You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: This is a micro hydro electric turbine array that I have been experimenting with.

in #diy6 years ago

Yeah pretty awesome! Looks like ypu could hook that up just about anywhere, even on rain catchment systems? Or in between the main and the rest of the house!

Sort:  

I would think that either is possible. You need enough PSI from the rain catchment system to get decent power off it. As for the main I don't see why not as long as the PSI is not too high that it damages the device. All the specifications are included in the article so you can use that as a reference for the water pressure requirements. I just added the Mpa to PSI conversions to it for you. :)

Thanks, I guess I didn't think about too much pressure could damage the devices!

Out here where we are, we still have to figure out our water system for this winter... not sure we can collect rain water in the dead of winter!

Thanks

I have collected rain water during the dead of winter. Sometimes it freezes and sometimes it does not. You could attempt to either insulate your holding tanks or bury them in the ground. Not sure how you have everything setup but as the saying goes 'where there is a will...there is a way'.

Haha, yes thank you. For sure 'where there is a will...there is a way'. I will try to remember this saying.

I'm sure I will try to collect in winter too.... we are getting close to having the money for a well. Fingers crossed!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63280.44
ETH 3253.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89