Sort:  

@nickyhavey,

I am like @steveblucher,
Except I know less,
But still would I say,
I was very impressed.

Poets. Sometimes we just can't help ourselves. Anyway, great job. To the utterly ignorant, it sounds very professional.

BTW, welcome to #Steemitbloggers

Quill

Aha I love it @quillfire! If it's in the blood...

Glad I provided some new sounds to you both! I'll be the first to admit, this isn't my finest piece of work but I still enjoyed making the track and am good friends with the original producer. I just wish him well as I know he is going through a bit of a tough time of late.

Thanks for stopping by 😊

Posted using Partiko Android

I think that's the beauty of being ignorant, @quillfire - it sounds great, and we don't need to justify why!!

I'll be honest with you @nickhavey, I never would have stumbled across this, if it wasn't for #steemitbloggers. This isn't my favourite type of music, but it is kind of hypnotic in a way. When it says remix, does that mean you're taken someone else's music and changed it to become your own? I apologise for my ignorance on this!!

Hey @steveblucher! Thanks for stopping by and appreciate it's not for everyone, the beauty of art is it's subjective. One of my friends shared with me one of her favourite tracks from last year and I couldn't make it past a minute (reached like 5 billion views on YouTube)!

Yes a remix is when the original creator of the song lets other musicians have access to the all the individual elements of their original and make their own version of it. This came second in a contest so just missed out but still wanted to share it. I need to tweak it so it's complete imo!

No need to be sorry, ask away 😀

Posted using Partiko Android

Really! So you can enter this in a competition even though the original was produced (right word?) by someone else? Thats awesome that music creators are so willing to share their work.

So when you say all the original elements, does that mean you get access to the original recordings off all components of the song? The different channels of all the instruments, etc? How do you remix it? By changing the beat/tempo/etc, or do you completely remove different sections, such as taking out a brass section!!? (again, have no idea!!).

Can I ask what software you use? Audacity, or something a bit more professional? What you do is really quite interesting. How'd it only come second? Sounds like a first to me, and remember, not my type of music, so must be good!!

OK well you really did feel free to ask, that's awesome Haha 😀

Well the original artist set up a "remix contest" himself on musicoin and choon which uses blockchain technology. We use the smart contracts on there too allocate the streaming royalties 50/50 which reduces the need for a label, perfect!

Yes you're right, all the different elements are separated from the original track by the original producer and then the remixers can re-arrange them, modify them, do whatever they want to with it really, it's a free roam 🙂 unless the rules of the contest say "it must be x, y, z" then there's no limits to what you can do!

I use a software called FL studio which I absolutely love and has brought me many hours of joy.

Thanks for the feedback man and really appreciate that comment! It was done by number of votes rather than judged by the original creator and I just didn't get anywhere near the number of votes that first place got. The winner really did a great job on the remix, had all sorts of freestyle jazz sounds going on so I hold no grudges there and tipped my hat.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks a lot Tim! Had a lot of fun making this one!

Posted using Partiko Android

This post was spotted by @theluvbug and has received a 100% upvote and possibly a resteem too.
If you would like to possibly receive future support from @theluvbug
then please make use of the #theluvbug tag.

Spreading the STEEMIT LOVE with upvotes and resteems of AWESOME Steemit content. Use #theluvbug to get my attention :)

myluvbug.gif

In Proud Collaboration with @steemitbloggers
and their founder @jaynie

interested in joining the Steemit Bloggers Community?

Yay! Thanks luvbug :))

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64231.88
ETH 3128.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95