DIY Greenhouse upgrade - No more pots in the greenhouse

in #diy5 years ago

IMG_20190522_220834.jpg

Previous summer we had our greenhouse filled with plants in pots. However the plants were somewhat difficult to maintain, as the plants would have needed larger pots (which are expensive) and the hot summer days caused the plants to drink up all their water really fast.

To make our life easier, we decided to replace the pots with a large "plant box" in the greenhouse. 40cm high and as large as possible in the greenhouse without needing to compromise with the ease of working in the tiny greenhouse of ours.

We used impregnated wood so it won't rot. If you'll build one of these, I'm recommending you do the same.

IMG_20190516_202054.jpg

We don't have a trailer so I had to pick a hardware store they cut the wood to requested length. However they're charging for every cut they make, so I didn't have them cut to the final length, as it would have increased the total cost too much.

But as seen above, they were cut in just the perfect length. We're driving a Toyota Auris so it's not a big car.

IMG_20190519_192607.jpg

The boring part skipped. Unless you like to watch timber being sawed and screwed. Then I'm sorry I skipped that part.

Very very sorry.

I built every side on it's own, so I cuild carry them inside the greenhouse and assemble everything there. The vertical supports are not only to support the structure, but I'm using them to attach the pieces together in the assembly.

Just a small mistake in the vertical supports, as some parts would have needed them to be in the extreme end. But more about that in the end.

IMG_20190519_192554.jpg

IMG_20190522_215644.jpg

And the box is finished! I was going to take photos of it when I was setting it up, but I had a slight measurement error and I had to cut 1 cm of all of these to make them to fit. In addition to that, I had to move some of the vertical supports. Without thinking everything through I attached all the vertical supports with a small gap to the edge, even though half of them should have been in the extreme end. Now as I was going to attach the pieces together, there was a large gap between the support pieces.

It a very warm day (for a Finnish person) and I was not in the best mood, so we're without the photos. However I can offer you some Finnish swearwords I was using:
"Vittusaatanaperkele"
"Saatanan paskakasa"
"Helvetin helvetti"

IMG_20190522_215651.jpg

IMG_20190522_220834.jpg

However everything turned out very well.
The greenhouse is now the chosen one.

IMG_20190601_204818.jpg

You can imagine how much soil we needed for the box. We borrowed a trailer from a relative to get some soil in the trailer as otherwise it would have been a serious pain in the ass. Even with the trailer it was a pain in the ass. Everything is a pain.

Lucky for us, it'll be winter again in a while.

IMG_20190601_204820.jpg

We planted mostly chili and tomatoes to the greenhouse. I'll hopefully get better photos as they'll start to grow, but so far I'm happy with the box finished.

Sort:  

Satan's pasta, how could you think that people wouldn't want to see you rip and violate the wood?

What do you want my wood to violate, eh?

Um...you got that backwards.

Oh so you want my wood "backwards". I don't blame you, it's not wrong.

No. You're backward.

We can take turns?

No. You are responsible for yourself.

Everyone is responsible for their own orgasms. I understand your way of life.

I didn't know that breads work this hard. How is your Finnish never lazy ass feeling? Send me some tomatoes when they grow up :D

I've been trying my best to be lazy, but I'm assuming it's because of my destiny to grow into a middle aged dad. The prophecy has foretold that also I will be a overweight, balding man who is constantly building stuff by himself and bringing shame to his child.

I'll send you photos :) Or I'll send them to Steem. Maybe I'll do both.

Lol! The overweight balding man has me weak!

Wait. I didn't say photos you @##$%$$^^%¥₩×/= bread! The real things. Not salivating shit... I want to make a salad with Finnish tomatoes!

Well you have clearly misunderstood. The correct way to use the photos is to print them out and taste them.

If you have the FlavorPrinter from HP, they taste like tomatoes. Can work with regular printers too ;)

SMGDH! I give up 😩

Posted using Partiko Android

Wow! Very nice! Thanks for the idea.
I have a long tunnel greenhouse, which is 8m x 2m, and I have 3 raised bed on each side, but other than that, the back end is full of pots. I have this long hose with holes in it that works as an irrigation system. It works perfect on the raised beds, but it is so hard to set it up in the containers... This would be the perfect solution. I'll know what to do next winter :0)

I really recommend this, with careful planning it's an easy job to do! Too bad I didn't plan everything perfectly from the start, but it's a minor incident now as it's finished. I truly recommend doing this, even though the downside is that you'll end up with pots you no longer need :)

the downside is that you'll end up with pots you no longer need

😂 I'm sure I'll be able to fill them with things I can grow outside :0)

You got a 3.03% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @tezmel! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 40 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64455.55
ETH 3147.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94