Wild Fermentation: How To Make Kimchi At Home

in #dtube6 years ago (edited)


My first dtube tried out...

Fermented or probiotic foods are so good for us. They should be part of everybody's diet. Our health starts in our gut and a healthy or friendly gut flora makes healthy people.

Today, a lot of studies are emerging showing a strong link between our gut flora and diseases such as digestive issues, autoimmune disorders, nutrient deficiencies, heart disease, diabetes and so much more.

The kimchi ingredients are flexible. last time I added daikon radish. My hubby, however, prefers it without. Some people also like to add apple. We just love it with carrots and spring onions. But be creative and add grated veggies you like. Purple cabbage might be interesting too.

KIMCHI RECIPE


INGREDIENTS


FOR THE KIMCHI


1 napa cabbage
1/4 cup sea salt
1 carrot grated
3/4-1 cup chopped spring onion
5-6 cloves of garlic, minced (or 1 tbsp)
1 tsp grated ginger
1/2-1 tbsp raw sugar
3 tbsp water
1-5 tbsp Korean chili powder (I used 3.5 tbsp for mild spicy)

FOR THE BRINE


1 cup filtered water 1 tbsp sea salt

DIRECTIONS

  1. Cut the napa cabbage in 4 equal part lengthwise. Cut into smaller pieces. Add the cabbage to a big bowl with the salt. Massage for 5 minutes. Add filtered water to cover and press down with a plate. Let sit for 2-3 hours to kill all the bacteria you do not need.
  2. Meanwhile, make the kimchi sauce or spice mix by combining the Korean chili powder, sugar, garlic, ginger, and water. Set aside in the fridge.
  3. After 2 to 3 hours rinse the cabbage under cold running water to remove the excess salt. Repeat rinsing step 3 times. Drain well and press cabbage to the sides to remove most of the water.
  4. Combine spice mix, carrots, cabbage, and spring onions. Mix well using your hands. Wear protective kitchen gloves if you want.
  5. Add the mixture to a glass jar with a lid and firmly press down.
    Mix the water and salt to make the brine. Add enough of the brine to just cover the cabbage mix.
  6. Ferment for 1-5 days at room temperature. Ours only needs 1 day since we live in a hot climate. Open the jar every day and do a taste test!
  7. When ready, store in the fridge to stop the fermentation process. Kimchi is based on a lacto-fermentation process.

▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS

signature-new.png


ALL CONTENT IS MINE
PICTURE(s) TAKEN WITH NIKON D5600


LET'S CONNECT!

Website - Facebook - Google+ - Twitter - Pinterest - YouTube


FYI: For more yummy recipes, download my FREE recipe eBook "Amy's Home Kitchen" HERE!

Sort:  

i love kimchi too thanks for that im gonna make some 8)Btc X.jpg

It is super easy. Good luck ;)

Thank You Amy, from your posts I learn a lot of interesting things!

You are welcome. Glad I could show you how to make kimchi. So good for you!

I love kimchi. I like to add daicon radish. Now you have me hungry and I will have to make some.

Hehe.. ever since I made my first batch we always have some kimchi in the fridge or fermenting on the counter. Thanks for stopping by Tess ;)

So you rinse the cabbage? I usually skip that. What is your favorite stage? I like kimchee best when it is “bubbly”.

Since we live in rural Cambodia I use the salt step to kill any other bacteria and then add a little salt water or brine for the fermentation. Though all (or let's say most) veggies are organic here you never know where they have been. I love the smell that comes off it when you open the jar... so good!

You should definitely post more details about what brought you to Cambodia. I read and enjoyed you Khmer bunker post too.

I have done in the past but will again! Thanks for your support ;)

Sounds and looks very yummy. I think i will try it...

Hope you like it too. Probiotics are so good for you!

Congratulations @amy-goodrich, this post is the tenth most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a Superuser account holder (accounts that hold between 1 and 10 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by Superuser account holders during this period was 1040 and the total pending payments to posts in this category was $5614.27. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

That looks great, I have been making kambucha and feel great!

Love Kombucha too. One of my friends from Siem Reap is bringing me a scooby when he comes down to the coast. Can't wait!

My favorite Kombucha these days are black tea with ginger and lemongrass :)

I'll keep that in mind. Thanks for the tip. My friend will visit us in a week or two. Can't wait till he brings me a scooby.

Hehe.. I will ;) Have a great day!

Nom nom nom. Thanks for sharing and reminding me to get more ferments made! Have you ever fermented sunroots? They are a fantastic addition to anything in the kraut-chi realm.

Ohh that would be nice too... love sunroots. Too bad we don't have them here in Cambodia :(

Do you mean sunchokes? As in Jerusalem Artichokes? (otherwise I'm not sure what sunroots are)
but I have just recently started lacto-fermenting and actually tried picking sunchokes first and was super stoked with how they turned out!

Yes they're all The same plant! Glad they turned out well.

Great Video! Thanks!
Kimchi is so amazing for you 😊

Thanks @jacquelinewalton. We love fermented foods!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 69965.85
ETH 3540.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.71