First Round of Disc Golf is in the Books. Finally feels like Summer!

in #discgolf6 years ago (edited)

Never heard of Disc Golf? It's like normal golf, but instead of using clubs to hit a ball into a hole, you use discs that you try and throw into a chained basket. Other advantages to Disc Golf over regular golf are many, price being the big one. Try golfing an 18 hole course with a cart and paying less than 50 bucks, it's damn near impossible. Disc Golf is usually FREE! Sure, some really nice courses ask for 5 bucks or something like that, but I play on a course a few miles from my house for free all the time.

IMG_2035.jpg

If you're not enjoying a cold breswki off the first tee box, you're doing it wrong.

Another advantage to Disc Golf is the price to start enjoying playing. In real golf, a decent set of clubs will set you back hundreds, if not over a thousand dollars. Not to mention having to buy golf shoes, golf gloves, balls, repair tools, fancy clothes so you don't look like an outcast, the list goes on.

IMG_2036.jpg

In Disc Golf, all you really need is a disc. Now it definitely helps to have more than one disc, because they differ in weight and design. Some are meant for short range putting, while others may be for long straight drives or be made to bend left or right. I've worn sandals, shorts, and no shirt before, so the dress code of Disc Golf vs. real golf isn't really comparable. You're not going to find a range master giving you grief for looking like a bum. It's awesome, comfortable, and almost zen like.

For this being my first round of the year, I was expecting to be a little rusty...and I was. I actually had a few really nice throws, but with them came some absolutely terrible throws, where as if I had been playing real golf, my expensive clubs would have been thrown in the pond Happy Gilmore style.

My throw of the day came on hole #4. It's a fairly short hole, straight ahead, but very narrow with trees heavily covering both the left and right sides. Any throw that doesn't stay straight is going to be in trouble.

IMG_2037.jpg

Hole #4

Being a righty, my throws tend to fade left when I throw them. The opposite of my golf swing, where I tend to slice the ball. So I usually use one particular disc on this hole that is designed to slice right, to compensate for my fade. It worked out the best it ever has.

IMG_2038.jpg

Hole #4 zoomed in

The disc started straight as an arrow, a little off kilter to the right and then hooked back left at the last second to set me up for an easy birdie. The sun was shining, birds were chirping, people were outside eating on their lunch breaks, and here was me, a solo cat sippin' on a PBR getting my first birdie of the year on my first round out. Life is good.

IMG_2039.jpg

Have you ever tried (or even heard of) Disc Golf?

Sort:  

Sounds like a great time! I ( @ericwilson ) created this account to help bring disc golfers together here on steemit! I upvoted and resteemed and am going to give you a follow, follow back for disc golf content!

I played Flip City leagues (Shelby Michigan) last night and here is a picture of my son throwing this past weekend!

20180512_184033.jpg

Yeahhhh buddyyy!! I'm in! Seems like the nice weather never lasts long enough to get enough discn'n in.

You got a lefty on your hands, eh? My left arm is about as useless as no arm at all.

Yup! He actually can throw with both equally well :) we just started working on his sidearm and he is gettin it!!

He is the third generation of lefties.... Him, my dad and myself are all lefties. We are a proud people.

Him, my dad and myself are all lefties. We are a proud people.

Apparently smarter too, I hear ;)

Love the disc golf post. I just posted one of my own, I didn't even look to see if there was many people looking at disc golf yet. Love the pictures and narrative!

Thanks man, went and checked out your post. Nice work and welcome to Steemit! Gave you a follow and hope you stick around for a while. If you have any questions, don't hesitate to reach out, lots of info to take in when you first start off and it can be somewhat intimidating.

Haven’t thrown my discs for quite some time. Might just half too put that in the schedule.

Oh yeah, you gotta! It's fast and easy to get a round in solo. I'm can usually do my home course in 30 minutes or less if I'm not throwing multiple discs for practice.

We have 2 nice courses here in Spearfish.

If google serves me right, that's in SD?

Awesome! I love disc golf. You covered a lot of the great things about it. I like to hear you describe it as zen, and to me it definitely should be a meditative thing. Flushing the bad shots outs out and focusing on getting back into the moment. One of my favorite feelings is that feeling when you are putting and you know it is going to go in before you putt. And you just let your body do what it knows how to do and putt it perfectly in. Then something gets off kilter and you start thinking about it and all of a sudden you can't buy a putt LOL

I play mostly the courses around Eugene, OR but try to get a game in wherever I am at if there is a course nearby. I always travel with at least a putter, midrange and driver.

Cheers - Carl

Cheers Carl!

One of my favorite feelings is that feeling when you are putting and you know it is going to go in before you putt. And you just let your body do what it knows how to do and putt it perfectly in.

I know exactly what you're talking about. The absolute best is when your whole round goes like that. You feel like Jordan, can't miss.

Then something gets off kilter and you start thinking about it and all of a sudden you can't buy a putt LOL

And then this happens!!! At least in DG, I don't feel so bad after a terrible round because I didn't have to spend 50 bucks. I got to be outside, get some exercise, really listen to myself think, analyze life, enjoy nature, and huck some disc! Win win!

I've never been to Oregon, but I have a buddy whose parents moved to Bend. The pictures I see from there are majestic. I can imagine the courses you play are beautiful. Also, some damn good beer comes outta there too.

thank you for the great disc golf pics! :)

You're welcome!

thank you for the great disc golf pics! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63960.62
ETH 3142.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95