You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Should you be uploading to both DLive and DTube? Why and why not?

in #dlive6 years ago (edited)

I watch both. I tried to upload a video to dtube but was unable for some reason. But as to your question, I’m on the fence. DTube and DLive are both ways to access the Steem blockchain and when you upload a cideo to either it appears on your steemit or busy portal. This leads me to believe hat it is overkill. But on the other hand, there may be people that only use one or the other so posting on both would be a prudent move to reach more people. You might have better luckk taking into consideration the spirit of each platform; DTube is intended for prerecorded videos and DLive is intended for live streaming. So maybe the answer is to create videos for DTube and then have live chats or Q&As on DLive with followers but make sure to cross market as well. That way you are providing unique content for each that will also help expand your followers’ use of the blockchain and also not have duplicate posts show up for your steemit and busy followers. Just some thoughts for @kaliju, thanks for the post!

Sort:  

You know what man, this made so much sense. You just confirmed the feeling I had about doing it this way. I guess this settles it for me and from this point forward I will use them both as intended. But one issue remains: dtube wiped out all of my previous videos (possibly something to do with upgrades, but that's not my problem) whereas dlive still has my first video available for viewing after all this time. Hmmm, stability matters and if both will eventually have something like playlists I'd definitely choose @dlive as i know that my videos are safe there and will not vanish like it's been the case with @dtube.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts with me!

I find that I like the layout of DLive better. I find it easier to navigate and browse and the layout of DTube to be a little odd. I notice the shortcomings of DTube more than DLive. Is it possible to export your old videos to DTube from DLive? Your videos are still on the blockchain somewhere, just a case of finding them! I have a friend that has had issues with DTube in the past as well. I would like to think that the platform will only improve with time!

We all hope it does improve :D Just yesterday I was having issues with it, so went to Dlive and didn't face any problems. They're both working hard to improve their platforms but dlive seems to be more stable at this point in time...
It's possible to extract your videos, one can go to dlive discord and they can help you get the link out! Another thing is, @dlive's support is top notch and 24/7 with instant answers to your questions!

Maybe at this stage in the game it would be better to put intent aside until the platforms are on equal footing and just release content on DLive. If it is the better more stable program at the momment, then I would not blame you for going with the less hassle option. You put out good stuff and people appreciate it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 64117.78
ETH 3112.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.23