Why I Don't Check My Phone in the Mornings Anymore

in #dtube5 years ago


Hi Friends,

I was chatting with @revisesociology (the script writer for @steemonboarding) the other day, and he made a comment that really stuck with me.

We were talking about script ideas, and he said that the next day was the morning he goes without his phone and so he’d pick up the conversation again tomorrow afternoon.

I guess I’m just so used to automatically checking my phone when I first wake up… that I hadn’t really considered taking a break from it. One of the things I’m really focusing on right now is not getting pulled in a million directions at once by reacting to my phone notifications. So trying this out just seemed like a natural thing to do. Although I don’t go an entire morning without checking my phone… I have shaken up my routine.

Now I only check my phone after I’ve been awake for about 30 minutes. I can hardly even believe the difference in how my morning feels! Even though I get up at 5 am for work (yuck), I’ve noticed that I have a calmer start to the day and can really set intention for how I want to fell and what I want to get accomplished that day.

If something has already sat there all night – it can wait another 30 minutes is my logic.

Would you give this a try… or would it be too hard for you to not check your phone?

I want to say thanks to @revisesociology for the inspiration! If you guys decide to try this out – be sure to let me know.

Sort:  

One of the things I’m really focusing on right now is not getting pulled in a million directions at once by reacting to my phone notifications<< same. I turned all of mine off and I leave my phone in a drawer for a big chunk of the day now. I'm starting to think I don't even really need it at all...

Way to go @coruscate - glad it's working out for you!

Although here I am checking my phone @ 6.00 a.m - it goes so well with porridge and radio 4 (a very British institution!) In the moring.

Hard to keep these routines up.

I was reading some interesting research about the concentration benefits of keeping your phone in another room while you're working. Having it on the desk (face down) is just as distracting! Or in yer bag would work.

They really are wonderful amd damned devices at the same time!

I like that phrase 'setting intention' - although when you've promised yourself a day of improving yer blog's SEO.... no wonder I'm distracting myself at 6.00 am already!

Recording area looks good, not sure about those blck dangly bits in the background though...

oooh interesting about the research! I totally believe it. Even if the phone is face down - it's a much easier distraction of it's right there.

I hope your day of improving SEO on your blog went well! Sounds like a big project. No wonder you had to get started at 6 am. :)

Do you think the feather garland and lights in the background are too distracting/busy? Just curious. Thanks for the feedback!

The lights look good, but what are dark bitd hanging down from them? They're a little distracting!

Posted using Partiko Android

While interesting, no way I can do this! May sound negative but the anxiety would make it worst... I tend to let it be but at least knowing what is going on even though I will not immediately engage is better for me and my mental bandwidth (as @meno would say).

Posted using Partiko iOS

hahah I totally get that. It was hard for me at first too - but it's gotten easier for me as I go.

Knowing what will work better for you is always the key!

Seems like it could work wonders. Out of (bad) habit, it’s the first thing I do each and every morning. I might try your routine though. See how it kicks the day off.

Posted using Partiko iOS

oooh have fun trying it! Everyone is different - but I've totally loved it. :)

Interesting! I also experienced a week without home internet not long ago. Very liberating

Oh wow a whole week! That might start to get annoying, but I'm glad you found it liberating!

Yep annoying as hell and rang up the ISP every few days asking when it's coming back lol

Good idea. I tend to look at my phone the morning after I post a video. Other than that, I generally make a coffee, watch a few dtube videos then I check my notifications. Sometimes I will actually do after 8pm no phone. I have lots of weird rules I follow myself. Most are morality based. Coruscate show me some love and check out my latest, please ;)

ok! I'll check it out. :)

Good idea to stop the phone after 8pm. I bet that feels really good. Yeah I usually don't post videos too late at night - or else i'd totally be checking my phone the moment I got up too! hehe

Greetings, dear Coruscate

A very good idea. I think that being close to the cell phone can always focus on some things, especially when we go to sleep or wake up.

Good night and thank you!

aww good too see you my friend! I'm glad you enjoyed this post!

The iPhone battery app shames me in by telling me the total time on my phone. I have more phone pick ups, than I do steps 🤪

Posted using Partiko iOS

hahah oh man! I'm glad mine doesn't do that! (or I don't know how to check that)

It is a good idea, not to fall into the habit of checking our mobiles as soon as eyes open in the morning. I've stopped doing it and the same goes before going to bed too :)

Oh that's awesome!! Yeah I should start doing it before bed too. That's a great idea.

My mobile is now permanently on silent. 3 months now 😁 I'm loving it 🙏
Peace.

Posted using Partiko Android

Oh wow!! That's so awesome. Actually, I usually have mine on silent too - but I have a bad habit of checking it anyway. haha

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64742.01
ETH 3172.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.10