You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Daily Dose of Sultnpapper 11/27/18> The nerve of some people… challenging me?

in #dailydose5 years ago

Well well. Like you I don't do the challenge thing very well, mostly 'cause I don't like calling attention to myself.

My Uncle Del was a leap year guy, we celebrated our 10th birthday the same year. I was amazed and can still figure every leap year in my head.

Mrs. Bare ass would have been just too much for me, too. Even if I liked her...

I didn't ride formal competitions, but I owned a pretty good cutter and rode haze quite a little. Good as I was at most throwing sports I seemed to could never quite get the hang of a rope.

I got a guy that I'll fly with in any circumstance including small jet. First time I flew was when he uhhhh borrowed his dad's 173 Cesna for an afternoon. He ended up owning 3 Gulfs that he flew and leased. He also owned the race team that I worked on. NHRA and IMSA. We also raced AHRA and what ever Billy Meyer was calling his deal there in Texas. Billy Meyer had DEEP pockets. I've worked on some stock cars, but always on a contract basis, never on a team.

Your connection with AOL was better than mine. I loved that they sent me a couple of CDs per week. They worked perfect to use as a 'foot plate' for parking a motorcycle on a soft surface. I was involved in the innerwebs before it was called the internet. It was the 'intra net' then.

I have a good friend that PNG'd in Canada too. That's probably a story that Cleo will tell one day. He was actually PNG in the US at the same time.

Well, my friend, I'm glad you took the challenge. I've already promised the same challenger that I'll do it, maybe as soon as today.

Thank you.

Sort:  

I couldn't do your comment justice this morning as I had limited time so I ended up saving it for the evening replies.
I have the same feeling when it comes to telling things about myself. So I have shied away from these challenges and such, plus I have never liked having to drag others in on them.
If @natubat and @lizelle hadn't gone down the potato chip road in there comment about me I would have probably just left it alone. (Funny how certain things can trigger me)So I answered that question and then said. "what the hell, I don't have anything better to write tonight" and that is how I roped myself in.
Speaking of throwing ropes, I never have been good at throwing a rope either. But I have won a bunch of money in roping back years ago. I ran around with some guys that roped and one particular guy named Eddie Floyd Pearson was a left handed header that was always short on entry money. Damn good with a rope and a great horse, I would put up his portion of the entry and we would split his share of the winnings, very seldom I wouldn't at least double my money and never had to throw one loop.
I did the competitions in the cutting and enjoyed it, never won much money but always had a good time. The last time I competed at a big show was the NCHA Cutting Horse Futurity in Fort Worth, TX in 1988.
The little mare I was riding was in heat and she was a bitch that week. I didn't make it past the first go round. That was a big entry fee wasted for sure. The cutting horse game is for the rich folks and I quit cutting in 1990 for good when I sold that mare . I still enjoy watching a good cutting horse work cattle and the best seat in the house is on the back of one for sure.
I had my fill of small jets when I flew from Memphis to Lake Charles to go to cutting down there. It was just me and the pilot so I was right next to him looking out the front. Couldn't see a guzbucking thing once we got 15 minutes south of Memphis. About half way there, the radar was solid red on the screen and we hit bad weather, at one point we lost 1,000 in altitude in the blink of eye it seemed.
It was a rough ride from there, the airport at Lake Charles had been closed because of bad weather by the time we reach there and the pilot wasn't going to go anywhere but there so we circled until the weather broke enough for the FAA to reopen the airport. I was sick as dog by the time we landed, never puked, but I damn sure wanted too.
I couldn't even go to the coliseum that night to watch the cutting let alone ride a horse. I swore that I would never fly in a small jet or plane after that and so far I kept that promise.
I ended up riding back to Memphis after the weekend with with my girl friend at the time, she drove the truck and trailer hauling the horses back. There wasn't any amount of money you could have paid me to get back on the plane.
You have some interesting facts too I am sure and I look forward to reading those. Now I have to see if I can crank out a Daily Dose, it is damn near 10:00PM already and I have work in the morning.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63898.89
ETH 3129.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.90