Early spring garden update with blueberries, and root vegetables

in #dtube5 years ago (edited)


A few weeks into planting the carrots, radish, onions and other root vegetables alot has changed. All of the radish perished but one, it seems whole radish must be planted to survive. Though that one radish is doing very well, about 30 to 60 days into its growth ill check on its progress underground.

The carrots are doing good as well, most have taken and its amazing I just used cut off carrot tops to start new plants.. Now I wait and see what forms under the ground. I hope ill have clusters of carrots by fall.

A muscadine vine is growing on the trellis and making great progress since being planted a year ago. I hope my plant and my neighbors plants will pollinate each others and produce scuppernong.

The onions planted seem to be doing well, I wonder if ill just get the greens on top or if I wait will it produce onion clusters under ground.

My blueberry bushes produced alot of berries this year, making for a promising yield as long as the birds dont get them all. It appears the bees have greatly increased the pollination of my berries as it appears every single flower became a berry.

If the video has trouble playing, please use my IPFS Gateway instead of D.tube's by following this link


Addresses below to help me buy better camera equipment and support me to travel to locations to do photo and video and overall great blogs in new places. I would be happy to list some of the contributors in my posts for donations that help me along the way.

CoinAddress
BTC:bc1qhfmvd2gywg4fvrgy2kkkkyqta0g86whkt7j8r7
LTC:ltc1qdyzm5cwgt8e2373prx67yye6y9ewk0l8jf3ys9
DASH:XkSqR5DxQL3wy4kNbjqDbgbMYNih3a7ZcM
ETH:0x045f409dAe14338669730078201888636B047DC3
DOGE:DSoekC21AKSZHAcV9vqR8yYefrh8XcX92Z
ZEN:znW9mh62WDSCeBXxnVLCETMx59Ho446HJgq

Rockin Steemians

#rockhound & @rockhounds by @bitfiend

#shadowphoto by @melinda010100

#mineralmondays by @rt395

#bouldersunday by @shasta

#GTWCA (Crypto Price Analysis) by @gandalfthewhite


PlatformURL/Username
Steemhttps://steempeak.com/@solominer
D.Tube
Wekuhttps://main.weku.io/@solominer
Bit.Tubehttps://bit.tube/solominer
MithrilSolominer
DiscordSolominer#4248
Bitcointalkhttps://bitcointalk.org/index.php?action=profile;u=83228
CryptoPanichttps://cryptopanic.com/solominer
Whaleshareshttps://whaleshares.io/@solominer
Bearshareshttps://bearshares.com/@solominer

HyedqTBryV.gif

thanks @nevlu123 for the animation


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS

Sort:  

MY father had the green thumb and took great care of his garden and it always did well, , I have never had that much luck, but then agaiun I never had the time I should have put into it maybe when I retire I will try again

yours seems to be doing well for the most part, good luck with it

@tattoodjay

Maybe when you have the time to invest in the garden you can then reap the fruits of your labor, but yes it requires consistency and to watch for pests and other things stressing the plants.

Hope one day you can grow like your dad did. Thanks alot.

Time will tell I guess a lot will depend on what we end up buying and moving into with I our budget, but I am hoping it will be a place with at leas room for a small garden of some sorts so I can at least try and grow some things for ourselves :)

your video is not working , i play it for 2 seconds then it's stopped

@cityofstars did you try my link at the bottom of the description? My gateway plays better sometimes.

Posted using Partiko Android

!SHADE 2
Thanks for sharing on Pimp Your Post Thursday

@shadeserver thanks much for having me.

Posted using Partiko Android

can you come to my house and plant a beautiful garden for me? hehehehe nice job!

@dreemsteem hah got enough work to do already. Thanks alot

Posted using Partiko Android

Growing your own blueberries? Now there's something really special! Did you plant your onions from seeds or sets? Dad had always sworn by sets for good, strong results. E x

Posted using Partiko Android

@eveningart yep, these bushes are about 4 years old now. They do real well and I have two varieties. Over the winter I collect onions that start growing and then place them in the ground after the frost is done, so guessing that's simular to sets. This is my first attempt with 3 onions and 2 garlic plants. We will see how they turn out later this year.

Posted using Partiko Android

How exciting- I don't think we can grow blueberries here in the U.K.... maybe I'm wrong though- I'd love to be able to. And yes- that's sets- cool. Look forward to hearing how they do. I grew Elephant garlic a couple of years ago. Massive things and a lovely mild flavour x

Posted using Partiko Android

@eveningart

Oh gotcha, blueberries are fun to grow.. They dont need much space and after a few years they start really producing alot of berries. Its the birds you need to worry about.

I know a local farmer growing Elephant garlic, I prefer that kind as it produces large clusters and its easy to work with.

Will do, ill post updates as they come along.

I'm really excited to see if those carrots take off! I love creatively gardening...well I guess it isn't as creative as it is resourceful!

We invite you to use the community tag #innerblocks, and join us on the best Self Reliant Dapp on the blockchain! You can also find us here on Discord

@theinnerblocks

Me too, in a few months Ill know how well it worked out. Its hard not to dig around them to see whats going on but I dont want to disturb them. Yeah I think I am being quite resourceful using carrot scraps, I did not expect it to grow honestly so this is really fun for me.

Im planning on joining your show next Tuesday at 4pm EST. And ill try out that tag, though your discord link is expired.

I’m not sure the variety of my blueberry plants but they don’t produce like that!! WOW!! Plus I only have 2 and they are pretty small still.
School me on this scrap planting deal you got going on. I know potatoes can be just cut and basically tossed in the ground. I have a whole box of beets and carrots and 28 strawberry plants. But I have never planted any of them using that scrap method. All from seeds.

Posted using Partiko iOS

@jlsplatts

I think my bees helped with my blueberry production this year, I had so many bees pollinating them this year it was amazing. I set up homes for them near by so they go back and forth between my flowers and their homes. If your plant is only a year or two old it may be a few more years before they really produce.

So during the winter with the freezes going on outside I would save my carrot scraps. When I roast carrots I cut off the leafy end with an inch or so of carrot meat on it. Then place them in a shallow dish of water by the window and a few weeks later I got leaves growing. Then a week later I got roots coming out of the cut carrot scraps.

Heres a link to a post of me doing this: https://steemit.com/vegetables/@solominer/growing-food-from-scraps-update-xmpqflsi

and

https://steemit.com/plants/@solominer/growing-food-scraps-late-march-update-rmcotcjt

My radish did not seem to do well from scraps, just my carrots and potatoes as you mentioned. Yeah I cut a sprouted potato into a bunch of pieces, let them dry out for a day or two and then put them in the ground.. Was real easy.

Oh cool, I had a bunch of strawberry plants but then they just disappeared one year. They were taking over the area and I really loved them. It was hard getting to them before the ants ate them though.

Loading...

Hi @solominer!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.518 which ranks you at #6117 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 20 places in the last three days (old rank 6137).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 166 contributions, your post is ranked at #49.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64742.01
ETH 3172.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.10