You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Daily Dose of Sultnpapper 11/05/18> I have a new pair of Spurs…

in #dailydose5 years ago

Well, you and I are in full agreement once again. If I never throw a leg over a horse again, I'm really ok with that. I rode every day for about 10 years growing up. Enough. Last time I was in the saddle it wasn't a horse but a mule. Turns out he and I did about 25 miles together one day and got along just fine. It was a smooth ride, but my ass still hurt like crazy the next day. I was maybe 30, and yes, there was also a woman involved.

200 lb limit? That's the limit for those little burros that go up and down the Bright Angel Trail on the Grand Canyon, and I understand that. Little buggars can't weigh much over 500 themselves. I haven't weighed under 200 for a long time, just out of High School. I was so damn skinny I had to stand just right to make a shadow.

But congratulations to the Girls. Blondie and Shortie did themselves proud just getting there!

It's not that I don't like horses, I do. When they are in somebody elses' pasture. I have a cousin here in Prescott Valley that has a therapy horse program going on. She retired maybe 15 years ago as an engineer at Motorola, and her husband retired a couple years ago, I don't think either one is 50. Anyway, their daughter loved horses so they got her one and did the lessons thing in SoCal while she was growing up. April liked it and started herself (she'd first ridden at our place when she was a kid) but is pretty much type A so fell in with a shrink that was using horses as a therapy tool for wounded vets. Both of them being vetrans and all. Anyway, the two of them are still at it, but the horses are in AZ now. I like to go visit April's horses cause I don't have to do anything with them but talk. Perfect.

I've got another cousin that has moved to the NE of Phoenix (Cave Creek, I think) that I haven't even stopped in to see yet. Also over horses, or more correctly, riding and instruction. Their daughter is in the Olympic program and they retired to where her preferred instructor is.

So. If you aren't mucking stalls, what are you going to do there?

Good Monday to you. I hope your week isn't as hectic as it sounds...

Sort:  

I love the horses and there isn't many things better than riding a good cutting horse into a herd of cattle and cutting a cow from the herd. That is a fine experience and I do miss that. The thing about it, and horses in general, is it all comes at a big price and it is continuous expense.
So I don't mind taking the girls when they want to go to the camp, in the long run I will come out a whole lot better off financially and it is good for the girls as well.
The good part is when they have had enough they can just walk away from it and I don't have to worry about having to get rid of any animals.
Thanks for the continued support, very much appreciated.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64307.66
ETH 3146.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88