a planner, darkly

in #dsound5 years ago (edited)

reticence multiplied.jpg


a planner,
darkly


diaggèd diamonds
reticent with reasons:
feeling stolen
from the void of all-seasons.

elegance embodied
by multiplied trine—
fire, water,
sweet lightning of thine.

filamentine fissures
whose embryons glow:
sudden, ephiphanal,
timesmithing trow.

tines
of fracture-thin light—
sing by the wayside,
bring me dim sight.


elegance embodied.jpg


Text &
sound
by @d
–pend

.
Photos
by @the
explorer

 
 


luminous contracoils.jpg


Sort:  

This poem, although merely about a light bulb (as @quillfire suggests; although I would say it's more about the filament without which the bulb is just useless glass) made me think about planning and about light (clarity).
How much do we plan our lives? How clear to we see our path? How much illumination do we need to see clearly?

I think we would all agree that most people do not learn from others’ mistakes. Thus, clarity does not necessarily comes with light, or put another way, darkness is not caused by the lack of illumination.

Sometimes light, as it is the case of these filaments, is attractive in itself. It does not make the surroundings any clearer. It’s art/knowledge/fun for art’s/knowledge’s/fun’s sake.

The process that leads to the making of a light bulb filament is a complex and amazing one. Heat and coldness reduce the filament to a perfect length and the coiling and recoiling in an oxygen-free void makes it as simple as we perceive it. LED filaments have made it possible to just play with the possibilities of form, shape and a more impressible light. It makes it easier to forget about original purposes, just like knowledge when bent and twisted.

Dimness can be as bad as dazzlement.

Planeando in the dark space a line of light in movement does it`s not find with its origin. Thus we, beings born in the light, get lost on the path of life, forgetting our origin.
Nothing darkens the vague memory of the path travelled by light and replaces it with fallacious, human creations that allow the seam to be seen before more capable eyes. For this reason, the voice speaks of fraud:

feeling stolen
from the void of all-seasons.

And he is enraptured in the contemplation of the brief flashes of different lights that come appearing through the fractures of time:

tines
of fracture-thin light—
sing by the wayside,
bring me dim sight.

sight sight sight sight sight.....

It's interesting how the sound files are all attached on a comment.

My oldest son is really getting into minecraft. I never played the game before but he digs down real deep looking for gems. He even goes underwater. He spends a lot of time doing this and I would rather he read a book or paint a picture. The graphics inside the mine seem boring and dark, but it doesn't matter to him as long as he finds the gem. My resolution was to talk to him about how much time he really needs to spend on minecraft and we put a timer on it at 30 minutes.

I'm not sure what this story has to do with your poem.
I guess teenager are "reticent with reason."
The more we talk together and listen the more light we get out.

Recently I started putting the extra info in a comment instead of in the post proper, because it seems like people are more likely to read it when it's an entity all its own :-)

I loved Minecraft since before it was popular and was just a tiny game in beta. It was really weird to see it get so big. Gaming and using computers/televisions in general is weirdly addictive. My mom always had to limit my screen time when I was a kid or I would have sat there all day. Once you get outside, you realize how nice it is not having your energy constantly flattened into two dimensions, but it's hard to tear yourself away sometimes. It induces a light sort of hypnotic trance when you're engaged in it.

I'm sure whatever it has to do with this poem is the same this the poem has to do with anything else: everything and nothing :-D

And as for teenagers, I can only wish you the best, and give thanks that I'm no longer in that age bracket! Though those were some formative days, no doubt.

I enjoy the sound devices you use in this piece. The alliteration, meter, and rhyme all work in tandem to produce melodic verse which further highlights the strong imagery you've chosen. I enjoyed the read and I look forward to the next one.

The audio worked really well, let me have a look to what I can do next shot wise. I hope you do another audio clip, adds a whole new dimension to your work.

@d-pend sir!
Beautiful lines arranged in a claustrophobic atmosphere. Another great piece of work from your original poetry.

Feels like I haven’t gotten enough @d-pend lately. Have you been out enjoying real life lately or have I just been too damn busy and missed your stuff?

Steemit artist extraordinaire!

Posted using Partiko iOS

"filamentine fissures
whose embryons glow"

That was really good

@d-pend,

Glad to see you managed to sneak in a "void" ... I was wondering if you gotten soft. :-)

Now be honest, Daniel, is this about a light bulb? If it is, you know I'm going to include that in some future post. :-)

Light bulb or not, well written.

Quill

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64222.08
ETH 3135.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99