You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why lack of sleep can lead to weight gain

in #dlive6 years ago

Very thorough article. I have been aware of this propensity to gain weight sleep deprived for awhile now. Other hormones are also affected by lack of sleep. Both growth hormone and testosterone are released in larger amounts when sleeping and both tend to support muscle mass and help to burn fat.

Unfortunately I have been sleep deprived for quite awhile now and I likely will have to live with it for another year or so before I will be able to get some more balance in my life.

Sort:  

Sorry to hear about your lack of sleep. The author of the book Why we sleep recommends 'biphasic' sleep - in other words, taking a nap during the day. That might be a way to catch up on sleep if you can find the time for it. Otherwise you might end up totally burnt out, as I did after five years of running my business!

Once in awhile I can catch a short nap during the day. Yeah, hoping I don't get too burned out.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 57405.63
ETH 2867.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.54