You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Free Crypto For Small Task Done On Steemit (!)

in #dogecoin6 years ago

I looked into Dogecoin and like the sound of it. I've never dealt with cryptocurrency but okay, have to start somewhere. (I don't count Steem since I don't know how to buy it.) I downloaded the Dogecoin wallet from Dogecoin.com but I don't see an address so I'm missing a step somewhere. (?) Sorry to ask such a noob question.

Sort:  

I never used Dogecoin.com before. I use https://block.io/

It's a web based wallet ( No download needed ) Once signed up you will have three wallets.
Bitcoin / Dogecoin / Litecoin

Click on Dogecoin and you will see a long code that looks like the below :
A9GjrKcnkh2wd4W2TwN9omqbVX6Za58ELV

Each wallet has a different address. If you mistakenly send the wrong address, your coins will be lost.

That was so easy to do - and a much better feel to it than the one I got. Thank you!
Next question will be how do I send you that code privately - but first, on to the contest!

No need to send privately. Someone isn't going to be able to get into your account with your wallet address. You sign in with your email / password in which you created when signing up to block.io

And as an added security ( if someone manages to find out your email used and password ) they won't be able to send or remove any of your Dogecoin unless they know your 8 digit secret pin.

Make sure you have your Pin number copied and don't lose it because if you do ..... you won't be able to remove your coins from the wallet. The secret pin needs to be entered with each outgoing transaction.

Wow, that's good to know. Thank you for explaining it so I can understand it!
Like I said, I'm so totally new at this.
If I may ask, now can I buy Dogecoin through block.io or is that a whole different thing?

No Problem, I am somewhat new to crypto myself. You can't buy directly from block.io. You would need to purchase from a private seller ( risky ) or buy from an exchange and then send to your block.io wallet for safe keepings.

I have now spent several hours researching exchanges and I have a bit more grasp of the basics. Blocktrades I can access through my wallet, so that's nice, but I don't have any to trade, I'd need to buy some. With a debit card for preference. With that, is that the sort of buying you do? Could I ask which one you use?

I have only bought crypto using my own funds twice and with a prepaid card through Coinbase. Which is one of the more trusted exchanges. They have only 4 different currencies. Bitcoin / Bitcoin Cash / Ethereum / Litecoin. I believe they have stopped accepting Pre Paid cards. They limit the amount you can buy at first ( $200 ) and also may put other restrictions on your account when doing your first transaction.

Once I purchased some crypto from Coinbase I then transfer them to an exchange called binance.com which has tons of different coins listed and is one of the bigger exchanges where I can trade the currency bought at coinbase for other currencies.

If you are buying one crypto for the sole purpose of using it to buy another then you may want to stay away from buying bitcoin as its transfer fees are high and you will lose value. Ethereum transfer fees are much lower.

I collect most of my crypto by getting paid in crypto for work such as creating articles for new crypto start ups. Which is why I have only bought using my own funds twice. The above process is how I done it. There could be easier ways I am unaware of.

How cool is that to get paid in crypto! Coinbase and binance were in my top three, along with bitshares. I was getting a little dizzy - there are so many! The one I liked best was bitpanda - but it's not available in the U.S. More research tomorrow, thanks for helping me narrow it down.

It was all fun and games until I got my first dogecoins! I have you to thank for that of course, and thank you for taking the time to answer my questions!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62789.36
ETH 3158.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82