Money Saving Hack // How to Get Houseplants for Free

in #dlive6 years ago

Thumbnail

Hi Friends!

I usually don't plan ahead on my content very often because I love to just feel the vibe of the day and see where inspiration leads. Sometimes I'm more in the mood for music, sometimes I feel like I have a lot to share and would rather vlog. My favorite is when a random event or conversations can spark inspiration for content.

I was chatting with @jimmylin in discord earlier today and somehow the topic of house plants came up. It made me realize that it's been a while since I did a money saving hack - and this is a really easy one to implement.

I am quite literally a crazy plant lady and my apartment can sometimes resemble that of a jungle. This can obviously get quite expensive and so I've "hacked" my way into filling my home with free plants.

plant lady.jpg

In this video... I share my top four tips for how to source free house plants. I hope you find it helpful and that maybe it inspires some of you to give this a try. (Especially if you have the desire to be a crazy plant lady, like me)

I love making these money saving hack videos because I think there are so many areas of life that we just spend money without really thinking about it. We live in such a consumerist society, that it's easy to get caught up in it, without realizing that there is another way to think about things.

I'd love to hear if any of you use these tactics - or if maybe some of you will give it a try after watching this video! As always, I'd love to hear from you in the comments. <3

XO, Lea

21D684CB-CA72-4207-9485-43D5D4994863.gif

My video is at DLive

Sort:  

I thought this might have had something to do with our conversation today based on the title, the timing was suspect... haha. Nice hacks!

Thanks for the inspiration for this post and for SBD to go get a plant... hahah you are so awesome!! Made my night!!!

We got some new trees from the Pépinière, but we're getting a Hibiscus and some moon flowers from my mom. Free flowers :) All for the outside garden. And we'll be getting some herbs too.

oooh hibiscus sounds lovely! Awesome that you have been able to get some free plants from your mom! There are so many opportunities if one just looks for them.

I just think as a society, we are so used to going out and buying something when we want it. I love the idea of supporting each other through community instead, where people can share with each other when they have abundance. :)

Yup. When my mom goes jogging and she sees flowers she likes, she knocks on the person's door and asks if she can take some of that plant. Once she took some flowers from the city, at 4 in the morning, with her knife and her and her little digging shovel. We make jokes about it.

Somtimes we learn alot of thing by doing different things like you mentioned planting little little plants around our apartments because by doing such things we get to know the nature very effectively and also we get alot of inspiration related to our life..
It not only to earn money sometimes we need nature to get incooperate in our life to make it wonderful..
Thanks for such a wonderful post..

I am very impressed from your post
I appreciate your post

Hi! This is jlk.news intelligent bot. I just upvoted your post based on my criteria for quality. Keep on writing nice posts on Steemit and follow me @jlkreiss to get premium world news updates round the clock! If you like, just upvote my comment! 🦄🦄🦄

So if we don't like it should we flag it?

We don't have that many houseplants because... well, we have cats. And they like nibbling on the greenery.

But love growing stuff, and "free plants!" And it's amazing what you can grow from clippings with a little rooting hormone and some pots. We've even grown a couple of rose bushes from a bouquet of roses!

I love houseplants. But I would kinda be afraid to ask, say, my family members for plants as gifts because they wouldn't bother to figure out what was safe around cats. Not all of mine are officially cat-friendly, but they live out of reach hanging from the ceiling or some such in that case (and lilies are absolutely forbidden). The one exception is my dragon trees which are enormous. But as long as I grow cat grass, Yuan leaves the Dragon tees alone, and Maggie doesn't eat plants at all, even the grass. My kitty who passed a few years ago used to pee in big plant pots, and I learned (after more than one plant death) the trick to keep cats out that way: half bury knicknacks and happy meal toys in the dirt so it's not nice to walk on or dig in. Totally works! 😸

My favourite trick is to "borrow" the plants I like from my neighbours gardens. JOKING! Or am I?

Lol, do actually people buy plants? my mother always asks her friends and my aunts to give her a... how is it called? the tiny little plant that's growing up next to the actual plant (I don't know the word in English but in Spanish it's "Hijos de la planta").

I remember as a child I went to a field with my family and I found a brown seed in the middle of nowhere, and I planted it in a jar of marmalade, it was growing up and according to my grandmother it was a very big and rare tree. Unfortunately a rat ate it :(

I cried a lot, lol.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63900.40
ETH 3140.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98