"Dear Dawne" Live Today! - Get A "Pro" To Check Out Your Blog (the line starts forming..3..2..1..NOW)

in #deardawne6 years ago

"Dear Dawne - Writing Quality Comments"

Season 1 - Episode 6

We Have An Experienced "Steemit Personal Mentor" To Help You Directly!

(Also Newbie Nickels Added Again This Week!)

General Topic: Writing Quality Comments

Many of you have been on steemit a little while to know the way to get noticed is to interact, keep replying to other members' posts and to not write what I consider the “drive-by” comment. Meaning “good post”, “nice post”, “good information” or any of a combined of the precious mentioned.

But what should you be commenting? And how?

First...

Make sure you have time to make the comment. You will want to commit to writing at least one or two sentences; more if it is an interesting topic and you have knowledge of the topic and can contribute to the discussion.

Second

NEVER ever ask the person to go to your page to comment, or post a link of your own in the comments; unless you have received permission from the original poster/author.

Third

Make sure what you will say and share in your comment will add value to the post. If you just want to comment to comment, STOP! Think of a personal experience that can be related to the topic. If the person has posted a how-to video/picture tutorial about changing a car's tire, then tell them about the time you had to change a tire on your own car and what you learned from the experience. If they are posting about how to fertilize their lawns, comment back about what you have done in the past to make your lawn lush and thick.

Fourth

If you want to comment on a possible controversial topic,make sure what you say is NOT inflammatory or too negative. Stay on topic, voice your view or opinion and possible back your comment with facts. But remember... what is said on the blockchain, stays on the blockchain. Your words, once posted, are there for all others to see.

Fifth

If you read a post but don't completely understand what the person is trying to explain or convey in the post, ask questions in the comment section. This not only gives you a good explanation but it also opens up dialogue for more interaction.

Newbie Nickels (Available to EVERYONE for TODAY ONLY, Newbies only after that)

Anyone can play. Anyone can join. You don't have to be a newbie, to win this Newbie Nickel.

First, a Newbie Nickel is something that we at the #newbieresteemday initiative use to incentivize the newbies to play games or enter contests. Its a $0.05 upvote on their entry in the game/contest and it guarantees them something for making an effort. For some newbies this $0.05 is more than they can make on many posts, so it is indeed a way to earn "something" and to learn/engage at the same time.

How To Get Your Newbie Nickel TODAY ONLY On This Post

#1 Leave a comment to Dawne on this post. It must be a question directed at her asking for her help, or it must be a relevant observation to her topic of the day.
#2 If you leave a comment and Dawne responds, you can earn a "bonus" Newbie Nickel for a relevant additional comment to her. Note: that is (2) Newbie Nickels just by engaging Dawne and following up respectfully with her replies!
#3 Resteem this post and tell me about it in the comment section and I will give you a 1 Newbie Nickel for that! You must leave a comment to me (@davemccoy) so that @goldendawne only focuses on her discussions.

Got it? You can earn up to (3) Newbie Nickels today just by engaging in thoughtful and engaging dialogue!

When: Today!!!

We are proud to present the news that #newbieresteemday and @goldendawne have teamed up in a partnership called "Dear Dawne". @goldendawne is an accomplished member of our community and she wants to help both the members of the Newbie Resteen Initiative and alse the "newbies" we serve.

Dawne will be regularly participating with us in a program called "Dear Dawne" where she will take comments, look directly at your posts and give you one on one suggestions, (and she will even go through your blog... How's that for being awesome!). Basically she wants to be your mentor and help you with ideas, formatting, access to resources, and even applying for various grants and delegations. Plus you can get "discovered" by a valued and connected member than can help you rise through the ranks!

Quick Facts About Dawne

In just the last two months, Dawne has:

  1. Become the writer & staff member for @qurator (which if you dont know about it, you should)
  2. Been delegated 10k SP from a whale- she is a Stewards of Gondor recipient
  3. Holds weekly, sometimes daily, contests to share the delegation she was awarded and given
  4. She is a mentor in certain Discord groups and helps incoming new members with formatting, posts and how to succeed

In the mentor program she is involved in... she says "the best reward is knowing and watching the people you partnered up with have their own steemit page and posts blossom and grow".

She is the real deal.

To read more about Dawne check out her past post: Personal Mentoring Statement For Homesteadersonline Community or just go to her steemit page @goldendawne an see the quality of her work and the connections she has.

How It Will Work

"Dear Dawne" will be available to help you individually today. She will answer questions, she will offer advice, she will even direct you to the right place if you don't know how to find something on Steemit. This is your chance to connect with a "60" Reputation Steemian on an individual and personal basis.

She is available to give you guidance and help in just a few hours. You just ask your questions to her in the comment section. Its that simple. She will read the comment section and reply individually with you and decide how best to help you from there.

Ask Your Question to "Dear Dawne" Now! Don't Wait, Get In Line First ;)

Sort:  

Well, I'm not surprised the points above from @davemccoy about interacting with comments. I've known you for few days now and I've seen how kind you are. You're a mentor to me.


Steemit is a social media and by social, then we have to socialize ourselves. To me, seeing one leave a comment that contribute to my post gives me the joy that even upvote can't. Comments gives room for interaction and a great relationship could start from there. I've learned that placing links in comments could be seen as spamming and even if the author follows your link and give you an upvote, he wouldn't do that when next he sees such act from you. I'm not experienced enough to add the deserved contribution to what's been already said, but I'm just in total support of this.

Let's steem up!

Actually @teekingtv the points were made by me. That is my portion of the post; but yes, @davemccoy is a wonderful steemian, person and a great friend I have made on steemit just weeks, maybe a month, ago.

@teekingtv thanks for the compliment, but @goldendawne is right, she is MY teacher and someone that can help you immensely! ;)

Sometimes I can just tell when someone is going to be a star, and you are one that I have a lot of confidence in :) ... Keep improving on your natural talents and the sky will be the limit for sure!

And thank you for saying I'm your mentor and I will be happy to take that as a badge of honor! Contact me anytime for help and guidance and you will always get it!

But don't forget @goldendawne, she does many things way better than me ;)

@davemccoy - resteemed :) thank you for this wonderful initiative :)

@goldendawne - I am not sure if I've understood this correctly, but if you decide to mentor someone, you go through their blog, reviewing and giving advice on how to proceed? If this is correct, I would be very (humbly) happy and grateful if you would have a look at my blog (@lil-mich). I have been here a month and I love the writing and commenting, but there's not that much action going on with my posts. If you have any words of wisdom and can point me in a direction, perhaps suggesting where I can make improvements, I would be eternally grateful. :)
-@lil-mich

Yes @lil-mich - that's what I do for mentoring. I will look at your page, posts, comments, interaction and a few other things on steemworld to try and detect what you need to do, work on and/or change.

I will take a look and let you know. On average, I look at about a dozen pages a day for members. It's amazing when you start looking what you can see.

Ok, I reviewed some of your page and the first thing I see is that you need to start gathering more followers.
Right now you have 86; which is not a very wide audience. One thing I would suggest is to join the Discord group called thesteemengine- they have members that will comment and upvote members every day, as long as you (being a member) does the same. You share your link as well as who you upvoted and commented on. This helps with visibility and getting more traffic to your page.

The next thing I see is that when you are on steemit, you comment quite a bit; which is great! Keep commenting and eventually people will be drawn to you.

Your last post was seven days ago. Not sure as to why, but you should remain vigilant and consistent with posting. If you have commented on other people's post they may be coming over to your page to see what you have written, but see nothing new to comment to you about. This could have allowed you to lose some new followers.

thanks @goldendawne, this was really helpful. My achilles heel is time - or lack thereof rather. But I guess that goes for many here on Steemit. I see what you're saying about loosing potential followers if nothing gets posted for a while. It's noted! :)
I also just joined thesteemengine on discord, will read more into it tonight. I only joined discord yesterday - is there a newbieresteemday group on discord? :)
I have some other questions also

  • sometimes when I upvote someone the amount doesn't change, only the number of upvotes. Do you know why this is?
  • are my upvotes generally appreciated as much even if it doesn't entail any rewards for the recipient, or are those upvotes just a"waste of time"?
  • would you recommend buying some steem and convert to steem power? would that boost my follower count if people I upvote receive more?

I probably have many more questions, but that's what my tired mind can think of at the moment. I really do appreciate being given this opportunity, so thank you very much. :) we haven't talked much earlier, but I see your and @davemccoy's efforts in all of this pop up everywhere, so I do regard you as - I can't really find the right words - "parents" or "guides" or something like that. :) :) well done anyho. :)

Yes there is a Discord group- maybe @davemccoy can chime in with the invite link as I don't have it readily available.

Thesteemengine is a great Discord group for curation. I think you will like it.

UPvote number chsnges but not the $$ amount- reason is more than likely you have used up your voting power for the day/24 hour time frame. Keep track of what you have left by using this- https://steemworld.org/@lil-mich it tells SO MUCH on this page.

I never believe a single UPvote is a waste of time. If you go to the link above I left for you, you can scroll down to the recent posts and pull up any of your posts and see who UPvoted, who resteemed, who did what and by looking through the UPvotes, you'll see who visits your posts frequently. Just because your UPvote is not giving them monetary value, they see you coming around and liking their work and posts; yet, another way people start following or visiting more pages. You see names over and over, it will eventually intrigue them to see who you are. So that 0.00 UPvote just got you a new visitor.

I personally have never invested a single penny into steemit, steem or sbd. Ever penny in my wallet was earned by writing and commenting. Sure it may increase your SP, but just because you have SP doesn't automatically mean you'll get followers. I know people who have and will use their own money into steem, sbd, etc and that is a personal choice they made. I see it as an investment into themselves.

And never hesitate to ask a question. That's why I'm here.

Here you go @lil-mich :)

https://discord.gg/2ZcAxsU

And when you get there, go to my name and send me a message so I can also set up a direct message link to you. I can help you with what @goldendawne is talking about ;)

My username there is davemccoy#2479

Thanks @davemccoy - I couldn't find your user on this discord channel, so I sent you a friends request. As you probably see I'm new on discord also... lol

good job @lil-mich ... I got you :D

I cannot say enough about the amazing, knowlegeable and incredibly helpful @goldendawne!

If anyone has questions, ask her! If there is an answer, she will find it!

Thank you @davemccoy for this! Upvoting and Resteeming

Thank you for the kind words @kismet2018!

Btw, you should get over to the #newbiegames tag and play that Jeopardy game (you can enter up to 5 times and its right in your wheelhouse the topics discussed) ;)

Thank you @kismet2018! I have had some great conversations with you and so appreciate you being in this group and initiative!

You have always taken my advice, implemented it and been so gracious! I can foresee you advancing and succeeding on steemit!

@goldendawne I thank you very much for taking @kismet2018 under your wing. I think you have helped her very much to blossom!!!

@davemccoy, you got that right! @goldendawne and you have been hugely instrumental in helping me get some "footing" here! It's still massively daunting, but we are not alone! Verrry cool!

I thank you for your voice and vote of confidence @goldendawne! This is an impressively massive platform! Having mentors and guides like you, @davemccoy and so many others in the extraordinary community of #newbieresteemday is a God-send, a gift to Newbies!

Congratulations @davemccoy, your post has been selected by the @asapers for a resteem and a feature in our brand new curation post. Issue 12

What does this mean for you? Well first an upvote from some members of the team, we are no @curie but who is going to be unhappy with some extra upvotes. Second each post featured in the article will receive a 10% share of the curation post.

Keep up the great work and please consider supporting the @asapers with a follow and an upvote on the post you feature in. Please wait seven days for payout.

Your friendly @asapers

Giving back A.S.A.P

Read Me ASAP.png

Awesome @asapers!!! This is very cool :) Thank you very much!

And I look forward to us getting together and doing things to grow! I like this method you use and it will be good for our members to pay attention to!

@davemccoy here is my question for @goldendawne ...

What has your experience been using the Manual Voting Slider on Steem World? With @bashadow and @lynncoyle1's patient tutelage, I am using it more and more and loving it!

First question, am I doing it right?
Second, is there a downside to this Manual Voting?

Thank you for whatever you find, Dawn!

Hi @kismet2018! I'm sure @goldendawne will have a great answer, but I just wanted to say that I have been using it and love it. It makes my voting power last longer, which equals way more love to spread around :) Let me know if you find anything out differently please! Thanks :)

I know, right @lynncoyle1?! Thank you for weighing in on this one and for helping me figure it out! I have been using it relatively painlessly and actually starting to really enjoy the ability to "spread the love around" to even more people, like you said! Plus it keeps our Voting Power at a relatively "healthy" number.

That's exactly why I want to make sure it's a good thing to do and use because I am using it more and more!

  • Are you doing it right- When I received the slider bar months back it made making my SP and voting power last so much longer throughout the day and I was able to give out more rewards to more members. I usually kept the bar lower as to be able to give out more rewards across the day instead of just giving out HUGE rewards to a few. I think everyone finds their own way of determining what is right for them when handing out the UPvotes and percentages.
  • A downside to this Manual Voting- I have never used a vote-bot. I prefer to go into the posts and read. I know people who use vote-bots and it works for them. I think deciding to use or not use a bot is up to the individual. I am a manual curator and UPvoter, so I doubt I'll ever use a bot. Downside? Not for me, but others may find it tedious and time consuming.

Well there it is then @kismet2018; reiterated by the master, @goldendawne :) Thank you, as always!

Resteemed@davemccoy

I haven't seen you much, but glad to see you now @annamighty! I was talking about you today to someone. Don't forget to go play our new game on the #newbiegames feed... Jeopardy... I think you will like the topic and each player gets up to $0.50 in upvotes just for playing :) Spread the word there too and I will also give you a newbie nickel myself ;)

Thank you,I av done that

Dear @goldendawne thank you for the wonderful job you are doing and not going to fail to mention @davemccoy whose effort too have been absolutely immense in helping newbies and minnows. I have a question that has to do with curation. Been on this platform for atleast 25days and I curate articles while trying to keep my voting power above 75-80% and still do not get curation reward. 2days ago For the first time I got a curation reward and been wondering why I never got any for all the post I have upvoted since I joined the platform

Here are some key points to know about UPvoting. rewards and times to best UPvote-
See this link to read the entire post and article with recommendations.

  • UPvote before 15 minutes you give 99.94% to the author and get 00.06%

  • UPvote after 15 minutes you give 50% to the author and receive 50%.

  • UPvote after 30 minutes you receive 100% curation reward.

Hi @goldendawne, can I piggy-back onto this question. I've read an article explaining what you just said about the timing of upvotes and I've kept it in mind while I've been upvoting, and still nothing. Actually, I did get a handful of manual curation rewards in my early days on Steemit, but nothing for the last 11 days, even though my Curation activity has steadily increased since day 1.

And, the value of my upvote did go up for a bit and is now back to zero, even though I use steemworld to watch my voting power and keep it no lower than 79% at a minimum. Could both of these problems be related to me having low SP? I've finally gotten mine above the original ~15 that was delegated to me, but since they take that back as mine grows, it's still hovering right there. I just figure I'm doing something wrong, and hoping you can shed some light?

I had just been thinking to myself the other day how great it would be to have someone you could hire as a consultant to look at your blog and give you feedback, and then I find you today through @asapers and you are offering this for free! I realize you may not still be offering this since it said it was for yesterday. But, if the offer still stands, I'd love any critiquing @coachjj. Thank you!

Good morning!
I scrolled through your page, comments, replies and posts for a minute and I do see some UPvotes coming in sporadically through your comments but most have replies with many having no UPvotes. So, you are interacting with people and they are responding; so no problem there. It just seems as though the UPvotes are slow coming in for you... for now.

I am by no means an expert with SP, voting power and how the breakdown of the payouts happen. I have read many posts explaining the payout amounts and (author/curator) rewards and still have a difficult time understanding all the ins-and-outs.

I learned early on NOT to pay attention to my wallet; as it will become addictive and overwhelming- as I think about the posts, comments and payouts versus the dollar amounts and SP building up in my wallet.

I really wish I could help more with the understanding. Maybe this article can help more. Midway down in the reward pool distribution section is explained and gives an example; including how it has to do with who votes before or after you.

Thank you @goldendawne for taking the time to go through my page and give me your thoughts. It's funny what you said about:

I learned early on NOT to pay attention to my wallet; as it will become addictive and overwhelming- as I think about the posts, comments and payouts versus the dollar amounts and SP building up in my wallet.

When I was newer, you're right, I WAS obsessive about it. Lol. But, at some point, I got so busy with my friends that I started to forget about it, and that's when it got fun!

I know you hear it so often how thankful we are off your help, but I hope you realize how much it's truly meant. It's just amazing to see all these people here, who give more than they take.

You're very welcome! I enjoy sharing what I have learned so far. Having someone to bounce ideas_ off of can really help motivate too. If you get confused, then frustration looms.

Agree on the bounce ideas thing. My natural tendency is to isolate. I think I'm bothering others if I ask questions. But, more often than not, people enjoy helping others. It's still hard for me sometimes though to put myself out there.

Oh please.. never hesitate. I am more than thrilled to be able to share my knowledge with you all.

I am the queen of being a hermit but steemit has definitely given me more of a social game. I can flutter in and out, be social and make friends. You'll be amazed once you get right in there and get you hands dirty.

Hi @coachjj, its nice to meet you and I'm glad you found this through @asapers resteeming the article! We plan on coordinating many activities with @asapers and they are a great fit with our people at #newbieresteemday!

I think this is the first time I've met you, so I'm giving you a "newbie nickel" (the $0.05 upvote) as a way of saying it is a good comment and thanks for being here and participating! :)

Its nice to meet you!

Thank you so much @davemccoy! That's super sweet of you! I'm happy to meet you guys and looking forward to learning more about what you are doing for the newbies and hopefully getting to know you more through the discord group!

Same here @coachjj :) ... i look forward to connecting deeper with you too!

I think its cool that whenever I come across someone with a "coach" in their name that they are a "good" person! One of the biggest role models in my life was my college baseball coach. :)

Have a great day!

Oh, I LOVE that! I had no idea when I took the role of coach, the kind of opportunity I'd have to speak life into people. I realize now it's what I am called to do, and it feels amazing!

I agree... To me one the greatest experiences I've known was when I was one of the coaches once! I coached my fraternity football team, and to this day those guys still call me coach!

Thank you for this post. I really gained from the last episode as well as this episode and am working towards making videos already. I can totally relate to leaving meaningful comments issue in your post, some people just want to come and make unrelated comments like "beautiful", " nice"...without really going through the details of the post. I mean, its social media.... Read, and make meaninful contributions to the topic bring discussed.

I just did my first Dtube short videos lst week as a test. I have never done videos before and have decided to start doing more.

And yes, those types of spammy comments are becoming less and less, but they are still out there. I feel if the person took the time to write a quality post then it deserves a quality comment in return.

Yo! @davemccoy. I really wanna do a contest. Have an idea. But have no SBD to give for it. Help. How does this work.??

@luanne, not to step on @davemccoy's toes here but you don't have to offer sbd or steem for a contest.
Things I have offered besides sbd or steem include:

  • upvotes for one week straight
  • Resteems for a week straight
  • I do a weekly garden seeds' exchange (very cheap to send out... a postage stamp)

Ohh cool! Good ideas. Altho my upvote ain't worth crap.😢 Dunno why😖. But the others are feasible!! Ty

You can step on my toes anytime @goldendawne because I wear steel-tipped boots!!! ;)

hey @luanne .. that is easy... You just give away as a prize the amount of sbd earned from the post itself... that's how everyone starts... no risk to you and helps your game to get played. and tag your game with #newbieresteemday and #newbiegames too... it will help it to be seen

as you get bigger then you will have a idea, but for now that is how to do it

and please let me know when you do your game, I want to promote it!!! (so track me down and tell me) :)

also our latest contest is something you might want to play it is easy and you can enter up to 5 times:

https://steemit.com/earthnation/@newbiegames/earthnation-presents-newbiegames-jeopardy-where-every-valid-answer-is-a-winner

If you have any questions, please let me know!!!

Ahh I got it! Well now I have two ideas for contests. Hmm. What to do first.... I'll have to decide! 😊

Just schedule them a couple of days apart so you can manage them... Its a lot of fun running a game and it will help you make new friends over time! :)

Hope so!!

What tags should I use? Newbyresteemday newbygames newbyinitiative??

dear @goldendawne, having a mentor is any newbie's dream! I do not have a particular question right now. I just wanna thank you and @davemccoy for creating avenues where help and support can be extended to those who need it. Kudos to the two of you! 👍

Thank you!! Yes. having a mentor or someone to guide you with experience is something I wish I'd had when first joined. But was not able to find anyone.

We are lucky there's people like you @goldendawne who selflessly help newbies. It's nice to take some pointers from you and tips on how to grow in this platform. I read your commenting tips and they are really helpful. I'd like to believe that Steemit is not some popularity contest but a platform that rewards quality content. I really appreciate what you're doing to include new people like me in growing. 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61994.03
ETH 2917.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62