You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Buzzsteem Ep. 26 [Steemit Censorship and Why I am Abandoning the Flag Wars.]

in #dtube6 years ago

Thanks for sharing. Upvoted and followed. Today got into it with Haejin and his Troll Army b/c I have enough. If someone is plagiarizing or abusing the Steem Rewards pool they need to be flagged. It does make a difference and we cannot let the system go unchecked. Users with a lot of Steem power need to think about themselves and the group. Its bad for Steem if we let it go.

Sort:  

Well as I said, plagiarism is one thing, but abuse of the rewards pool is very subjective. I have had friends on here tell me I don't deserve the upvotes from dTube I have gotten for just doing "selfie videos". So, does that mean I am abusing the reward pool by continuing to make them? Who gets to decide that? See that's why I have given up this vigilante justice. It's not really solving anything. Perhaps taking down @haejin is good I guess, but is that really freeing up more money, when more Steem is being made every second? It's certainly getting a lot of attention and upvotes for certain whales, that's for sure.

Believe me, I have been hot on this train since I have been here, but I just don't know how much of it I agree with anymore. Harassing some broken-English speaking African for posting a stock photo and making $6 from it, like, what good is that doing? Especially when these SAME PEOPLE are all gushing about and goo-goo eyes for taking MEGA SP delegation and handing it right over to YouTube stars who are double dipping. The Hodgson Twins will surely be taking a hell of a lot more from Steem than some random guy in Sudan. Both are just trying to make a buck. How is copying and pasting videos from YouTube to dTube helping Steem grow any more than copying and pasting a stock photo? The thousands of fans that are supposedly going to come over here and produce great content? I mean, come on, have you seen a YouTube comments section? I will take the dude from Sudan over that shit any day.

Anyway, I get where you are coming from. You want to protect Steem. I do too. I just don't know if flagging everything that one considers shit posting is the answer.

I'm with you on this Beth. Another thing to consider is that people are upvoting shitposts. If that's what people decide to do, to reward shitposts, then who am I to deny them the right to be idiotic? Lol. We're truly in the wild west on this thing they call Steem.

I am glad you brought this up about content being subjective. It tis' in the eye of the beholder what its worth, like a piece of art work. I have basically been here from the beginning of Steem and I remember when Steem blew up in July of 2016 and there was a make-up post that generated something like $30,000 in total. $15,000 in SBD and $15,000 in SP. It made a lot people upset but at the time the Steem Community was just so eager to upvote anything that would help bring in mainstream adoption. Since then Steem community has evolved and matured a great deal but its kinda like saying Bitcoin is maturing and becoming more stable. It is till its not! The blockchain space is still infant, transitioning from little kid to adolescent. While it really pisses me off to see some people abusing the Steem Rewards pool, I try and look past it and look at how far Steem has come in user growth and value. I think its very possible Steem with its upgrades and apps (Dtube, Dlive, Utopia, ECT) or SMT's gets the system down just right. This Steem's success is really about behavioral economics more than anything. Get all the incentives right for all parties involved and it works like a charm. Something in the Steem eco-system will get it right, if not Steemit itself. The good news for now at least, Steem is going on 2 years old and its not imploded yet (although it came pretty close a few times). User growth is stronger than ever before and I think some app or SMT will hit a home run in 2018, leading us to mass adoption mania. Steem in its current state still beats most small time Youtubers and well Facebook does not pay anything for interaction. Zero, zilch, nada!

Totally agree! I just want to start focusing more on the positives, because I feel like my focus on the negative hasn't really done any good. I want to encourage people to definitely flag something if they see some blatant form of illegality (stolen content) but otherwise, just like on Facebook, move on.

Loading...

I am glad you brought this up about content being subjective. It tis' in the eye of the beholder what its worth, like a piece of art work. I have basically been here from the beginning of Steem and I remember when Steem blew up in July of 2016 and there was a make-up post that generated something like $30,000 in total. $15,000 in SBD and $15,000 in SP. It made a lot people upset but at the time the Steem Community was just so eager to upvote anything that would help bring in mainstream adoption. Since then Steem community has evolved and matured a great deal but its kinda like saying Bitcoin is maturing and becoming more stable. It is till its not! The blockchain space is still infant, transitioning from little kid to adolescent. While it really pisses me off to see some people abusing the Steem Rewards pool, I try and look past it and look at how far Steem has come in user growth and value. I think its very possible Steem with its upgrades and apps (Dtube, Dlive, Utopia, ECT) or SMT's gets the system down just right. This Steem's success is really about behavioral economics more than anything. Get all the incentives right for all parties involved and it works like a charm. Something in the Steem eco-system will get it right, if not Steemit itself. The good news for now at least, Steem is going on 2 years old and its not imploded yet (although it came pretty close a few times). User growth is stronger than ever before and I think some app or SMT will hit a home run in 2018, leading us to mass adoption mania. Steem in its current state still beats most small time Youtubers and well Facebook does not pay anything for interaction. Zero, zilch, nada!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 66795.37
ETH 3087.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72