You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Daily Dose of Sultnpapper 08/12/18> Now for my answers… and thank you for yours too.

in #dailydose6 years ago

Similar Logos? They are both 2 dimensional and use primary colors to go with the previously mentioned round with yellow background. Uggghhhh.

I couldn't say that I'll never go to Beaverville, as I occasionally get into 'see gas-buy gas" mode on the motorcycle. But I'll remember and the next time I'm in Texas I'll look out for them.

I get to rate 'travel plazas' and gas stations more often than most as I only carry about 6 gallons and need to stop for gas at least every 200 miles. I very rarely (like not once on this last 6 week trip) eat at a restaurant in one of those places. I do eat from the 'hot case' from time to time. A good corn dog tends to endear me as much as anything.

The best one I found this trip was in Castle Dale, Utah. A Maverick station that was open and had coffee at 0500 when I was in desperate need. They had a meat filled pastry in the case, I chose 'sausage' and walked back to my motel room with both. It was so outstanding I stopped and had another about an hour later as I got on the road.

The old adage about 'don't trust the coffee in Utah' pretty much held true, but I expected that. Castle Dale is a little mining town that had a big Mine Disaster in the 80s and a really attractive monument to the 28 people that lost their lives there. It's on the courthouse lawn.

Anyway, it's a clear cut case of the 'big dog' trying to use it's clout to eliminate the competition. I just never like that. Last time the Olympics was in the US the committee decided to sue everybody that used 'Olympic or Olympics' in their name. Somebody didn't do much homework because they ended up filing over a thousand suits in Washington where the Olympic Peninsula, Olympic Mountains and Olympic National Park reside. One company, Olympic Paint (a relatively large regional paint and stain mfg) had a little fun with it, pointing out in their ads that the company was in business before the modern Olympics started in 1896. That suit didn't go far there, needless to say.

But the fact that they even tried it really pissed me off.

Thanks. I'm glad you gave us an 'splainen. I didn't see that coming.

Sort:  

I can see how being on a bike would more than double your travel stop experiences since I get a little over 400 miles out of a tank and since I travel my area regularly it won't be any trouble for me to make sure they never get another nickel from me.
It sure appears to me the "big dog" doesn't want any pups growing up and challenging them to be the leader of the pack. As far as I am concerned the big dog now has rabies and I am steering well clear of them.
Was that meat filled pastry called a "kolache", those are really good, especially the ham and cheese ones.
The Olympics and their law suits reminds me a lot of the NFL and suing people over the use a the name Super Bowl in sales advertising, they even gave the local food pantry in Houston some static over their use of "Souper Bowl" in their campaign to get people to donate cans of soup.
Since I wasn't on the jury and couldn't vote on this suit, I will just vote with my wallet and you can damn sure bet that Choke Canyon will get more of my votes in the future.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63697.39
ETH 3145.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83