Ride With Me – Journey Across Salt Spring Island to Chemainus

in #cycling4steemit6 years ago (edited)

View this post on Hive: Ride With Me – Journey Across Salt Spring Island to Chemainus


Since the Steem blockchain became a centralized, top-down dominated place, where control and censorship thrive, I have decided to move my content. Don't worry, though, all my posts and up and doing well on the decentralized Hive blockchain. Come and check it out!

Sort:  

You have to be strategic when shifting to those low gears while going uphill, I totally agree. Too bad you couldn’t write to those elves but oh well. It is a dream you are living and I am so proud of you for doing it. I have a hard time believing you when you say you need more training but I guess there’s always something to strive for. Keep taking in this wonderful experience at your own pace. When you talk about recovering and then enjoying the view before you go back down is proof to me that you have a mindset to make the most of your experience. Enjoy the alone time, you deserve it!

Thanks @edouard. This kind of reply is proof to me that you actually enjoyed reading what I wrote, making it all worth while. Looking forward to my next big ride to Vancouver when I'll get to meet you in person (hopefully). Cheers!

Yeah hopefully!

Oh man, what an adventure. A part of me is really enamored with the idea of traveling around with my bare-bones supplies on my bike. I have a good friend that did a bike trip cross country with only her two young children. She said it was an amazing experience, but possibly her most reckless because everywhere she went people seemed to know everything they needed to about her - that she probably didn't know anyone in town, that she had all her important possession on her bike, etc. Of course, you are in a much different position than she was - you can focus more on the adventure.

Happy travels.

Sweet! What an adventure. The route over the mountains would have been fantastic i am sure. The more gruelling it is, the more beautiful it is!

It sure is! Though there's always a tipping point, after which the exhaustion is so great that the most beautiful view leaves me cold. Which is why frequent breaks are important.

Absolutely. Frequent breaks are THE most important thing. Not just for the rest, but to enjoy the view. Else the cycle ride is for nought!

As a runner at heart i can't give you too much knowledge on the biking other than to say sounds like an adventure. And i'm glad you didn't take the highway for safety reasons. Also jealous u might get to meet @edouard. Thanks for sharing your adventures with us & godspeed

Thanx for the comment, @chelsea88. And as for the highway, in the second part of my ride things were a bit different...

Oh, I will have to check that out!

Glad you had a great time here!

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 17 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 23 SBD worth and should receive 86 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

@therealwolf 's created platform smartsteem scammed my post this morning (mothersday) that was supposed to be for an Abused Childrens Charity. Dude literally stole from abused children that don't have mothers ... on mothersday.

https://steemit.com/steemit/@prometheusrisen/beware-of-smartsteem-scam

I'm so sorry... But what does that have to do with my post?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63475.77
ETH 3117.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94