You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Response to EcoTrain's QOTW: Why do We Judge Others, and is there any value in it?

in #dtube5 years ago

It is very natural to be guarded about being judged by others. The reality is that people are either naturally judgmental (as a survival mechanism) or raised to be judgmental. It takes a lot of maturity to be able to stand on our own without seeking approval of those around us. So then we can edit ourselves so much, to the point of shutting ourselves down before we even start.

I'm so glad you took that leap of faith and made this video on camera. Faith in us!

Hopefully the next will be easier, and then easier and easier.

Sort:  

Yes, exactly, self editing shuts us down - that's a great way of putting it. And yes, I agree - it's often a survival mechanism, or we're mimicing judgemental people around us. My mum was SOOO not judgemental - very open minded and accepting unless people consistantly behave deplorably (like politicians - then see her go!) so I was raised not to be, which is why I was kinda sidelined by the judgements upon me as a kid, and didn't know how to do it back, which would have protected me.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 57824.15
ETH 2965.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70