Grow Food Not Lawns Canada ~ August 2018

in #dlive6 years ago (edited)

Thumbnail

(Video 8:59)

See what we have growing in our front lawn garden this year!

My video is at DLive

Sort:  

Love your garden/lawn Lyndsay! If it is any consolation, my sunflowers aren't as big as they normally grow either and my second crop of maters aren't red yet either. I had to buy tomatoes at the market because my poor plants can't keep up with the demand for fresh salsa. I noticed you have habaneros. I use them in the salsa and make a hot sauce with mine. What do you do with yours? I am always on the lookout for new recipes...

Mmmm I'd love to have a peek at your hot sauce recipe! We put ours in salsa as well as pickle with them to make spicy beans!

I'm glad to know I have a mini sunflower partner :) Thanks for the awesome comment as always Ceci!

Hi Lindsay, Absolutely glad to see growing gardens early morning here. Beauty sunflowers, growing up vegetable plants indeed tomatoes superior. Recently you'll take big harvest from it. Best weather condition for plantation. Finally glad to see #chickenbitches after long time.

YAY I'm so happy you watched the video and were able to hear my shout out to you @madushanka! I hope I pronounced your name right. I'm glad you saw your #chickenbitchez!! yesss!!

Right...

WOW, dear!

so nice to visit this garden with you!
just like having a walk together;)
so huge territory! I cant imaginwe how much time it requires to take care of it..but the harvest is always our prize;)
we've cabbages too now!;)) yours are greener, deep green, and we've light green ones, another sort of them maybe;)

flowers are so nice! and this bee on one of them looks great, it was waiting for you for sure;))

and yes, food is much better than lawn;)
you mea many people don't use ground for growing something eatable and just grow grass and flowers there?

Here in Canada most people have grass and they buy flowers from the stores to transplant into their gardens. People are obsessed with looking 'rich'. Like the royal gardens. They all want their land to look like that. Even though people here are so in debt and food prices are so high, we could solve many problems if we each grew a small garden and kept a couple animals.

I'm glad to hear you grow Natalia, I look forward to one of your garden posts!

My dad grows a bunch of food in all his flower beds too. The veggies growing look nice in a yard. Plus some of the people who really need food can grab a squash from the front yard every once in a while.

That is absolutely beautiful, your Dad is part of the #foodisfree movement and he doesn't even know it <3 <3 <3 @foodisfree!!!

Woah I'll tell him! 😃

It looks like you've had a mix bag like I've had.

I moved my garden this year and a made a smaller version of my veg garden but it's fenced in as we have A LOT of rabbits. I was so proud of my corn, getting litle ears forming, and the other day I say an odd pile of dirt and sand by one of the beds adn then saw my corn and by row of brussels sprouts I was SO pround of eat to the ground! The stupid things. Since we've lost Puss, we have no means to keep our rabbit population down.

Noooooooooooo :'( :'( I'm so sorry to hear that dear Puss is still gone, wtf!! :'( Fuggin rabbits too, just loving life the a$$holes!!

Your garden is sooo big!

I'm sorry for those potatoes! We've been planting them for over 30 years and you never know how they come out. But well, we always have some as we plant on huge fields (let's say 20 rows and each of them is 100 meters long - my uncle has animals to feed too :) )

How will you use the poppy seed? We mostly put it in cakes (when we used to grow it)

Oh, I love dill! It looks like a dill heaven to me! :D

What are these while flowers again? I couldn't understand the name, sorry :)

Oooh wow, I dream of having that much land to grow one day, that is so wonderful @delishtreats, I want a tour! <3 <3

Poppy seed, yes, for cakes and muffins!

The white flowers are Queen Anne's Lace :) Otherwise known as "Wild Carrot" :)

Thank you so much for visiting me xo!

We'll be in Slovakia in a couple of weeks and I'll try to make a video :)

I'm gonna check out this Wild carrot as it sounds very interesting to me :)

Thank you for getting back to me! :)

Make sure to tag us on Instagram and Twitter at @OfficialDLive when you go live or upload a video!

I definitely will next time, thanks for letting me know @cheaky!

Ughh. I'm so jealous! Gorgeous!! 😍

Aw, I'm glad you like what's going on @khackett!

Hi there, I like your chickens.

Thank you Angel @palikari123 O:) xo

Lovely video and great effort

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63877.55
ETH 3143.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97