My first music video shot by me!

in #dtube5 years ago (edited)


Hi guys, i am very excited to share my fist work as a videographer!

This is a music video that we shot in Cyprus, for a friend who is a quite popular rapper in Lithuania. The song itself is in Lithuanian language so sorry but you will not be able to figure it out but basically it's about it's about struggle, hustle and search of ones own way in life.

Naturally i messed up so many things on my first production, but hey, that's how we all start right, learn try and rinse repeat. We even lost a 1k EUR Mavic Pro drone while filming footage in the mountains that was overtaken by local Turkish military i presume, since it just flew away, and when we went to pick it up according to GPS coordinates in a middle of nowhere it was not there anymore. There were quite a few military bases in a vicinity, and even though we have checked if it is not a no fly zone, we might have violated some local laws.

We have even went to an extent of visiting couple of those bases and had some adventures there, we were unable to retrieve it, since it was so hard to communicate even with a online translator, but nevertheless we had a good laugh with soldiers and gave them a few music cd's with the song that we were shooting a video for.

Since it was me who was piloting it (for the first time again) i felt somewhat responsible for it and refused my pay for the job, but hey, experience shooting the first music video and lessons i have learned was way more precious. I am eager and looking forward shooting another one and see if i can improve on it over the first one.

So, do not judge too harsh, it's my first attempt after all, but comments, suggestions and advice is greatly welcome. Apologies for the quality since we had to use a lowres version of drone footage that was recorded on the phone, since we lost an SD card with all the footage with the drone.

Have a great day and cheers!

You are more than welcome to check out his channel on YouTube


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

The shots are impressive. the landscapes, enjoy listening to the song although I did not understand anything. I think you did a good job. the history of the recordings if they are all an anecdote to share. How good that your first experience was so pleasant and full of learning ... how long did the filming take?

Thanks mate, yes, the biggest regret, despite the drone was rented and we had to pay for it from our pocket + rental price was that we lost all the footage. We had 3 days for the shooting, but on the third day we lost the drone in the morning, so spent all of it in search, since it was a big hit on our budget and we hoped to recover it. For the same reason we lacked some footage for the final edit, ant fireplace and torch scenes were shot when back to Lithuania :)

Nicely done 😁👊 sorry to hear about drone, I’m DJI Mavic drone user as well and small video creator. Originally Lithuanian, nice to hear Lithuanian song besides it’s not my type of music 😁

Posted using Partiko iOS

Hi mate! Well a real pro has to know how to shoot any songs, right? :) Would be nice to have a take on some heavy metal :D

Hi bescouted,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Jezzz guys, thanks. I think last time i got such an upvote on a post a year and a half ago :) That is definitely motivating, appreciate and will be put to used towards acquiring new tools for this form of creativity.

Are you really sure this is your first shot?
Actually am asking because you are more than a pro in the video. But all the same, amazing voice you got and the tunes in the video were more than great.
I really enjoyed myself. Great work and keep the music spirit up always

Posted using Partiko Android

No, i am not in the video, i filmed the video. A guy that is singing (or rapping) or whatever it sounds like is a friend of mine, who talked me into shooting a video for him, which i never did before :)

Ooo really.... But still you filmed it very well and I love your skills

Posted using Partiko Android

Can't wait to share a new one, for you guys to compare if i am making any progress :)

Will be waiting for them then

Posted using Partiko Android


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

That sounds real adventure with creating you music video. I like the part with drone, I can imagine how the soldiers were looking at you and could not understand what you are really looking for and if you are not spies :) Drone videos are very popular and it will become even more spread with time I believe. it is nice to see that people can show their skills and to produce themselves and to hear the opinion of wide auditorium. Really well done for thee first time!

Yes, drone footage has it's uses in certain productions, but i think it is a bit overused nowadays.
And experience with soldiers, yeah, it was a bit scary at first when we were approaching the base and they were directing where to pull over with machine guns lol But later it all got really friendly despite we could not communicate properly, bus smiles always do help ":)

Can imagine the experience for the whole life :) As you say to be friendly and calm helps in most situation.

Thank you bescouted! You've just received an upvote of 32% by @ArtTurtle!


Learn how I will upvote each and every one of your art and music posts



Please come visit me to see my latest report detailing my current upvote power and how much I'm currently upvoting. Also, come read my latest report to learn about SteemAX! There's now a video tutorial avaiable for you to learn how to use SteemAX to generate more upvotes and gain more followers! If you like @ArtTurtle then you'll LOVE this!

Brotha! You are killin it! Video can be very tempting. It's the editing where the demons live! :P

There are so many demons there actually, i thought that migration from photography will be easier, since you know some composition rulers, color science etc... but it actually gets in a way, and most of my shots are too static, i just can't force myself to move the camera somehow lol

Hey, @bescouted.

I think everything looks just fine. You'd have to tell us what the mistakes were, because as far as I could tell, it looked like a cool music video. I'm glad you had the opportunity to do this, too, even with the mishap with the drone. It speaks volumes of your character, too, that you refused to be paid whether or not the drone's disappearance was your fault or not.

I had a remote control airplane I bought for my birthday one year. I think I few it maybe twice, and then something happened and it flew off. We never did find it again. Doesn't feel good at all.

Still, you very much deserved the curie upvotes for your efforts, and I think the next time you have an opportunity to do something like this, it'll go and be even better. :)

Thank you for your support @glenalbrethsen Those flying machines tend to get away from us for some reason, do not they? I wonder if there are so many that took off, how come i never find any? :)

Considering the mistakes... quite a few to mention, first of all, i shot all footage HD and not full HD. I'd call this a Sony bug (i am using A7rII), since if you Full HD select resolution but choose higher frame rate it just reverts to HD.
Also so many poorly exposed and out of focus shots. Now i got SmallHD monitor to track that and use false color assistance for exposure so the next one definitely has to be much better.

I also kind of shot everything on Standard profile :) Which is ok, but then it has less dynamic range and flexibility working in post regarding detail in shadow and highlight areas.

The list goes on and on and on :))) I think i should start doing the tutorials as i learn, maybe that would help other people that just got into film/video making.

I think created the tutorials would be a great idea. I know there's plenty of drove enthusiasts around, and I'm sure someone else would benefit from such a thing.

re: mistakes

I'm wondering just how much of that matters when Dtube is supposedly only 480p? Don't get me wrong. I understand wanting to have things as good as they can be, and really should be. I'm constantly trying do the same in anything I'm trying to do.

The cool thing is, you know what needs to be improved upon, and you're taking steps to correct them. And then, if Dtube ever supports Full HD, it will be awesome. :)

You are right of Dtube being 480p for now, but i am sure they are hashing source file anyways and it's just a matter of time before they resolve any issues with IPFS (i believe that's what they are using) and tech becomes more scalable, and i think we will see those resolutions just to pop in.

On the other hand, for this particular case the video was not meant exclusively for Dtube, i was shooting it for the artist, and 720 max source is a fuckup for me :) Yes you can upscale it to at least full HD but still the quality in this instance suffers.

But yeah, you learn when you do, and when you do you inevitably do mistakes. I told the guy i have never done it before in my life, so he was warned at least lol But on my part it's a failure that i will be triple checking in the future :)

I think i'll sleep on tutorial idea, info is the main thing, not the quality, and i could create them exclusively for dtube :) YT allready has tons of it :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64961.60
ETH 3103.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86