You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Delegating to Bid Bots

in #delegation6 years ago

I don't believe you're selling out. It's adaptation and totally natural. Maybe that makes me an unpopular person sometimes, but I've learned through experience that if you're forced to play a game you didn't sign up for; you're best option is to win it.

Often I feel sad that so many are sticking to their guns and remaining predictable, meanwhile those who just don't give a damn will be even more in power... in that very long run that everyone is hoping towards, that I don't think (personally) is ever going to come by way of this strategy. I don't think there's any need to be polarized. It's perfectly rational to make circumstantial exceptions.

For instance, there are some bots that are just destructive only. The bidders lose, Steem loses, even the one's selling their votes don't make much. And then to boot, they have no filters. Then there are bots that are much more centric, and small groups that "act as bots" that are really run by smaller accounts making direct voluntaryist agreements off the blockchain. I don't think that's harmful in any way, they're minnows or dolphins. Each contract is individual. We just can't blanket judge everything because everything doesn't do the same thing just because of it's title.

I similarly feel about self-voting, if you're not a whale taking $500 for a meme, it's just taking a loss for nothing. Meanwhile those accounts will keep on doing that. The thought is ADMIRABLE, however, things are changing. The blockchain is becoming a multicoin, multidapp interface. How can we change the direction intended by every power that be? It seems like a battle lost for pride sometimes. Where do we draw the line between ethics and ego?

I am not judging what you choose and I look forward to your announcement.

Sort:  

but I've learned through experience that if you're forced to play a game you didn't sign up for; you're best option is to win it.

Everyone thinks they're on the path to winning it, but in the end we all will lose (if everyone goes that way). But yeah, that's not happening yet, but this is a slight concern without further information about how the stake intends to be used.

I have no concern, personally, for how another grown adult spends his own money — save they intend to physically attack someone, rape, bomb, etc.

That said, Steemit is not what people think it is or was. Find out now or later.

Lastly, I how a person behaves in their banking space, even though it may effect my fees, if I'm their friend or their fan, then I feel it would be very self centered of me to imply that I'm only his friend because he falls in line with my investment agenda.

So yeah, agree to disagree, no offense.

Yeah it sounds like we will have to agree to disagree. I don't think it's what you think it is either.

It's actually in everyone's best interest to make the platform attractive to both users and investors because one cannot survive without the other. Just food for thought.

Well, I'm not sure where you presume I stand. But you're right, I don't have everyone's best interest at heart. My heart is just not that big.

Further, we cannot make "this" platform anything. Steemit.com is just one browsing interface to the entire blockchain, and Steemit Inc has decided what it is going to do already with condenser, and thus what the results will be.

In addition, post-SMT, there will be THOUSANDS of new coins and dapps and users absolutely flooding this blockchain with all types of uncensored content.

None of the proposed changes involve the dynamics that folks have claimed are unfavorable to everyone, which means specifically them. So competition for the reward pool, capitalism, free market contracts, bots, self-voting, vote-selling, and more will all continue well through HF20 — except it will be 1000 daps and 10 Million users.

And my entire point is, that I'm a fan of @acidyo's content. I'm not a fan because of how his choices effect the Steem in my wallet. So if he wants to make a bot, I'm going to use it.

I feel smaller accounts (redfish, minnows, dolphin) are wisest to use this present pre-fork opportunity to power up as quickly as possible.

You are right. I only want to point out that self interest activity is not sustainable if everyone does it. That's what makes this all painfully.... Hum. I don't have a word for it.

But I don't think that's a reason to simply give up on calling out the behavior. Being silent is worse than being predictably against certain behavior.

And also I am holding my breath here a bit because I don't know the details of this new fangled bid bot. I imagine it's an inch better than the status quo though.

Whatever you wrote here is definitely a candid statement. Your following statement is a pragmatic approach towards a problem.

I don't believe you're selling out. It's adaptation and totally natural. Maybe that makes me an unpopular person sometimes, but I've learned through experience that if you're forced to play a game you didn't sign up for; you're best option is to win it

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63314.98
ETH 3233.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88