DTube - Eating Pork Blood Soup - Is it the BEST DISH IN BANGKOK?!

in #dtube5 years ago (edited)


Bangkok! No doubt, one of the best cities in the world for delicious food. One of the main reasons is for its vast array of street food stalls where you can find almost any Thai dish that is made with specialty and expertise. Because the people making the food have been doing it every day for many years and selling to happy and satisfied customers.

BKK - Boat Noodle.jpg
my favorite street food cook, Kanya

My favorite hostel in Bangkok is Lub D Silom because I am good friends with the staff there and we have a lot of fun joking with each other, playing games, and eating food. It's because of the staff here that I was shown what could possibly be the best dish in Bangkok. Just one block away from the hostel, in front of Bangkok Union Insurance building, click for location, is a sweet lady named Kanya who makes pork boat noodle soup every weekday lunch hour for the hungry business people that work in the area. The thing about boat noodle (kuay teow moo namtok, which literally translates to pork noodle waterfall) is that they add raw blood to the broth to enrich the flavor.

IMG_5283.jpg

Yep. Raw blood. Just sitting there on the prep table ready to be added to your broth. Yes, you can ask for it to be left our of yours, if you wish. Honestly, the first time I saw it, I didn't want the blood because I was afraid of getting food poisoning or a parasite or something like that. Plus, I'm not a vampire. But the second time I tried it, I braved it out and got it with the blood and my life changed! HOLY UMAMI, Batman! The richness coming from this bowl of noodle soup! I couldn't get enough. And every time I got this stuff it just kept getting better and more addicting. I became convinced it was my favorite meal in Bangkok, even after eating delicious tom yum and green curry which are also my favorite Thai dishes. Nothing else was quite matching the flavor level of Kanya's boat noodle. I don't know what she puts in her soup but it's probably crack cocaine or something like that. Clever lady.

If you're in Bangkok, you have to try this for yourself, otherwise you'll never believe me. When you do, report back to me and tell me if you've had a better dish than this in Bangkok, because I'd sure like to know about it and investigate for myself.

Would you be brave enough to try blood noodle soup?

Music used:

S.A.X. by Ehrling
https://soundcloud.com/ehrling

Temperare by Isolated
https://soundcloud.com/isolateyourmind

[//]:# (!steemitworldmap 13.727798 lat 100.525844 long Video - the YUMMIEST dish in Bangkok (has raw blood in it) d3scr)


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Oh dave this looks delicious! I think I'm brave...!🤔

It's much better than the salt candy I was brave enough to try, haha.

Posted using Partiko Android

Hehe let's agree on this when the next SF will be in this area you film me while I'm trying this!

What?? Now way :)

Um, no. I am brave in many ways but not when it comes to odd food or potential exposure to pathogens. But I will take your word for it!😆

Haha. I'd die happy if this was my last meal. So, worth the risk for me, lol.

Happiness is what truly matters! You are living the dream, Dave.

Posted using Partiko iOS

This is one of my favorite things as far as street food is concerned. I prefer it with the yellow noodles myself. Whenever I tell people about this dish they always say the "would never eat that" but then they try it. I find that most people are converted after just one spoon.

I hope I can convert people that have never even heard of it, haha. Let them know it's much better than it sounds

Are you immortal now ? Are you afraid of garlic after this soup ? What do you see when you stay in front of the mirror ?

Yes, that's exactly how Dracula and his fellows are laughing ! o_O

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=daveonarrival
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=9updl64c


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Are you SURE you're not a vampire? lol glad you cleared that up.

Did ya know they do this in the philippines, too? Although I think it's cooked blood.

I had raw bloody buffalo in Thailand!

Didn't try this soup. Dang it.

Oh well, back in Bali now...and the food here is also dang good

All I got from this is that you left without saying goodbye! Vampire sad now. :*(

Heyyyy but I thought you were on the islands!! So you're back in BKK and this isn't an old video?!? Where are you, Dave?

Posted using Steeve, an AI-powered Steem interface

I was only in the islands for a couple days. I'm back in Bangkok now.

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations! Your high-quality travel content was selected by @travelfeed curator @guchtere and earned you a reward, in form of a 100% upvote and a resteem. Your work really stands out! Your article now has a chance to get featured under the appropriate daily topic on our TravelFeed blog.
Thank you for being part of the TravelFeed community!

TravelFeed
Learn more about our travel project on Steemit by clicking on the banner above and join our community on Discord

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 70310.43
ETH 3568.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73