You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My five favorite curators on Steem: @acidyo, @ausbitbank, @canadian-coconut, @teamsteem, @thejohalfiles.

in #curation6 years ago (edited)

Thanks for the nice words.
Most of the flagging I do is barely visible to most people. Reward suckers like to do it stealth mode. They do self voting during the last day or on their forgotten comments or just below the threshold to hit the main page. I sometime flag just to break old voting trails.
I take posts for what they are not for the people behind them. For example I just flagged one of @papa-pepper post, I'm sure he's a great guy but IMO the reward was too high relative to content.

Sort:  

It's a tough balance. I think you do a great job and I'm glad you're here!

1azb44.jpg

The tough part in regards to Steemit from the perspective of a new author is gaining exposure while wading through the shit pond of garbage posts in order to gain a following. There are so many junk articles out there it can be off putting to find your solid effort in writing an engaging and detailed post swallowed by a sea of bullshit articles consisting of regurgitated links and unoriginal thought that are for all intents and purposes spam.

I find it particularly frustrating when the aforementioned bullshit articles are nothing more than an aggregation of links copied and pasted from various sources such as Google news on a topic. It reminds me of Magpie, the old content aggregation code that we would use to vomit key word relevant articles into a feed on a site in order to move of the SERP and game the Adsense system.

U5dqv1bPasu2zHfppc8G4BoL3MPPPBV_1680x8400.jpg

This unfortunately creates a situation where talented authors or those that have the requisite grey matter between their ears to write solid content must debase their character and engage in link spamming comments or whale posts in the hopes of getting some love.

I’m not quite sure what the solution to this issue is. Perhaps a category of up and coming should be created where new authors are featured based upon a ratio of positive feedback relative to posts; though even that would not work as it again fails to address the issue of initial exposure in order to gain the needed positive feedback. Perhaps a metric needs to be applied to number of words vs. links, or number of words total. Longer more engaging articles would receive a multiplier based on the likelihood of them containing good content. Whereas posts of aggregated links would receive a penalty as they likely contain nothing of substance.

This may even address what I as a new user have come to see as “lazy whale syndrome”.. I’m a whale, I made it.. I’m just going to post articles full of links with the mentality that the legion of dung beetles following me will upvote in the hopes of gaining curation manna the turd I just produced.

I’m not sure what the actual solution is so I’ll just keep lurking in the shadows ambushing whale articles with link spam until I’m all grown up and can venture out on my own.

Also on a side note; Steemit seriously needs a larger text input box in the comment section for folks like me that actually like to type detailed responses… 

Aha! I think I will use that meme pic on spam comments on my post from now on.

You are a great man!

@transisto - If you're finding that your rewards are too high on your own post, what can you do to rectify it before other users see it as a potential issue? You can't reduce your own rewards as far as I know, right? I can't imagine coming across this on my own posts anytime soon, so asking for the future.

It is not in the ui but it is possible to set maximum payout using the steem package for Python.

I find it distasteful to flag for reward. It is like doing a Cyprus bail-in. Five dollars seems like a real high amount for a comment. I was here in 2016 and I saw rolelandp get thousands of dollars for their makeup tutorials so who am I to go ahead and flag somebody for $5 comment? No I will not flag this comment.

You do a LOT of good for this community and while I could easily see how a lot of people may not like your actions I think its mostly just selfish reasons. I have seen a LOT of actions that prove you care a lot about the success of this community and platform.

Thanks

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63425.40
ETH 3253.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88