Lady

in #dogs6 years ago

Lady.jpg

Lady was a spaniel mix my father got as a pup with the intention that she should be my oldest brother's dog. My brother was only 8 or 10 at the time and so the majority of the caring and training fell to my father. Inevitably, Lady came to view my father as the leader of the pack and became his devoted follower.

Like most spaniel breeds she was very intelligent. She had the concept for things being more than one. She would be asked to get my father's slipper and he would say, "I have another foot get the other one" and off she would go to get it. She liked walking down the street to meet the mailman and bring our mail back home.

I don't think she ever had a leash or a collar. She stuck by my father's side when walking. It was a time when people just opened the door and let the dog out to roam. She never went far from home and we never worried about her coming to harm or getting lost.

F054.jpg

Her best friend was a cat named Felix who delighted in washing her face every time she passed within distance. Lady was a gentle soul and put up with all Felix's shenanigans. She was also gentle and intensely curious about the other pets in the house.

F108.jpg

A pair of hamsters that she loved to watch as they mindlessly ran in their plastic wheel.

F109.jpg

She had no desire to hurt them and watched them for hours at a time. They would crawl up in her fur and her only reaction was intense staring.

And it came to pass I grew up and moved out seeing her only infrequently. Each time I came home it seemed as if she had aged so very much. She was slowed down with arthritis, had cataracts that left her with little vision and was essentially deaf. As happens to all pets the day came she could no longer stand on her own and the pain from her arthritis became unbearable. We said our goodbyes as she slipped peacefully to sleep. She was in her early 20's and was laid to rest beside her lifelong buddy Felix under an oak tree in the yard.

Sort:  

A very touching story and the images are interesting...
The melancholy and nostalgia we feel for those that pass... is bitter sweet...

Here's a dog story I followed a path to yesterday -- Today I Learned From My Dogs

Thank you. The color photo was taken on 110 film and the black and whites are polaroids before color polaroid film was available. Tells you how old they are.

Yeah, I'm an old boy... in fact my baby pictures are in black and white :)

Among all the other things my Granddad could do, amateur photography was another skill he taught himself...

Congratulations @itallstarted! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - Russia vs Croatia


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Thank you for inviting us into your heart for a walk down memory lane. I love animals, we have always had pets as far back as I can remember. We had a pitbull also named Lady that had a very similar temperment to your spaniel. They are so full of love. Whenever I look into the eyes of our pets (dog, cat or otherwise) I can't help but feel I am looking into the Soul of a much wiser Being who is here to teach me the way.

Bright Blessings @itallstarted. Thank you for Being you

#steemitbloggers

The true place to find unconditional love is in a pet. They teach us love and humility every day.

100% <333

This comment was made from https://ulogs.org

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 64161.84
ETH 2950.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.60