You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Should you be uploading to both DLive and DTube? Why and why not?

in #dlive6 years ago

I have only used dtube once or twice, but never dlive. Wanted to give it a try but I thought it was only for livestreams.
Which is easier to use when it comes to uploading?

I also feel dlive became more popular recently

When we use both it might look better if we put both links in only one post.

Somehow I don’t really like it to see double posting of dtube and YouTube videos in my newsfeed. I don’t see it as spamming, but some users do it all the time and it just messes up my news feed. If you only post once in a while maybe there wouldn’t be anything wrong if you put it on both platforms. But why?

I can se the reason for YouTube since it’s a different audience, but dtube and dlive have the same users. At least so far.

Sort:  
  • @dlive does allow uploading videos in their native resolution, can compress down to 480p.
  • I've found that @dlive is faster for uploading videos and the quality somehow seems better every time!
  • @dlive is becoming popular but is it for its streaming capabilities or for uploading videos?
  • It's impossible to put links in one post as when you create a video and upload it to @dtube or @dlive - they will both create a post on steemit.com
  • now that's the real issue - the fact that everything appears on your main steemit.com timeline which makes it look horrible with double posts and could alienate your audience. We have to think for others - and that's where I see how steemit is limiting us in a way. There are always do's and don'ts anddouble posting is certainly a no no.
  • why post to both platforms? The reach on @dtube is way higher. @dlive is still relatively small and I know some people are only browsing @dtube exclusively daily. Plus like I explained in the video - you have a better chance of getting curated by both dlive and dtube - see how this post got upvoted by @dlive? Yeah, what if I'd only posted it to @dtube? I'd do it daily (posting to both platforms) just like you have the freedom to do so on twitter, facebook, youtube and no one's going to complain there. But because steemit.com is so unique and centralized (by that I mean everything you do through other apps ends up on your main steemit blogroll, spamming your followers' timelines as a result) - we have to think about other people, because what we do on our blog - affects others.
  • I don't think dlive and dtube are the same users. Look at @teamsteem for example, he posts exclusively to dlive and I wonder why sometimes.
  • Last but just as important - start posting some Japan video battle of the cities series to either of the platforms! ;)

To conclude - pick a platform and stick with it - OR - stream to @dlive *(it's original intended use) and upload pre-recorded videos to @dtube...

oh and one more thing I wanted to add: I have uploaded some videos to dtube before but all of them disappear after a while! Dlive still has my first stream and video available for people to watch!

I heard about the disappearing videos on Dtube. shouldnt be like this though.

Was thinking about a video battle. But I haven't really been in video making, so it will take quite some time to create a nice concept and to make the movie itself. Shouldn't be only two pictures, I guess at least like a few minutes of material

@maxinpower Under one minute even, I can see it 👍

Has reliability on DTube gotten better? Video uploads took way too much time and failed far too often the last time I used it (it's been a few months). Is DLive better in this regard? How about in regards to video retention? I've been using Daily Motion as an alternative to Youtube and have been pretty happy with it so far. I tried DTube for a while but it just sucked too much of my time trying to get it to work reliably. I have yet to try DLive.

Has reliability on DTube gotten better? Video uploads took way too much time and failed far too often the last time I used it (it's been a few months). Is DLive better in this regard?

That's what I was saying, it's still the same with dtube but dlive improved greatly over time and seems to be more stable. Faster upload and playback. Facts :D
In regards to video retention, @dlive hasn't lost any of my videos yet, but my vidoes from a few weeks ago are nowhere to be found on dtube. Everytime i give it a break and come back to dtube - I end up looking at an empty page of my profile saying something like "THIS USER HASN'T UPLOADED ANY VIDEOS YET!". Bizarre

Dtube was never supposed to keep videos forever but they were originally supposed to be retained for a few years as I recall.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62971.67
ETH 3050.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.96