Sittin' On The Dock of the Bay by Ed Privat

in #dsound6 years ago (edited)



LISTEN TO DOCK OF THE BAY ON DSOUND

Every song is special to somebody

So when @inmusicalterms asked me to chose between "Trustworthy Rock" from Will and the People or "Sittin' On The Dock Of The Bay" by Otis Reddin for today's song request, my mind was already made.

Ottis Reddin wrote his song while sitting on a rented houseboat in Sausalito, California, at least that's what the wikipedia says.
I don't know how accurate that is, I always imagined him writing his song from his favorite spot,from his favorite chair on a dock.

The first time I touched a guitar, was 20 years ago. The first succession of notes I played on the low E string, was "Come As You Are" by Nirvana.I couldn't sing it at the same time.

The first time i played an open G major chord and sang at the same time, the first chords I've ever strummed on a guitar with the intent of singing a song was "Sittin On The Dock Of The Bay"
At the time the succession of the bar chords was such a challenge, moving from the B7 then C back to B7 and then semi tone by semi tone down to A.

LISTEN TO DOCK OF THE BAY ON DSOUND

I only started playing the song at live concerts once i reached my 21st birthday, my voiced reached its baritone texture and Otis Reddin' repertoire is perfect for my range, and I could finally play and sing his song at the same time :).
I busked my heart off with this song at the London Eye for a whole year, I managed to feed myself with this song, and improve my terrible french accent that was killing the soul vibe after 2 words.

Washing the chips rolling

It took me 10 years to learn how to pronounce correctly every words of this song.
"Washing the chips rolling" eventually became "watching the ships rolling" and I eventually became Ed Privat, each time more confident in my interpretation of "Sittin' On The Dock Of The Bay"

LISTEN TO DOCK OF THE BAY ON DSOUND

It's probably one of the song I've played the most in my life, this and "Redemption Song".
Not only because it's a crowd-pleaser, but because this song reaches me, and inhabit me.

Something funny about the whistling part, it was supposed to be a rap on the ad lib, but Ottis Reddin couldn't remember the lyrics at the time, so started whistling.
The most amazing mistakes create the most amazing piece of arts sometimes.

There is a whole mythology around this song, that Otis always considered unfinished.
Prior to his death he recorded a second version, that became the first posthumous single to top the charts in the US.

Otis didn't like the pop feeling that the song had, he wanted something more gospel oriented originally,

So i scratched my head and try to come up with a version that I hope Otis would have enjoyed.

The inspiration for the arrangement is "You Can't Hurry Love" by The Supremes (or Phil Collins)

What mattered to me is to have that bass driving the song forward, making the drums almost seamless.

LISTEN TO DOCK OF THE BAY ON DSOUND

Up until 5pm today, I didn't know if the song would be ready, most of the backing vocals were not recorded yet, I eventually managed to squeeze all the vocal parts in one session but it was very tight.

I would have loved to add extra guitar leaks, and arpeggios like in the original, but the time is up!
The Tempo is 95 bpm , and here is the list of the instruments used:

Virtual instruments: Hybdrid CD drums, Halion one Finger Bass, Fender Rhodes Mk, virtual brass section
Real instruments: vocal and guitar

Thanks again to @inmusicalterms for the challenge,
Congratulation on winning 1.50SBD !

If you want to learn about music theory, It's very instructive, go check his blog

Don't forget to ask me for as song request, i always accept a challenge and get rewarded 1.50SBD if you're chosen. It needs to be a song that has a meaning to you , and that is a bit popular to make it easier for me :)
Hopefully soon I can make you win more SBD as @edprivat channel grows!

LISTEN TO DOCK OF THE BAY ON DSOUND

#edprivat #songrequest #Otis #Frisco #cover #new


► Listen on DSound
► Listen from source (IPFS)
Sort:  

It's cool without adding all you are supposed too... I really appreciate you for been consistent. Great music, great work. .More of it friend
Wanna make a request : i want you to sing never forget you by Zara lasson

hey man ! Thanks for being as consistent in your comments too :)
Yes! I know this song , my 4 yrs old song loves it, it's a tough challenge though I wonder what I could come up with :)

I will be on the outlook for the remix from you

cool bra any idea of the style you want haha?

Hmmmmm! rock

LOL That's gonna be difficult haha , I was thinking going Trap Hip Hop on it .

For Rock I need at least a distortion pedal and electric guitar because you can't emulate it with virtual instrument

Oh! OK.. Let's agree on hip hop then

Yes! Sounds really amazing and sometimes your voice even comes close to Otis Reddings voice. Really glad you made it so I resteemed it :) thank you so much

I am glad you liked it , I would have loved to have more time to work on it :) Yeah I've learnt how to sing with Otis, I don't think I'll ever come close to his class, but I can try hahah.
I am glad you requested this song, it's a monument now. Please keep on posting about musicology, about jazz if you can too, intervals, maybe an article on the use of the Third in modern music I would be super happy :)>
And maybe a musicology article on the Prince album "Musicology" :D

Great ideas!!! I'll definitely use them :) maybe tonight I'll look into the history of jazz again, because I've studied it 5 months ago so it would form a great article

I'll be there to upvote :) awesome !

Congratulations @edprivat, this post is the fifth most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a User account holder (accounts that hold between 0.1 and 1.0 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by User account holders during this period was 2618 and the total pending payments to posts in this category was $8125.49. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

"Washing the chips rolling" :D

Do they let drummers in now? Who opened the door? :)

who let the dog's out ? xD
freeedoooommm !!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63815.31
ETH 3124.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99