in #curation6 years ago

Really? People are ripping off other people’s music?? That’s low. I recently covered Gwen steffanies “what you waiting for”. https://dsound.audio/#/@thomasrobertgent/what-you-waiting-for . but clearly labeled it was a cover/remix I hope I’m not labeled as ripping off any one.

Sort:  

Yeah someone actually downloaded one of my OpenMic Posts and resubmitted it as their own in the competition, I was flattered but also wtf, like you could ever get away with that. I only found out because one of the judges @passion-ground spotted it.

That’s pretty low for some one to do that. I’m glad the judges picked up on in.

Someone seriously did that? That's disgusting. Wow.

Cover songs are fine, they are not being offered for sale - if they were you would need to go through licensing etc. You can play cover songs in a pub because they have a blanket licence - but you have forever been able to post transformative works anywhere - regardless of legality, don't have to think twice about posting a cover on youtube, soundcloud or any other website for competitions (imagine open mic if it was illegal to perform other people's music lol) if you performed it. Using samples from the original song or the original song itself without permission is where the trouble occurs and that needs to be policed seriously. I mean, what's stopping someone from re-uploading anyone's music? Nothing and that will be a problem one day imo.

Yep, in the world of music and Internet, ripping, copy/pasting, stealing is a well known phenomenon!

Wrt your post you linked above; To my personal taste you gave to little information. You mention that you did something with a cover, and used a tag suggesting it is a remix.

Added to that: when using copyright material of another artist, you have to get their consent under the law of most countries on our planet. Just mentioning you used some artists work for remix, is not sufficient. Especially when you earn money with it, which you do when you get votes on Steemit/DSound or through other Steem enabled services.

Hmmm you got me feeling a little guilty... I thought it was quite obvious it was a cover. I had no I’ll intent

I have no reason not to believe you, but always keep in mind: one does not read your mind, and can only conclude based on information provided.

This was the description ...
published 6 days ago
my first attempt at a cover song. Gwen Steffani's what you waiting for heavy metal style. all recording was done in my shed/studio (quite the back yard operation)

Im not sure what else I could have done to make it clear this was a cover and not an original.

as a i am into music before you make a cover or remix you so need to get permission from the artist if not from the publisher to use of any songs i make beats so i know alilbit about that since from time to time will need use a sample if i were to use a sample i would need to get permission from the artist or the publisher like i said before.. just sharing my knowledge..

I read your description before I made the first comment to you.

Anyway, you state in your description that it is a cover; A cover means: you created your interpretation of someone else work, but created it all by you. I started listening to the track and I hear different instruments and a voice while you mention YOU recorded it, based on that I assume YOU as in only you, no other individuals since you didn't mention anything about that. Now, it doesn't really feel very legit at my end, when a single person plays different instruments and does the voice all at the same time. So, this gives for me a red flag, or at least an orange flag.

Also, you used two tags to the post, of which one of them is 'remix'. A remix means: you took some other material and created some new work from it. This conflicts with the statement in your description that it is a cover. Now, a in a previous comment in this chain of comments, I took the approach you take the original material of someone else, and added something to it, to make it a remix. With that in mind, I commented to you that when re-using some material of someone else, you need their permission to do so.

All in all, I still don't know what you created: A cover? A remix?

I think it is perfectly fair to say that a cover can be a remix of a song, for example you could make your own representation of the song, changing parts as you see fit your taste or style better, it isnt exactly a true cover, but more a remix of the original version with all parts rerecorded by you. I think both tags are appropriate, from a personal standpoint.

You are allowed to use every tag you want that is relevant to your post. I have nothing against you using remix. I simple pointing out to you, what I pointed out to you in other comments.

EDIT: sorry, I thought you were the guy I had the whole chat with. We dont know what the reality is what @thomasrobertgent actually did. Did he re-record everything? I cant believe so. Did he make a remix? Maybe. Did he use existing material from another artists? Maybe? That users is too vague and for me something to not vote for.

I did record everything. Everything on that track was me. I recorded all tracks individually and mixed them in my DAW. Maybe I do need to add more to the description, I will keep this in mind for next time I upload a track, also when I uploaded the track I didn’t see a category for “cover” in the first drop down selection box , the closest thing was “remix” and that just happens to be the first tag that stuck to the track

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62789.36
ETH 3158.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82