Sort:  

I have only used dtube once or twice, but never dlive. Wanted to give it a try but I thought it was only for livestreams.
Which is easier to use when it comes to uploading?

I also feel dlive became more popular recently

When we use both it might look better if we put both links in only one post.

Somehow I don’t really like it to see double posting of dtube and YouTube videos in my newsfeed. I don’t see it as spamming, but some users do it all the time and it just messes up my news feed. If you only post once in a while maybe there wouldn’t be anything wrong if you put it on both platforms. But why?

I can se the reason for YouTube since it’s a different audience, but dtube and dlive have the same users. At least so far.

  • @dlive does allow uploading videos in their native resolution, can compress down to 480p.
  • I've found that @dlive is faster for uploading videos and the quality somehow seems better every time!
  • @dlive is becoming popular but is it for its streaming capabilities or for uploading videos?
  • It's impossible to put links in one post as when you create a video and upload it to @dtube or @dlive - they will both create a post on steemit.com
  • now that's the real issue - the fact that everything appears on your main steemit.com timeline which makes it look horrible with double posts and could alienate your audience. We have to think for others - and that's where I see how steemit is limiting us in a way. There are always do's and don'ts anddouble posting is certainly a no no.
  • why post to both platforms? The reach on @dtube is way higher. @dlive is still relatively small and I know some people are only browsing @dtube exclusively daily. Plus like I explained in the video - you have a better chance of getting curated by both dlive and dtube - see how this post got upvoted by @dlive? Yeah, what if I'd only posted it to @dtube? I'd do it daily (posting to both platforms) just like you have the freedom to do so on twitter, facebook, youtube and no one's going to complain there. But because steemit.com is so unique and centralized (by that I mean everything you do through other apps ends up on your main steemit blogroll, spamming your followers' timelines as a result) - we have to think about other people, because what we do on our blog - affects others.
  • I don't think dlive and dtube are the same users. Look at @teamsteem for example, he posts exclusively to dlive and I wonder why sometimes.
  • Last but just as important - start posting some Japan video battle of the cities series to either of the platforms! ;)

To conclude - pick a platform and stick with it - OR - stream to @dlive *(it's original intended use) and upload pre-recorded videos to @dtube...

oh and one more thing I wanted to add: I have uploaded some videos to dtube before but all of them disappear after a while! Dlive still has my first stream and video available for people to watch!

I heard about the disappearing videos on Dtube. shouldnt be like this though.

Was thinking about a video battle. But I haven't really been in video making, so it will take quite some time to create a nice concept and to make the movie itself. Shouldn't be only two pictures, I guess at least like a few minutes of material

@maxinpower Under one minute even, I can see it 👍

Has reliability on DTube gotten better? Video uploads took way too much time and failed far too often the last time I used it (it's been a few months). Is DLive better in this regard? How about in regards to video retention? I've been using Daily Motion as an alternative to Youtube and have been pretty happy with it so far. I tried DTube for a while but it just sucked too much of my time trying to get it to work reliably. I have yet to try DLive.

Has reliability on DTube gotten better? Video uploads took way too much time and failed far too often the last time I used it (it's been a few months). Is DLive better in this regard?

That's what I was saying, it's still the same with dtube but dlive improved greatly over time and seems to be more stable. Faster upload and playback. Facts :D
In regards to video retention, @dlive hasn't lost any of my videos yet, but my vidoes from a few weeks ago are nowhere to be found on dtube. Everytime i give it a break and come back to dtube - I end up looking at an empty page of my profile saying something like "THIS USER HASN'T UPLOADED ANY VIDEOS YET!". Bizarre

Dtube was never supposed to keep videos forever but they were originally supposed to be retained for a few years as I recall.

I watch both. I tried to upload a video to dtube but was unable for some reason. But as to your question, I’m on the fence. DTube and DLive are both ways to access the Steem blockchain and when you upload a cideo to either it appears on your steemit or busy portal. This leads me to believe hat it is overkill. But on the other hand, there may be people that only use one or the other so posting on both would be a prudent move to reach more people. You might have better luckk taking into consideration the spirit of each platform; DTube is intended for prerecorded videos and DLive is intended for live streaming. So maybe the answer is to create videos for DTube and then have live chats or Q&As on DLive with followers but make sure to cross market as well. That way you are providing unique content for each that will also help expand your followers’ use of the blockchain and also not have duplicate posts show up for your steemit and busy followers. Just some thoughts for @kaliju, thanks for the post!

You know what man, this made so much sense. You just confirmed the feeling I had about doing it this way. I guess this settles it for me and from this point forward I will use them both as intended. But one issue remains: dtube wiped out all of my previous videos (possibly something to do with upgrades, but that's not my problem) whereas dlive still has my first video available for viewing after all this time. Hmmm, stability matters and if both will eventually have something like playlists I'd definitely choose @dlive as i know that my videos are safe there and will not vanish like it's been the case with @dtube.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts with me!

I find that I like the layout of DLive better. I find it easier to navigate and browse and the layout of DTube to be a little odd. I notice the shortcomings of DTube more than DLive. Is it possible to export your old videos to DTube from DLive? Your videos are still on the blockchain somewhere, just a case of finding them! I have a friend that has had issues with DTube in the past as well. I would like to think that the platform will only improve with time!

We all hope it does improve :D Just yesterday I was having issues with it, so went to Dlive and didn't face any problems. They're both working hard to improve their platforms but dlive seems to be more stable at this point in time...
It's possible to extract your videos, one can go to dlive discord and they can help you get the link out! Another thing is, @dlive's support is top notch and 24/7 with instant answers to your questions!

Maybe at this stage in the game it would be better to put intent aside until the platforms are on equal footing and just release content on DLive. If it is the better more stable program at the momment, then I would not blame you for going with the less hassle option. You put out good stuff and people appreciate it!

i thought kaliju was a south american name or something like that.
but it's more like kali 주!

if you ask me, i wouldn't upload the same video twice in a row. i never browse exclusivly on dtube either. or dlive or dsound.

personally i consider steemit to be the center page for all my stuff. if something gets automatically shared on steemit.com i don't bother creating another separate post, even tho i don't think anybody's gonna give you shit for trying to post on as many platforms as you can.

and i'll be posting on #guiltfreesteemit soon. can't wait!

I like to keep it clean my self and this is the first time I tried experimenting with something like that :D I think i like @zainenn's approach best

I will share the same answer ha ha. 🙂

I have really simple answer for this, in my opinion there are many people who are just video content creators, so if you upload your video to Dtube then that will include all video content creators, and if you upload it to Dlive then you can cover all streamers too and if you upload on YouTube and then if you share that video through Steemit then it will cover everyone else so it's not an bad choice to upload all three platforms to cover all type of audiences. Keep up brother. Wishing you an great day. Stay blessed. 🙂

@chireerocks I see what you did there 😎 That's a clever comment and gave me a perfect exaple how it feels when you see the same thing twice in two different places 🙏 You're a true zen teacher.

One post with the video should be enough. Personally i think embedding a youtube video works fine.

I don't there is anything wrong with it but I also don't think there is any particular reason to spam a video three times. Pick DLive or DTube, whichever seems to work best for you. You can certainly upload it to other services as well but why post the links again on steemit if you have already posted via DLive or DTube?

This is what I was thinking...but @zainenn may have found a perfect approach to this in his video response here: https://steemit.com/dtube/@zainenn/9y2wmvpt

I never uploaded a video before but thinking about doing it in the future. As I did a little research it looks like DTube is the more popular variant of them but DLive, like @jznsamuel already wrote, offers a curation reward split.

Thanks for your comment, but that's not what the question is all about, we're not talking about which on is better...We are trying to figure out if uploading to both is an acceptable thing to do?

Ah k sry for that misunderstood it at first (#guiltfreesteemit 😂).

As I said by now I never used either of them and to be honest I also do not know if there are people out their only using dlive or dtube and not use steemit at all. Since Steemit is the "main network" I'm pretty sure there are just a few that only use either dtube or dlive since the "natural" way, I saw with friends and me, is first steemit and then finding out about dlive dtube and all the others.

Now let's talk about acceptability: In general I would say yes sure why not. You are creating good content and of course you wanna give it the best exposure by uploading it on both (and youtube too but yeah let's not talk about youtube). The only real negative point I see is how this can look on your steemit profile. It just looks weird when the same content shows up in your blog at the same time twice.

So my conclusion would be YES it is acceptable, since there is only one real negative point and for that you can just write for transparency reasons that the given video was uploaded on both under the video.

@elleok 👍 I really like this, I hope the majority can agree to it (uploading to both platforms, nothing wrong with a little backup here and there 😂)

i've not used either, but i do hear people liking dlive more.. maybe because of the curation reward split or something! you seem to have become d-expert though :D

But ethically speaking, do you think uploading to both is an okay thing to do? I'm pretty sure the answer is that it's not a good idea, but I was curious what other people thought.
Also, what is that curation reward split thing?

i think the platforms don't have any restrictions and don't mind, so it is alright! the last i know, dtube takes 25% of your author rewards as beneficiary. in dlive it is 0%

Free Resteem For Steem-Bounty Users

  • Your Post Got Upvote
  • Your Post Resteemed To 800+ Followers
    How it Work You can Check Here

Untitled-2.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63688.35
ETH 3125.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97