You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Tripping Without Drugs: My Experience With Lucid Dreaming and Sleep Paralysis

in #dream6 years ago (edited)

Yea there are so many layer to this. I have experience sleep paralysis with a kind of odd frequency, that I can of feel it coming on, and know some techniques to deal with it, but its utter oddiness and strangeness. I can't never get used to it and it makes me feel a strangeness that I would rather not deal with, but as you said shit happens!

But I think with meditation and dreaming(in the toltec sense which is like advance lucid dreaming), there is something there, meditation is a rough, long road to get there, I believe there is the dreamtime(in the aboriginal sense), its also the cheat code of psychedelics.

But when I was studying Toltec dreaming, I was getting into very strange and interesting headspace. It was getting too intense for me, that I found it really hard to function day to day, when I would have these lifetime full adventures in strange psychedelic lands, and then wake up only to realize I need to go to my day to day job, I set up a firewall so that I can function better. But my strange and wildest trips have all been in dreaming.

With all this said, it seems like one needs the frame of references of these spaces, and psychedelics does this. because in Rick Strassman DMT experiments, they would notice that high doses, would record most brain activity, but when talking to the patient, they couldn't recall. And I notice, that in the strangest areas of the dreamtime, that if I was not ready for the high weirdness, there was this auto ctrl-alt-delete effect. Its like if you don't have some sense of reference to this data, you can't compute it, and displays as white noise and can't recall it.

anyways there a lot to unpack here, but just wanted to say, this topic is one in which I find infinity interesting and can go on forever! thanks

Sort:  

Haha yeah a lot to unpack is the truth of it.

I have figured out some of what triggers of the episodes for me. It tends to happen when I sleep longer than usual or if I sleep in a room with a lot of light. Getting out of it was always the problem so I find that trying to fall back into a deeper sleep is the best option but then the lucid dreaming kicks off and that has its own issues.

That is an interesting thought about forgetting. It follows well too. Some trips I have a very vivid memory of and some I don't but I know that they were every bit as weird. I wonder if the issue is that the information is so unusual that the brain doesn't know what to do with it so it is thrown out.

yea its something like that, or at least it makes the most sense to me, doesn't not compute, render can't compile

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63122.36
ETH 3072.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86