You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Early spring garden update with blueberries, and root vegetables

in #dtube5 years ago

I’m not sure the variety of my blueberry plants but they don’t produce like that!! WOW!! Plus I only have 2 and they are pretty small still.
School me on this scrap planting deal you got going on. I know potatoes can be just cut and basically tossed in the ground. I have a whole box of beets and carrots and 28 strawberry plants. But I have never planted any of them using that scrap method. All from seeds.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Sort:  

@jlsplatts

I think my bees helped with my blueberry production this year, I had so many bees pollinating them this year it was amazing. I set up homes for them near by so they go back and forth between my flowers and their homes. If your plant is only a year or two old it may be a few more years before they really produce.

So during the winter with the freezes going on outside I would save my carrot scraps. When I roast carrots I cut off the leafy end with an inch or so of carrot meat on it. Then place them in a shallow dish of water by the window and a few weeks later I got leaves growing. Then a week later I got roots coming out of the cut carrot scraps.

Heres a link to a post of me doing this: https://steemit.com/vegetables/@solominer/growing-food-from-scraps-update-xmpqflsi

and

https://steemit.com/plants/@solominer/growing-food-scraps-late-march-update-rmcotcjt

My radish did not seem to do well from scraps, just my carrots and potatoes as you mentioned. Yeah I cut a sprouted potato into a bunch of pieces, let them dry out for a day or two and then put them in the ground.. Was real easy.

Oh cool, I had a bunch of strawberry plants but then they just disappeared one year. They were taking over the area and I really loved them. It was hard getting to them before the ants ate them though.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64254.80
ETH 3145.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88