You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My First DTube Video!

in #dtube7 years ago

Thanks for trying out @dtube @jerrybanfield I hope you didn't get any major problems for uploading or anything. The video played just fine on my side.

You are right about what you say about copyrights, apart from the dtube 'hosting'. DTube does not need a hosting to run ;)

Also, I can now say for sure as the first beneficiary rewards are coming in, but it is definately 25% of the author rewards. So basically remove 25% from the displayed number for curators, then remove 25% again for dtube, then the author gets the rest. Beneficiary rewards are 100% SP (we don't get any SBD). Hope that clarifies it :D

Sort:  

@heimindanger thank you for making such a rapid reply and helping make the experience more accurate for the readers! I will edit the section talking about hosting!

An finally I need to mention that comments are 0%, only videos are 25% :)

@heimindanger thank you for sharing that there is no percentage on comments!

@heimindanger I would love to vote for you as a witness if you were running the latest version and interested in receiving votes!

I am not running for witness and don't intend to. Doesn't mean I don't support STEEM, it just means I'm too lazy to setup a server with huge ram and monitor it daily.

I understand thank you for explaining!

Hi Jerry. Do you know how to subscribe to your channel? I don't see an option to do that. Thanks

is Dtube invitation only? I tried to login using my Steem user and password, it didn't work.

Hey @king-of-kings it's not the password for steemit actually ! It's your private post key and you can find it by going into your wallet, then click on permissions, then under post it will say show private key and you click that and it will give you the password key for dtube :)

I don't understand how to get to dtube whatsoever I feel slower than a sloth in a 🐌 race

THANK YOU SO MUCH.. I Had the same problem.. thanks

Thank you. Don't blame yourself too much for playing this horrendous game ;)

Hi Jerry I'm sorry to bother you but I signed up to steemit and I can't use the same credentials to log into Dtube. Am I doing something wrong?
Thanks for your great video and salient points

Hello @heimindanger I followed @Jerrybanfield's lead and posted my first one too. I am very inexperienced but it was an easy process for me. I documented the experience in my latest post on steemit.

I'm not asking for an upvote or resteem I just think it may be helpful for you to see what it was like for a minnow who is new. Thank you!

https://steemit.com/dtube/@meatspoon/i-just-made-my-first-dtube-video

Explain me this please, how you get those 25% if you have just the posting key ? You said that the posting key don't allow transaction !

the copyright issue is a serious one and discussed at length here:
https://steemit.com/steemit/@ura-soul/sharing-copyrighted-video-material-on-dtube-coule-put-steemit-s-future-at-risk-and-devalue-steem-my-thoughts-having-worked-in
maybe consider putting a disclaimer for now "you agree to upload only original content".
indiependently to what anyones view is on copyright, we know the Feds ( FBI etc) take it extremely seriously and last thing we want is to attract their attention already and see them crack down on the site or its developers.

Also, I can now say for sure as the first beneficiary rewards are coming in, but it is definately 25% of the author rewards. So basically remove 25% from the displayed number for curators, then remove 25% again for dtube, then the author gets the rest. Beneficiary rewards are 100% SP (we don't get any SBD).

Cool stuff, I was wondering how'd you go about it. I tried to talk about it during the Whaletank / Whaleshares talk yesterday. DECENT is doing something similar like you but they don't have a rewards pool.

  • I see the comments on @Dtube don't display formatting yet!

I'm new here, but I have not had success with uploading videos yet. Every time I've tried, it crashes. I'm looking forward to using it though! Thanks!

@heimindanger trying out Dtube and noticed sometimes the video plays and sometimes it doesn't, and sometimes the snap image shows or it doesn't, is this due to the curator? If so, I think my first two videos are with a curator that is not fast since nothing is displaying. Can I become a curator to help speed things up?

I still don't understand what you say about hosting: '…DTube does not need a hosting to run…'. How is that possible? Doesn't your setup needs a huge amount of storage somewhere?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 70453.17
ETH 3808.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.51