Buzzsteem Ep. 26 [Steemit Censorship and Why I am Abandoning the Flag Wars.]

in #dtube6 years ago


Hey guys!

It's the day before Valentines Day so if you haven't already gotten something for your lovelies, then consider doing that now! (It could even be your mom. Actually it should be your mom, damnit, go out and buy her some flowers and thank your lucky stars she is still alive. I know I will.)

Anywho, Today I talked about:

  • Steem and when to start buying it and powering up.

  • User @zoidsoft and his most recent blog, which I spend a good portion of today covering. Seriously guys, it's so good, you have to check it out. It can be found here:

https://steemit.com/steemit/@zoidsoft/the-power-of-the-ordinary-and-the-limitation-mindset-on-steemit

  • My continued #fight4steem but how I intend to abandon the Flag Wars and why.

  • #openmic and @luzcypher's hard work on compiling all of the entries.

  • My a cappella group's first video, which I will try to release tonight through our non profit page @outsidethevox.

  • User @travellingsomm who has an awesome travel blog!

And finally our Steemian of the day: vlogger @kevinli! He has such a fun spirit, I know you guys will love him!

Well that's all folks! Tomorrow I have something very special planned for Valentines Day so tune in for the fun! :)


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Thanks for sharing. Upvoted and followed. Today got into it with Haejin and his Troll Army b/c I have enough. If someone is plagiarizing or abusing the Steem Rewards pool they need to be flagged. It does make a difference and we cannot let the system go unchecked. Users with a lot of Steem power need to think about themselves and the group. Its bad for Steem if we let it go.

Well as I said, plagiarism is one thing, but abuse of the rewards pool is very subjective. I have had friends on here tell me I don't deserve the upvotes from dTube I have gotten for just doing "selfie videos". So, does that mean I am abusing the reward pool by continuing to make them? Who gets to decide that? See that's why I have given up this vigilante justice. It's not really solving anything. Perhaps taking down @haejin is good I guess, but is that really freeing up more money, when more Steem is being made every second? It's certainly getting a lot of attention and upvotes for certain whales, that's for sure.

Believe me, I have been hot on this train since I have been here, but I just don't know how much of it I agree with anymore. Harassing some broken-English speaking African for posting a stock photo and making $6 from it, like, what good is that doing? Especially when these SAME PEOPLE are all gushing about and goo-goo eyes for taking MEGA SP delegation and handing it right over to YouTube stars who are double dipping. The Hodgson Twins will surely be taking a hell of a lot more from Steem than some random guy in Sudan. Both are just trying to make a buck. How is copying and pasting videos from YouTube to dTube helping Steem grow any more than copying and pasting a stock photo? The thousands of fans that are supposedly going to come over here and produce great content? I mean, come on, have you seen a YouTube comments section? I will take the dude from Sudan over that shit any day.

Anyway, I get where you are coming from. You want to protect Steem. I do too. I just don't know if flagging everything that one considers shit posting is the answer.

I'm with you on this Beth. Another thing to consider is that people are upvoting shitposts. If that's what people decide to do, to reward shitposts, then who am I to deny them the right to be idiotic? Lol. We're truly in the wild west on this thing they call Steem.

I am glad you brought this up about content being subjective. It tis' in the eye of the beholder what its worth, like a piece of art work. I have basically been here from the beginning of Steem and I remember when Steem blew up in July of 2016 and there was a make-up post that generated something like $30,000 in total. $15,000 in SBD and $15,000 in SP. It made a lot people upset but at the time the Steem Community was just so eager to upvote anything that would help bring in mainstream adoption. Since then Steem community has evolved and matured a great deal but its kinda like saying Bitcoin is maturing and becoming more stable. It is till its not! The blockchain space is still infant, transitioning from little kid to adolescent. While it really pisses me off to see some people abusing the Steem Rewards pool, I try and look past it and look at how far Steem has come in user growth and value. I think its very possible Steem with its upgrades and apps (Dtube, Dlive, Utopia, ECT) or SMT's gets the system down just right. This Steem's success is really about behavioral economics more than anything. Get all the incentives right for all parties involved and it works like a charm. Something in the Steem eco-system will get it right, if not Steemit itself. The good news for now at least, Steem is going on 2 years old and its not imploded yet (although it came pretty close a few times). User growth is stronger than ever before and I think some app or SMT will hit a home run in 2018, leading us to mass adoption mania. Steem in its current state still beats most small time Youtubers and well Facebook does not pay anything for interaction. Zero, zilch, nada!

Totally agree! I just want to start focusing more on the positives, because I feel like my focus on the negative hasn't really done any good. I want to encourage people to definitely flag something if they see some blatant form of illegality (stolen content) but otherwise, just like on Facebook, move on.

Loading...

I am glad you brought this up about content being subjective. It tis' in the eye of the beholder what its worth, like a piece of art work. I have basically been here from the beginning of Steem and I remember when Steem blew up in July of 2016 and there was a make-up post that generated something like $30,000 in total. $15,000 in SBD and $15,000 in SP. It made a lot people upset but at the time the Steem Community was just so eager to upvote anything that would help bring in mainstream adoption. Since then Steem community has evolved and matured a great deal but its kinda like saying Bitcoin is maturing and becoming more stable. It is till its not! The blockchain space is still infant, transitioning from little kid to adolescent. While it really pisses me off to see some people abusing the Steem Rewards pool, I try and look past it and look at how far Steem has come in user growth and value. I think its very possible Steem with its upgrades and apps (Dtube, Dlive, Utopia, ECT) or SMT's gets the system down just right. This Steem's success is really about behavioral economics more than anything. Get all the incentives right for all parties involved and it works like a charm. Something in the Steem eco-system will get it right, if not Steemit itself. The good news for now at least, Steem is going on 2 years old and its not imploded yet (although it came pretty close a few times). User growth is stronger than ever before and I think some app or SMT will hit a home run in 2018, leading us to mass adoption mania. Steem in its current state still beats most small time Youtubers and well Facebook does not pay anything for interaction. Zero, zilch, nada!

I don't flag. Yesterday I found a direct copy of a YT video, but rather than flag I confronted the poster with the original he had copied and uploaded to DTube. I pointed out to him that he is denying the original creator the views, likes and comments as the same happened to me when people uploaded my work on their FB accounts. Those views ultimately weigh in on whether your channel grows or not and you can't get the views back under DMCA. He corrected the post by linking to the original YT video. Problem solved.

That's definitely a great way to do it!

Be yourself. It will outshine everything else!

Thanks! I am certainly trying!!

I'll surely get flowers 💐 for my Mum tomorrow.
Hope you'll do same?

Happy Valentines day in advance.

Heck yeah! And Happy <3 Day to you too!

Capture the moments today.
I'll share some photos via Steepshot.

🎵🎶 Also, I think you should write/sing a song about love 😍 today. 🎶🎵

Happy valentines @bethwheatcraft
I loved the video..

Thanks Xabi! Happy Valentines Day to you too! It definitely feels good when you embrace your own perspectives and intuition! Cheers!

Oh, and you've made a reference to 'more Steem just gets created' a few time, which isn't actually true. You make it sound like the more people type the more steem is made.

Right now the daily amount of Steem is fixed so when those people take a bigger slice of the pie it's actually a slice of the same sized pie.

Now don't get me wrong it's actually quite a lot of steem, but it doesn't grow how you imagine, just yet.

On average the blocks are only 25% full so it'll be a while before it maxes out at 100% and has to produce extra blocks to keep up with demand.

I certainly didn't mean to make it sound that way. I do understand that you aren't creating Steem every time you press post, though in all fairness, the opposition would have you believe that there is a set amount of Steem and we are running out, and the world is on fire because people are shit posting and getting paid.

As I said, I am not a fan of Haejin and other major players taking so much from the pot, but as I also said, there wouldn't even BE a pot if it weren't for investors like @ranchorelaxo. So it is an impasse that I find myself currently at. And to be honest, I don't know what @sweetsssj's deal is either. I don't know if she was delegated a bunch of SP or was just one of the first, or if she dumped an ass ton of money into Steem and is now using that initial investment to make money. If that's the case, then so be it. I don't have that kind of money to invest, and even if I could dump hundreds of thousands or millions even into Steem, I don't know if I would. It is a terrific gamble, and the people who have done it have taken the chance of losing their asses. The people who have done it have also helped create a pool of wealth from which everyone draws.

So as I said, deciding how much someone gets, for what effort is very subjective. And more specifically, flagging someone because you feel they received an unfair payout for said effort is a very dangerous road to go down. That was the main point of my vlog today, nothing more.

I didn't expect such a ridiculously high payout from dtube. I do agree it could be much more evenly distributed. I have also tried to curtail my content to fit into a specific box however, rather than just doing what I really want to do (which would be covering songs. None of those posts did very well at all.)

I will be much more careful with my wording in the future so as to not cause misinformation.

By flagging we are losing a user. It's that simple! We need to grow as much as possible but at the same time maintain the quality on the platform.

That's why it is important for you to take an initiative to correct the offender and give them another chance to change. Cheers 🍻

I totally agree, and we don't know what that user's situation is either. That's my biggest hang-up. I know a couple of users here who can literally feed their families on what they make here. Is what they're doing so egregious as to deny them that?

I feel for you Americans, as us Aussies have had a way to pay for bills via crypto for a long time. (https://www.livingroomofsatoshi.com/) And I've since discovered they also accept steem so it's all good down here in Oz.

And in relation to dropping the fight4steem, I always ask myself if there were hundreds of people doing this 'thing', would it be OK?

When the answer is 'NO' I try to make a stance.

And if it's 'YES' then I accept it and move on.

Of course, everyone's moral compass is different and I don't see making a buck a bad thing, just making a lot of bucks from little effort is bad.

Now I know you put a lot of effort into your show, but when I look at the payout versus the actual views I begin to wonder if there could be a more even distribution.

It's crazy numbers and it looks like dtube recently upped their voting percent to make it even crazier.

Which is great for you, so take the money while you can and cash out a little for sure. You've earned it :-D

Beth, I want to get your opinion on something. I just did my first open mic entry this week. It occurred to me that a lot of the entries are cover songs and that they potentially should be paying the the song writers of the songs they're covering half of the steam they earn for their posts. What's your opinion on this and do you think this could be a problem with this contest. I would love to be able to cover a song and post it but I just don't feel comfortable because the post has potential to make money. And I wouldn't know what to do if I actually made money off someone else's song. So in the meantime I guess I'll just be posting originals. Good thing I like writing songs. LOL. 😎

Well, the good news is that as far as the contest goes, @luzcypher and his team tend to only pick originals as the winner! So you have a way better chance of winning the weekly contest with original submissions. As far as covering someone else's song, I suppose if that person is on Steemit, it may be nice to offer them a little something in SBD, but if you are just covering a welll-known musician, I wouldn't worry too much. It's such a small amount anyway. I reckon it's similar to people who perform covers here in bars for like 3 hours and walk away with like $75. It's such a pittance that I doubt anyone is concerned. As far as the long term of Steemit goes, and making tons of money, well, I don't know what the future holds for Steemit. YouTube has it pretty well figured out by being able to split monetization with the owner of the song. Maybe dTube will figure something like that out for the future too! For now I wouldn't let it concern you!

I am going to check out your entry right now!!! :)

Since tomorrow is Valentine's Day how about we just love everyone and believe that they will feel the love and change their "not nice, totally against steemit ways" and let them know we will give them just one more chance to change. Nice vid..... Happy Valentine's Day to everyone tomorrow. :D

Haha I am down for that. I am certainly not playing Steemit police anymore, that's for sure.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 61926.98
ETH 3060.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.79