You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Buzzsteem Ep. 26 [Steemit Censorship and Why I am Abandoning the Flag Wars.]

in #dtube6 years ago

Beth, I want to get your opinion on something. I just did my first open mic entry this week. It occurred to me that a lot of the entries are cover songs and that they potentially should be paying the the song writers of the songs they're covering half of the steam they earn for their posts. What's your opinion on this and do you think this could be a problem with this contest. I would love to be able to cover a song and post it but I just don't feel comfortable because the post has potential to make money. And I wouldn't know what to do if I actually made money off someone else's song. So in the meantime I guess I'll just be posting originals. Good thing I like writing songs. LOL. 😎

Sort:  

Well, the good news is that as far as the contest goes, @luzcypher and his team tend to only pick originals as the winner! So you have a way better chance of winning the weekly contest with original submissions. As far as covering someone else's song, I suppose if that person is on Steemit, it may be nice to offer them a little something in SBD, but if you are just covering a welll-known musician, I wouldn't worry too much. It's such a small amount anyway. I reckon it's similar to people who perform covers here in bars for like 3 hours and walk away with like $75. It's such a pittance that I doubt anyone is concerned. As far as the long term of Steemit goes, and making tons of money, well, I don't know what the future holds for Steemit. YouTube has it pretty well figured out by being able to split monetization with the owner of the song. Maybe dTube will figure something like that out for the future too! For now I wouldn't let it concern you!

I am going to check out your entry right now!!! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 67205.80
ETH 3112.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71