You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Vlog 184: Use Steemconnect to login to busy.org with your posting key + Red markets + Jamie Dimon turns around somewhat.

in #dtube6 years ago

But I have saved (or logged in) steemconnect with my master key, so whenever I hit log in to any app that uses steemconnect it automatically logs me in. So I am not sure which key it's using. If a application asks for posting key then will steemconnect automatically takes my posting key to log in??

Sort:  

Personally, I would never use my master key to log in anywhere. There is no need to use it unless you want to change other keys.

Is that so? but why they ask for the master key then? Like on utopian, I have to log in with my master key, that's why saved it(and might have selected loggin in always as well). Can we also log in on steemit with our posting key only?

Your active key should be enough for Utopian. And yes, you can log in to steemit.com with your posting key. I would always recommend this.

Thanks for this information.One last question, can I change my master key or not? I went to the option change password but then I can also see a line

The third rule of Steemit is: We cannot recover your password.

I am kinda confused.

Yes, you can. Here: https://steemit.com/@katteasis/password. Make sure you are 100% awake and know what you are doing. Changing your master key and creating a new one will also change your posting and active key.

Thanks a lot 👍🏻

Your publications at the level always benefit from them @exyle

"Make sure you are 100% awake and know what you are doing. "

Clearly I must be awake enough to know I don't know what I'm doing - Joined Jan 3 and never heard of posting or active keys!! Which clearly one should be using 99% of the time

This kind of knowledge blackhole isn't Steemit's fault it's the nature of the beast. Too much too fragmented and not enough time to take it all in.

When MIT runs Steemit101 we will know it's made it

Yr post is essential reading. Sadly like most of real value that flies around on Steemit it will not reach as many who need it as it should.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64038.31
ETH 3137.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86