Tripping Without Drugs: My Experience With Lucid Dreaming and Sleep Paralysis

in #dream6 years ago (edited)

photo-1509134234741-751e71fe203f.jpg
I have seen a few people mention the possibility of reaching a deeply altered state of consciousness without the use of psychedelic (or any) drugs. When I first considered the idea, I thought about meditation and various other methods of reaching that trippy head space. Unfortunately, I am always forced to say that, while those things can work for some people, they never could match the strangeness or intensity of a psychedelic substance in my experience. I was thinking about this issue a little deeper last night, however, and something did come to mind that I had not considered earlier. Specifically, I remembered that I have, in fact, "tripped" without using any drug. I have, since I was very young, experienced occasional episodes of sleep paralysis and these often melt into a state of lucid dreaming which is very intense and is a sort of psychedelic experience but it is one that not everybody would enjoy.

I believe that I overlooked sleep paralysis (and the lucid dreams it brings) because it is not something that I can consciously induce nor would I if I could. There is a good deal of literature about the phenomenon of sleep paralysis so I won't go into great detail here but I will say that it strikes without warning in most people who experience it. Essentially, one seems to be awake and conscious of his or her surroundings but is also unable to move or speak. Despite seeming like normal consciousness, one is still very much dreaming during the episode and he or she will often see various hallucinations but not the interesting patterns and visual distortions of a psychedelic trip. These seem more "solid" and are often far darker in their character. It is extremely common for people to report feeling or seeing a presence near them during sleep paralysis. Some have even gone as far as to attribute these visions and feelings to supernatural beings (I have seen no evidence to suggest that this is true but you are free to believe what you wish). I can certainly understand why people feel that way, though. Often, I would believe that my dog was in the room while I was in that state, only to awaken and find my door shut and him asleep on the couch in the living room. There were other times where the "presence" was some dark creature drawn up out of the deepest of nightmares. Once, I saw a cloaked specter floating above me. It was made of darkness from its mid section up with eyes and a grin being its only visible facial features. Its lower half was translucent and was extremely colorful with the visible spectrum seeming to be melt into the air below it. Needless to say, this is a highly unpleasant way to begin your day.

photo-1510314647214-65b201c44b14.jpg

If I was able to fall back "asleep" during sleep paralysis, I would become aware that I was dreaming during the dream which ensued. I have heard about people who could achieve lucid dreaming through other means but this is the only way that seems to work for me. It usually begins in a strangely mundane setting for a dream. Sometimes I might dream about waking up only to notice that my lights don't work (fun fact, this is usually a dead give away that you are dreaming) and, unlike normal dreams, I am able to use this information to recognize what is happening. At this point, I can take some control of the events of the dream which sounds great but is it? Who doesn't want godlike powers to imagine things into existence? I would enjoy them but, as usual, we can't have anything nice. You see, as soon as you start consciously romping around dreamland, your unconscious mind realizes that something is awry. The conscious you is moving in on the unconscious you's territory and it doesn't seem to like it, so it starts trying to rip control away from the conscious you. There you are, trying to frolic through your imagination and the unconscious you ruins it with some nightmare monster. This drugless trip, devolves into a literal battle of wits with yourself and that isn't fun. You decide to fly and the unconscious sends a demon eagle. You throw a lightning bolt at it and it goes away but now the lightning is sentient and hates you. Those are exaggerations, of course, but the way it plays out is true. In short, it rapidly grows tiresome and if you can't get any rest when you sleep, when can you?

photo-1440610049442-a5101a2204ba.jpg

These things are really interesting to have experienced and they are fun to talk about but the benefit that they provide is not worth the unpleasantness that comes along with them, in my opinion. I, personally, would never willingly put myself through it after having experienced it, but as the bumper stickers and cheap shirts say, "shit happens." I make the best of it and it is occasionally kind of fun. However, if is one is looking to become altered and they learn of a way to bring about lucid dreams or sleep paralysis, I would recommend that he or she think hard about he or she is walking into. It won't be a giggly mushroom trip waiting for that person in those darker recesses of his or her mind. If you are still willing to try, that is fine. It won't hurt you but drugs might be the better option.

Peace.

All the images in this post are sourced from the free image website, unsplash.com.

Sort:  

It is not that hard to get control of lucid dreaming. Write down every non-lucid or ethereal dream you have, become conscious of the state itself. I actually teach that the drugged state is synthetic and only a glimpse, useful to train the mind.

This post has been shown by @tenorbalonzo,@hakanlama,@cemalbaba,@asagikulak to 17.000+ followers

Yea there are so many layer to this. I have experience sleep paralysis with a kind of odd frequency, that I can of feel it coming on, and know some techniques to deal with it, but its utter oddiness and strangeness. I can't never get used to it and it makes me feel a strangeness that I would rather not deal with, but as you said shit happens!

But I think with meditation and dreaming(in the toltec sense which is like advance lucid dreaming), there is something there, meditation is a rough, long road to get there, I believe there is the dreamtime(in the aboriginal sense), its also the cheat code of psychedelics.

But when I was studying Toltec dreaming, I was getting into very strange and interesting headspace. It was getting too intense for me, that I found it really hard to function day to day, when I would have these lifetime full adventures in strange psychedelic lands, and then wake up only to realize I need to go to my day to day job, I set up a firewall so that I can function better. But my strange and wildest trips have all been in dreaming.

With all this said, it seems like one needs the frame of references of these spaces, and psychedelics does this. because in Rick Strassman DMT experiments, they would notice that high doses, would record most brain activity, but when talking to the patient, they couldn't recall. And I notice, that in the strangest areas of the dreamtime, that if I was not ready for the high weirdness, there was this auto ctrl-alt-delete effect. Its like if you don't have some sense of reference to this data, you can't compute it, and displays as white noise and can't recall it.

anyways there a lot to unpack here, but just wanted to say, this topic is one in which I find infinity interesting and can go on forever! thanks

Haha yeah a lot to unpack is the truth of it.

I have figured out some of what triggers of the episodes for me. It tends to happen when I sleep longer than usual or if I sleep in a room with a lot of light. Getting out of it was always the problem so I find that trying to fall back into a deeper sleep is the best option but then the lucid dreaming kicks off and that has its own issues.

That is an interesting thought about forgetting. It follows well too. Some trips I have a very vivid memory of and some I don't but I know that they were every bit as weird. I wonder if the issue is that the information is so unusual that the brain doesn't know what to do with it so it is thrown out.

yea its something like that, or at least it makes the most sense to me, doesn't not compute, render can't compile

One of my favorite courses I took in graduate school was a course entitled The Psychology of Dreams. We read Freud's Interpretation of Dreams (A fascinating genius of a book and author, imo; definitely worth a look). One of the aspects of dreams we learned was the biological approach to dreaming.

Here, what you have described is often categorized by psychology as Hypnagogic hallucination. Hypnagogia refers to the state between wakefulness and sleep (Greek: agogos: lead (to); Hupnos: sleep).

The body is an amazing mechanism. It knows that even though you "think" you are "awake" (i.e., conscious), you are "really" sleeping. So during this dreaming sleep-stage, often called REM, your body actually paralyzes itself. It does this so when you think you are, for example, "fighting a huge purple monster with fangs," you don't actually swing and whack your partner who's sleeping beside you in the head (ever happen to anyone?). It's a safety mechanism.

What people think happens is, sometimes there's a "short"--could be environmental, could be physiological--but something happens to where you get "trapped" between stages, and your mind thinks you're awake, but your "body" (or, at least certain parts or systems within your body) thinks you're asleep!! So, you literally are in a sleep paralysis! This is also why sometimes we can feel that sensation of "falling," then we are abruptly awoken? That's it! Except there, the mind/ body "connection" is working properly and you "wake up--" with the paralysis or "night terror," you don't... The "jerking" feeling is literally your body "falling" asleep--i.e., into a dream-state where your body is in "reality" immobilized.

Of course, this is how we can get into "sleepwalking," and such: people doing wild things when asleep, even dangerous things.

On the subject of "lucid dreaming." Because science can, to some degree, "measure" the different stages of sleep, it is also possible to demarcate and even "influence" these various stages in different ways. For example, because we know it takes X amount of time, typically, to get into that "hypnogogic" state, or to start dreaming, a person, in theory, could craftily set an alarm to "wake them up" at a certain time, with the idea being that they may be still in that sleep-state. Or, another way to do it, is something you yourself, @artisticscreech, seem to already be honing in on--You start to "teach" yourself that there are certain "markers" within the dream that designate the fact that you are "dreaming;" ones which "only you" recognize. A good object to begin with (from what I hear) is actually your own body, something easy to see, like your hands. So you would start trying to focus on your hands in the dream, eventually learning to use it a s a marker that you are dreaming, and then you go from there. To that point, though, you touched on something else very interesting. This idea of the dream "knowing" you "know you're dreaming," and "not liking it." That is very true, I think. ( Perhaps the Nightmare or Elm Street series and Freddy Krueger knew something we didn't ;)) ...

Once I was on a holiday with a camper van and I would fall asleep on the top bed while my father was driving. I think the shaking of the van triggered the paralyses. I was in this state of not being able to move around while feeling awake, feeling the droole fall out of my mouth as I was lying on my belly. There was this huuuuuuge energy pulling me down, a sucking pulling force.

I cannot say it was very pleasant but on the other hand I didn't mind it happening either. It happened so many times that holiday. There's nothing fun about being stuck in that state and yet it fascinates me, being in that weird area of your mind.

It is extremely common for people to report feeling or seeing a presence near them during sleep paralysis. Some have even gone as far as to attribute these visions and feelings to supernatural beings (I have seen no evidence to suggest that this is true but you are free to believe what you wish).

I have had four different experiences with sleep paralysis, and my personal experiences were all very much the same. I will say that I personally felt as though I was under attack by an entity, each and every time. I vividly remember the experiences, I vividly remember the cackling voice speaking to me in Latin, and I don't believe I can be convinced that it was anything other than attacks. Could it have been hallucinations? Yes. Is is awfully coincidental that the same experience happened to me on four different occasions? Absolutely.

I will say though, that I am certainly not opposed to the idea that there may be different types of sleep paralysis, some perhaps positive, but whatever it was I experienced, was nothing I would consider positive, in any way.

well, dreams arent really the realm of exact science yet, for all i know its the glia cleaning out the ducts which leads to weird impressions of the days past as the chemicals pass through the channels, as for sleep paralysis, i have often experienced this other dimension right between wake and dream but the paralysis itself i think is mostly the body still being paralyzed because thats simply what happens during r.e.m. (considered to be a safeguard against hurting oneself b/c of actively moving along with whats happening in the dream, so the motoric functions shut down in order to prevent that ... if for some reason you get jolted out of the sleepstate while that's still active then that would be your explanation right there, the brain is still "on standby" while the body is still in self-protection mode"

probably why rem sleep is the most healing part ... you're not supposed to have that until after some hours but i find myself often falling into it right away after days of insomnia or virtual insomnia, its like crashing right into a dream state

Haha yeah I stayed out of the sciencey side of the issue but those are the reasons why I don't buy into the whole supernatural mythos that exists around the phenomenon.

I do like to think of at as an altered state just like one has with a drug or what have you. It is interesting but I don't find it to be at all enjoyable even with the potential for lucid dreaming.

There are other sleep related altered states too. If you can hold yourself in that presleep stage you can have some pretty trippy hallucinations too but they are difficult to recall so most of their "wow" factor evaporates when they do.

i might suggest reading plato's "cave"
i suggest that a lot

perception is reality

not the other way around

You're referring to the "Allegory of the cave, " in Plato's Republic. But yes, perception is reality.. Or, rather, "reality" requires that we account for our experience of perception; in other words, there is no "God's eye view," (like some science tends to assume...)

as for sleep paralysis, i have often experienced this other dimension right between wake and dream but the paralysis itself i think is mostly the body still being paralyzed because thats simply what happens during r.e.m.

Thank you for explaining this @rudyardcatling

I didn't know this, and actually, I had never considered the implications of what sleep state my body was potentially in during the experiences. This actually makes quite a bit of sense. What I find a bit harder to explain though isn't so much the paralysis, but recurrence of the "dream" itself, if it was in fact a dream. If it was, it would certainly be classified as a reoccurring dream.

These dreams had such a vividness, and such a profound impact on my perception of reality, I can only conclude with any real certainty, that they left a lasting impression I will never forget.

dreams haven't been explained by any kind of measurable science, i'm afraid that's still very much the field of Freud

if it recurs my best bet is it's something your subconscious is trying to deal with

as for the feeling of presence, there's pros and cons, its possible with magnets to induce a feeling of presence but if people talk about dreams i personally usually assume they don't tend to sleep in a lab full of magnets

perception is reality , its not the other way around you're a brain trapped in a body and whatever that brain perceives is reality

maybe the most important thing is to make it through the next day

whatever it means but if it means something it can give you direction

or even purpose

im afraid dreams are too personnal to generalize

It is super unpleasant. I don't discount anything, of course, but I just don't see any way to test the claim so I have nothing to weigh the validity of. That being said, the feeling is vary real and the descriptions people give along with my own experiences are always very similar which gives me more pause than most untestable claims.

I agree completely. There really is no way to weigh the validity, but I do maintain a level of interest on the topic, and despite the pure terror that was associated, I find myself wondering what is to be gained from such an experience. This comes with some questions such as: "Why has this happened to me on various occasions"?, and "Will it happen to me again"?

Do I dare say I even have a fleeting thought of welcoming it again just to figure out its meaning?

Very interesting topic.

Thanks for the good read and conversation @artisticscreech

I think most altered states have something to give. I can't put my finger on it but lucid dreaming and the struggle to maintain control teach a kind of mental discipline. The state of terror from sleep paralysis reviles something about the self. One learns where the mind goes when they are in what seems like real and serious danger. From that he or she is better prepared when faced with real danger. Maybe that is stretching the concept "lessons" a little too far but I don't think it should be discounted.

As I hint at in the post though, the things people get from both these phenomena are not really worth the trouble when one can gain a lot more in a way that is much more pleasant with psychedelics.

I would distinguish the two types of experiences whith the following: Psychedelics break down the barrier between the conscious and unconscious but sleep paralysis and lucid dreaming allow the conscious mind to venture into the unconscious world but there it is subject of the whims of the unconscious mind and that can take a person to some dark places.

And thank you too.

This is actually one "theory" on "why" we dream: to "teach" us various ways to deal and essentially practice for "real life" dangerous scenarios. Because our body (when working "properly") actually paralyzes itself during dreaming, in order not to actually "jump off the building to get away from the zombies," but instead to safely allow us to instead "dream-jump" away from them--and hopefully survive not only your dream, but also when the real zombies come. ;))

This post is resteemed and upvoted by @bestboom

Congratulations you got resteemed!

Resteem your Posts to 9750+ Followers — just send 0.1 SBD or STEEM to @yougotresteemed with link in memo (you also will receive a 100% upvote)!

For daily bloggers we offer a Resteem subscription including at least one Resteem a day and a daily feature + daily upvotes!

Wanna sell your Votes or looking for an Upvote-Bot? Try Smartsteem

Resteemed to over 18300 followers and 100% upvoted. Thank you for using my service!

Send 0.200 Steem or 0.200 Steem Dollars and the URL in the memo to use the bot.
Read here how the bot from Berlin works.

#resteembot #bestofresteembot #winwithresteembot

@resteem.bot

Feel free to join our partner crypto exchange: https://www.binance.com/?ref=10230705.

@resteem.bot

You have been resteemed by @resteemy, courtesy of @artisticscreech!
Want to increase your following? Read more about me here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64344.02
ETH 3142.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01