You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Early spring garden update with blueberries, and root vegetables

in #dtube5 years ago

Growing your own blueberries? Now there's something really special! Did you plant your onions from seeds or sets? Dad had always sworn by sets for good, strong results. E x

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

@eveningart yep, these bushes are about 4 years old now. They do real well and I have two varieties. Over the winter I collect onions that start growing and then place them in the ground after the frost is done, so guessing that's simular to sets. This is my first attempt with 3 onions and 2 garlic plants. We will see how they turn out later this year.

Posted using Partiko Android

How exciting- I don't think we can grow blueberries here in the U.K.... maybe I'm wrong though- I'd love to be able to. And yes- that's sets- cool. Look forward to hearing how they do. I grew Elephant garlic a couple of years ago. Massive things and a lovely mild flavour x

Posted using Partiko Android

@eveningart

Oh gotcha, blueberries are fun to grow.. They dont need much space and after a few years they start really producing alot of berries. Its the birds you need to worry about.

I know a local farmer growing Elephant garlic, I prefer that kind as it produces large clusters and its easy to work with.

Will do, ill post updates as they come along.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64307.66
ETH 3146.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88