My rather unique grieving process- indoor skydiving.

in #death6 years ago (edited)

I've shared that my Uncle died just a few days ago. It was a mix of hard living and poor dietary choices that led to several strokes, and ultimately a heart attack. He was in his late 70s or early 80s. I should know, but I don't keep those dates in my head all that well. He lived the life he wanted to live for the time period he wanted to live it and then had a relatively short and sharp drop decline to the end of his life.

I'm a little sheepish about this tradition I've set. It's filled with privilege for one because it's expensive, but it also strikes me as being weird. Really... I mean, who fucking goes sky diving to take an emotional load off. Anyway, it strikes me as weird... that said I want to share it anyway. So, I'm hard on myself for this anyway, but also feeling a touch defensive about it.

My aunt

I heard about my uncle's passing. I think I was in shock for a few days. I spoke to him a few days before he died. He started hospice and I knew this was coming (even though I thought it woudl be months away) so I don't feel like a terrible nephew, but it's hard to see that side of my family die especially after my mom's death. I didn't communicate as frequently as I should have cause it triggers me and makes me relive her dying of cancer.

Anyway, I called my aunt and didn't reach her, and she called me back right before my lesson / flight time. It's like the universe was precisely facilitating my ritual. She kinda walked me through how he died and for the first time since I heard he died I could get some tears out.

Flying

I then went in and did five 2 minute sessions. 2 minutes sounds short, but the closest thing I can think of is when i wrestled in high school and the periods were 2 exhausting minutes. I'm like 240 pounds. It takes some physical work even with the wind doing most of the work to hold me up. So, it's a little bit mentally challenging to balance and feel ones body and navigate the wind. It was emotionally relieving. I like feeling like I'm floating and I like breathing the wind shooting into my lungs at 100+ mph. The phrase take a breath of fresh air is amplified at those speeds!

Defenses down

When the whole thing was over and I was in my car I finally could let some go. When I was in graduate school I had the hardest time of my life. I was literally working around 100 hours a week. I would take every other Sunday afternoon off and otherwise I was working from around 9am in the morning to 11pm at night. I did that for 8 months so I could graduate and get to the job that was waiting for me. I worked at that clip and it was literally killing me. I would get in there and dealt with a million stresses. My wife would tell me to get her the fuck out of Texas, work would tell me to hurry up as the job wouldn't be there forever, and my boss would tell me I'd never make it on time. The stress was gruesome. I used to leave my fume hood (I'm a chemist), walk into the adjacent lab that was vacant, cry for a good 5-10 minutes, and then go back at it. I didn't have enough time to waste more than that. Toss in a friend's suicide and coping through heavy drinking and I was in a bad way.

Processing

Anyway, the point of that is that because of time constraints it changed the way I cry to intense 5-10 minute bouts and then life goes on. I was in my truck right after flying and the wave hit. My uncle lived near Austin. So, when I went to grad school down in Texas he lent me a car, let me stay at his house, my wife and I would visit. He was a fan a supporter. I don't want to share too much because I want to write an obit for him, but this week has been a real struggle for me. I'm down to just 2 people living in the generation above mine, and while I wasn't super close to my Uncle I certainly felt loved and grateful for the time I spent with him. He could be a little stoic and hard to know. That's my mother's side of the family for sure, but even through stoic I felt a lot of love, which I'll truly miss going forward.

Vulnerable

So, here I am sorta at my worst just trying to let the wind take a load off. I try to be a strong, balanced and neutral leader as much as I can be for as long as I can be. That often means keeping parts of me at arms length from this place, from people I care about, from members of PALnet, and my digital homestead. That said I love this place and I love being a part of this community and wanted to share a touch of weakness and vulnerability. I'm not always the image of the guy I put out there. Sometimes I'm just a sad nephew dearly missing a beloved and supporting uncle. It's just being. It's just me. I thought I'd share what that's like at the tough times.

Steem is the broken hearts club. Here's another piece of my heart ripped off. I'm betting folks can relate, and I'm hoping this can positively impact at least one other person to hear this story and see the approach even if it is a little off the wall and in the air. Much love Steem. I've gotten some very supportive comments and kindness. It matters and thanks for your caring. Please keep my family in your prayers for a bit.

Namaste,

Aggroed

Sort:  

That looks like a brilliant way to mourn. You may be sad now, but have been weightless. You have cried, but had air literally blasted into you. It’s feeling the two extremes that keep you balance apparently. Hang in there uncle aggy. I love ya, sending strong comforting virtual hugs, and prayer 💜

Dear @aggroedthank you so much for sharing in such an open, unabashed way. Though I'm sincerely sorry to hear of your loss, I'm grateful to know you have this kind of meaningful ritual, no matter how atypical it may be.

I staunchly disagree that you're showing weakness of any kind. On the contrary, I'd argue that being authentically vulnerable is the greatest indicator of deep inner strength, revealing integrity rather than fragility.

Your willingness to be honest and transparent with all of us is, in my opinion, the mark of a truly great leader.

I hope the sting of your loss softens over the coming days – that you allow yourself all the time you need to truly grieve.


steemit-posts-5.jpg


'There is a sacredness in tears. They are not the mark of weakness, but of power. They speak more eloquently than ten thousand tongues. They are the messengers of overwhelming grief, of deep contrition, and of unspeakable love.' - Washington Irving


Great post. I love your work great job. Keep steeming

I am sorry for your loss. I relate to it, and you more because of it.

My baby brother died suddenly in April. He was 51. Per normal, my mourning really came on my motorcycle as I rode the 1500 miles to his place. It was mostly cold and miserable and nasty, perfect weather to remember and mourn my brother.

I appreciate that you shared this part of you with us. Thank you.

I'm sorry to hear you longing for your uncle. Life is always like that, people come and go. My father died in 2016 but it was like yesterday and it's like he's not gone 'coz I dream about him everynight. His voice is fresh in my imaginations til it says it's okay . Whenever he is now, he is very proud of his chemist nephew for sure and the PALnet leader. So I'd really agree that Steemit is the broken heart club to tell our sentiments in life.

Me and vachemorte have looked into doing this, I have to admit it does seem very cathartic, it must feel kind of freeing to just let the air take control of you like that and just float. I'm sorry again to hear about your loss, it sounds like your uncle had a great life, ❤️hugs❤️

First of all sad to hear now after your mother your uncle has also passed away. I pray they rest in peace. However floating in the wind an amazing feeling it would. And for sure ability to feel that you are floating would be difficult bit of piece. However it for sure out of all the hardships will be amazing and wonderful. Hope to enjoy it.

How I wish I was flying like that a dream of my childhood

One day I wanna try the real thing.

So sorry about this @aggroed.

Trust me i know the feeling. I remember my dad. It clocked 3 years on Feb 14 that he died. It was tragic. Three days earlier i was with him and told him i was bringing my girlfriend home to see him as he has always asked of her.

Three days later, we were there beside him beside his sick bed. It was sudden and quick. He had no time to talk with me. He was frail. He breathe his last in my arms.

This is great, man. I always love your narratives. Thanks for sharing your experiences.

@aggroed

Please keep my family in your prayers for a bit.
Sure I will.

I understand what it feels like to lose a loved one especially those very dear to us.
Coupled with the fact that you have a family and a Job that still takes off You, I can imagine how strong you are.

How pained you are but still show off and show us the bright and happy sides.

You are an amazing person.
I read stories from @teardrops and several people's story and I've noticed strength in weakness.

I'm happy you are still holding yourself together.
You need it, your family needs it, those around you needs it .

I don't know if you are a religious person but the holy book says "God is faithful, he would never give us a burden greater than us".

I'm praying for you my friend. You'll feel better

@aggroed A very valuable experience in every journey of your life and a highly motivated reader.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 66858.35
ETH 3088.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72