Vlog 184: Use Steemconnect to login to busy.org with your posting key + Red markets + Jamie Dimon turns around somewhat.

in #dtube6 years ago (edited)


Steemconnect is slowly becoming more and more integrated into the steem blockchain.

Website: https://v2.steemconnect.com

What is Steem connect?


SteemConnect is a simple identity layer built on top of the Steem blockchain that allows you to connect to authorized apps in a secure and convenient way.

Securely manage your wallet, check your activity, and connect to services without giving up your password.


To interact with the Steem blockchain you have several options. You can use your posting key, active key or owner key and they give less or more permissions.

I always log in as much as I can with my posting key. With this key, I can only upvote, comment and post content. I can not transfer any funds.

This is a super secure way to login in because when this key gets compromised in any way the 'hacker' can't use it to transfer any of my funds.

In case it does get stolen I can always use my owner key to change my posting key.


fddfsfdsf.png


Now sometimes you need to use your active key if you want to send STEEM or SBD or change settings on your profile page.

This is where you need to pay attention. Because when this key gets compromised any liquid funds can be taken from your account straight away and also a power-down can be started.

Steemconnect will take this worry away in the future and more and more services are integrating it.

In fact, @blocktrades announced today that they have implemented it on their site blocktrades.us

Still (and rightfully so) some are pretty nervous (myself included) to use their active key with any third party so I would suggest you test Steemconnect first with your posting key to get a 'feel' for it.

Test Steemconnect with your posting key at busy.org


After talking to Fabien (from busy.org) last night I would suggest you try Steemconnect first with your posting key. You can do that by going here:

https://v2.steemconnect.com/login

Login here with your username and posting key.

If you then go to busy.org and press login you will notice that you are automatically logged in to busy.org. (with filling in any password).

Busy.org is another frontend (just like steemit.com) that you can use to communicate with the Steem blockchain.


3213131312.png

One of the cool features of busy.org is that you can play d.tube video straight from the site.


It's a great alternative to steemit.com and I suggest you give it a go!

It will enhance your understanding that the STEEM blockchain is not just Steemit.com but data that can be accessed by many different frontends and apps.



I am a witness with our developer group @blockbrothers for the Steem blockchain. If you want to support us I would appreciate your vote here.

We build Steemify a notification app for your Steemit account for iOS.

Get it Here:



▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Busy.org actually already became the main platform that I´m using to access the Steem Blockchain. It´s working smoothly and got an nice interface that´s easy to use. I honestly haven´t been a big fan of its first version but the new one is really amazing :)

The work they have put in this new version is incredible.

But I have saved (or logged in) steemconnect with my master key, so whenever I hit log in to any app that uses steemconnect it automatically logs me in. So I am not sure which key it's using. If a application asks for posting key then will steemconnect automatically takes my posting key to log in??

Personally, I would never use my master key to log in anywhere. There is no need to use it unless you want to change other keys.

Is that so? but why they ask for the master key then? Like on utopian, I have to log in with my master key, that's why saved it(and might have selected loggin in always as well). Can we also log in on steemit with our posting key only?

Your active key should be enough for Utopian. And yes, you can log in to steemit.com with your posting key. I would always recommend this.

Thanks for this information.One last question, can I change my master key or not? I went to the option change password but then I can also see a line

The third rule of Steemit is: We cannot recover your password.

I am kinda confused.

Yes, you can. Here: https://steemit.com/@katteasis/password. Make sure you are 100% awake and know what you are doing. Changing your master key and creating a new one will also change your posting and active key.

Thanks a lot 👍🏻

Your publications at the level always benefit from them @exyle

"Make sure you are 100% awake and know what you are doing. "

Clearly I must be awake enough to know I don't know what I'm doing - Joined Jan 3 and never heard of posting or active keys!! Which clearly one should be using 99% of the time

This kind of knowledge blackhole isn't Steemit's fault it's the nature of the beast. Too much too fragmented and not enough time to take it all in.

When MIT runs Steemit101 we will know it's made it

Yr post is essential reading. Sadly like most of real value that flies around on Steemit it will not reach as many who need it as it should.

Thanks for your useful posting ;)

Wow!!, this really great, I also saw it this morning that blocktrades has start using the steemconnect method for transaction of steem dollar and steem.
Now I just gat to know about steemconnect on another function with busy.org, this really great man. Thanks for sharing.

Crypto security is of paramount importance, this piece of information must be taken seriously. Thanks @exyle for the the hard work.

Busy throws a post an upvote if it is posted from there with one of the tags as busy too! I have used steemconnect regularly. It's very swish. It is exactly the kind of integration we need

One more thing btw @exyle, not sure you can't do anything but I want to report this to someone in order to see if it's just my account or a bugg.

When I'm under Rewards in my profile, my reputation is down to 25, my background image and my own "text" disappears.
Looks like this:

Again sorry if I should not address you with this issues, but I thought you might know the right people to tell this to, or already know the answer to it.

Many and I have noticed the same. If you refresh the page it will correct at some point. But it will come back every time you go there. I'm sure this will be fixed soon.

Thanks for the info @exyle! :)

Thx exyle.. in the beginning i didn't care but you starting to realise the privacy of your keys after some time. I only want to use steemconnect now and nothing else with 3rd party tools

I see DTube is also offering steemconnect logins as well as allowing the posting key to be used directly now too.

I'm also integrating steemconnect into the front-end I'm working on (which is just a skeleton site at the moment). It's just another view of the blockchain, but will include video from various sources hopefully including DTube, DLive, YouTube and Vimeo, and will have some interesting features.
http://www.steemreports.com:81/

Yeah, d.tube has always allowed the posting key. A great feature. Feels very secure. Recently they added Steemconnect. I follow your progress with a lot of interest.

The use of Steemconnect versus direct posting keys seems to somewhat divide opinion among developers. I think jesta and heimindanger prefer direct posting keys. There are merits to both approaches I think. Steemconnect does reduce some of the security management work for third-party developers, but is a bit more centralising.

@exyle,
Actually I also hate to give away my Active keys! Most of apps required it, actually I don't know why, but most of them ask Active Keys! Very useful update for the new joiners and also to others as well! Most of people are not aware about these keys well!

Cheers~

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.34
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66344.62
ETH 3214.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.37